Voir tous les hôtels à Waikiki

Aqua Bamboo And Spa 3.0

Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu

Entrez vos dates et obtenez les meilleurs tarifs

Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com

Sommaire de l'évaluation

Photos et avis par

Pour

Inconvénients

  • Chambres pas en très bon état
  • Pas de service de chambre; pas de service de boissons bord de la piscine
  • Deux blocs de la plage, entouré de motels dans un endroit peu grungy
  • Lumpy lits
  • Pas de restaurant sur place

Ce qu'il faut retenir

Rénové en 2008, ce 93-chambre de caractère budgétaire Waikiki offre "Zen-tropicale urbaine" via des statues de Bouddha , gargouillis des fontaines , et des bambous luxuriants dans un ancien immeuble délabré sur Kuhio Avenue. Cinq minutes de la plage, avec des touches comme les téléviseurs à écran plat et des docks iPod . Il est une bonne valeur et pratique, si le bâtiment est un peu délabré.

Vols pour ce voyage avec Skyscanner.com

Photos d'hôtels Oyster

Voir tous les 7 albums

Avis Hôtel Oyster

Lieu

Une boutique avec l'âme (et les os) d'un motel. Une ambiance douce et accents orientaux bataille avec l'ancienne palette de couleur brune et un emplacement délabré sur Kuhio Avenue .

Comme son hôtel jumeau, Aqua Palms , Aqua Bamboo se trouve le long d'une rue très fréquentée et est assez discrète, mais pour le néon de signe de vacance dans la fenêtre et la jolie fontaine en bambou à l'avant de sa petite allée. La plupart des bâtiments environnants le long de l'avenue Kuhio sont condos à temps partagé ou de petits motels budget de restauration pour les surfeurs à la recherche d'un crash pad quelques pâtés de maisons de la plage.

Mais le 12-histoire, plutôt petite basse de plafond hall, 93 pièces de bambou (appelé le "sanctuaire") est un espace calme et agréable remplie de bouddhistes statues , des bols de fruits et, tout à fait au hasard, une guitare signée par Blues chanteur des voyageurs John Popper, qui y séjourna en 2001. invités se réunissent fréquemment sur ​​les peluche canapés pour lire, discuter, profiter de la connexion Wi-Fi, ou participer à la libre café et le thé sélection.

Bien que le bambou est un hôtel depuis 1997, chaque unité a un propriétaire qui peut rester là à volonté, si à certains égards, il est comme un immeuble à condos qui arrive juste à être géré par une société de l'hôtel. Les propriétaires, même stockent leurs personnels planches de surf dans la piscine (les clients sont priés de ne pas toucher). Propriétaires ont été nécessaires pour rénover toutes les unités en 2008, mais il a quelques choix dans le décor. Bien que certains aspects de l'hôtel - les sombres, étroites couloirs , les plafonds bas, l'équilibre brun - semblent penser à un immeuble délabré, les rénovations étaient une réelle amélioration. Les chambres disposent de nouveaux tapis et des meubles, ainsi que des docks iPod , télévision à écran plat et plug-in gratuit à Internet. Le graffiti'd ascenseur est à côté pour rénovation.

Il ya rien de particulièrement glamour ou excitant à propos de Bamboo, qui n'a même pas de son propre restaurant. Mais sa belle piscine et est tranquille décor sont de gentilles attentions pour un endroit peu coûteux situé le long de pratique, si un peu miteuse, Kuhio Avenue . En fait, il est la piscine qui établit vraiment l'endroit à part des autres propriétés budgétaires. À proximité Aqua Waikiki Pearl a plus agréables, nouvelles chambres à des prix encore plus - mais pas de piscine. Une autre propriété sœur, le Shore Park dispose de chambres lumineuses, rénovées, et face à la plage - mais la piscine est pas aussi bien.

Service

Amical, décontracté, et limitée - comme tout autre hôtel Aqua

Comme dans tous les hôtels Aqua, les services sont limités - pas de concierge, pas de room service, pas de boissons près de la piscine - mais le personnel est amical et désireux d'aider. Un ou deux chasseurs traînent dans le hall d'entrée , d'ouvrir la porte pour les clients si elles ne sont pas des sacs de transport occupés. Réceptionnistes chaleureux font un effort pour apprendre le nom des clients, et ensuite saluer par leur nom quand ils passent par le petit hall. Un des chasseurs sentir suffisamment à l'aise pour imiter le bruit de clic d'un obturateur de la caméra chaque fois que je l'ai vu pendant mon séjour de deux jours, une référence humoristique à la prise de vue, mon incessante. Tel est le sympathique, décontractée invités Vibe peuvent attendre au bambou.

  • Ménage quotidien
  • Un service réactif; serviettes supplémentaires ont été livrés en moins de 10 minutes.
  • Le «spa» se compose d'une seule salle de traitement adjacente à la zone de la piscine; les clients à organiser traitements à travers la réception.

Endroit

Sur un peu délabré Kuhio Avenue de Waikiki, à cinq minutes de la plage de la Reine et pratique pour le shopping et les restaurants

À l'extrémité orientale de l'avenue Kuhio, trois blocs et la promenade d'environ cinq minutes de plage de la Reine. Kuhio peut obtenir un peu délabré après l'obscurité - une Oyster collègue masculin a été fait des avances par les prostituées là - mais il est emballé avec hôtels de budget et restaurants de la chaîne comme McDonald, Denny, le piment, IHOP, et Subway. Une des taches alimentaires de santé les plus populaires de Waikiki, Ruffage, est un pâté de maisons. Le plus proche dépanneur ABC est un demi-bloc ouest à Kuhio et Kaiulani.

Est trois blocs courts loin l'artère principale de Waikiki, Kalakaua Avenue, une touristique, étirer milelong des magasins, des restaurants et hôtels de grande hauteur qui longe la plage de Waikiki, offrant un curieux mélange de la partie continentale conforts de créature et de la saveur locale. Sur les trottoirs, les touristes japonais se mélangent avec les habitants bronzés, planches de surf sous le bras, sur le chemin de la plage pour attraper quelques vagues après le travail. Sur les deux côtés de la rue, détaillants haut de gamme - Tiffany, Cartier, et oui, même un magasin Apple - sont entrecoupés de centres commerciaux intérieurs et des vendeurs sur rue Hawking bijoux coquillage et pas cher T-shirts. Apparemment tous les restaurants de la chaîne mid-market peuvent être trouvés ici - Cheesecake Factory, California Pizza Kitchen, PF Chang - avec plus d'une poignée de Starbucks et fast-foods. Et dominant tout cela: de 40 étages, hôtels mille pièces qui parsèment le paysage comme des épingles dans un coussin.

  • Grande variété de boutiques, de restaurants, et de boire - tous à distance de marche
  • Kapiolani Park, une oasis de calme (relatif) pour observer les gens et la saveur locale, est à 10 minutes à pied.
  • Honolulu Zoo est à 10 minutes à pied.
  • Pas cher et facile à obtenir autour de Waikiki via "Le Bus" (2,25 $ / personne pour aller à distance)
  • L'aéroport international de Honolulu est à 20 minutes, 35 $ en taxi.

Plage

Trois pâtés de maisons du cœur de l'action sur l'une des plages les plus célèbres dans le monde les

Grosso modo, l'ensemble du tronçon de 1,5 mile de sable aux côtés de l'avenue Kalakaua est connue comme la plage de Waikiki. En réalité, il est plus comme trois plages séparées, dont les frontières varient selon que vous demandez. Aqua Bamboo est situé à trois pâtés de maisons de la section intitulée plage de la Reine, qui est la partie que vous voyez sur les cartes postales de Waikiki: manucurés, palmiers pelouses parsemée d'arbres menant à une plage ensoleillée de sable blanc. Les enfants barbotent dans les eaux peu profondes près du rivage, tandis que les surfeurs et les standup paddle-board (la nouvelle chose à faire rad) patrouillent dans les eaux extérieures.

Pour résumer plage de la Reine en un mot: emballé. Emballé avec énergie, emballé avec l'activité, emballé - la plus significative - avec les gens. Serviettes tapis le sable comme des couvertures à un concert sold-out. Familles avec petits enfants, les couples en lune de miel, même les habitants de prendre des pauses déjeuner - ils ont tous fusionnent ici, prendre le soleil, la natation et la construction de châteaux de sable, tout en faisant de leur mieux pour ne pas lancer du sable dans les visages des uns et des autres.

  • Plage publique
  • , L'eau chaude et peu profonde - un endroit décent pour nager, surtout pour les enfants
  • Sandy, pas rocheuses, fond de l'océan - contrairement voisins Fort DeRussy à l'ouest et Kuhio (aka «le mur») à l'est
  • Les sauveteurs de surveiller la plage toute la journée.
  • Serviettes gratuits, fournis par l'hôtel
  • Parapluies et chaises longues doit être loué à partir de l'une des nombreuses étoiles Beach Boys se dresse; chaises sont de 5 $ l'heure, 20 $ par jour; pour deux chaises et un parasol, il est 10 $ l'heure, 50 $ par jour
  • équipement de sports d'eau comme des planches de surf et planches de bodyboard disponibles à la location au Star Beach Boys signifie (et ailleurs)

Chambres

Récemment rénové avec des touches modernes, comme une télévision à écran plat , Internet gratuit, et docks iPod - mais ils se sentent encore un peu terne.

Aqua Bamboo 93 chambres ont été refaites en 2008, mais beaucoup conservent l'esthétique un peu délabré du quartier. Plafonds en plâtre sont faibles, les tapis sont en noir et brun foncé, et les murs sont une couleur mastic inesthétique . Sur le côté positif, les chambres comprennent de nouvelles chics sombres bois commodes , tables et lampes, sans oublier LG 32 pouces télévision à écran plat et des docks iPod . Mais ces points positifs ne compensent pas l' écaillage de la peinture sur les portes de placard, les arraché des plinthes et les parpaings balcons .

  • Chaque chambre dispose d'une kitchenette avec micro-ondes , mini-réfrigérateur , cafetière et grille-pain; certains ont également un lavabo et d'une cuisinière.
  • Les chambres standard , appelés «modérés partiels Vues de la ville," en moyenne environ 215 pieds carrés et donnent entourant Waikiki gratte-ciels et les centres commerciaux.
  • Lits ont pillow-top matelas, mais la mienne était bosselé.
  • Colorful peignoirs
  • Environ 20 chaînes de base du câble
  • Chaque chambre dispose d'une importante balcon avec une belle nouvelle de meubles en bois, mais les points de vue et le bruit de la circulation de Kuhio laissent beaucoup à désirer. À tout le moins sur les balcons des étages supérieurs recevoir beaucoup d'après-midi, la lumière du soleil, ce qui les rend idéales pour sécher les maillots de bain.

Attractions

Belle piscine (avec une connexion Wi-Fi et des cabanes ), petit spa , Internet gratuit, et que est à ce sujet.

L'Aqua Bamboo possède l'une des zones de la piscine les plus magnifiquement paysagé de toute petite propriété hors plage de Waikiki. Entourée par des bambous , palmiers, bois des chaises longues , un gargouillement artificielle cascade , et un Bouddha Thai statue , la, la piscine en forme de rein eau salée rempli respire la tranquillité. Il fait vraiment vous oubliez que vous êtes délimité par les rues encombrées et les immeubles d'habitation.

  • Jacuzzi est minuscule, mais propre.
  • Beaucoup de bois transats disponibles à la piscine; deux lits de repos cabane ; sauna sec situé à côté de la salle de bain
  • Gratuit communal Barbecue
  • Deux-pièces spa offre une gamme décent de prix raisonnable des massages et des soins du visage.
  • Internet haut débit est gratuit dans tout l'hôtel (Wi-Fi dans le hall et la piscine, et le plug-in dans les chambres).
  • Deux ordinateurs et une imprimante dans le hall; 20 cents par minute et 75 cents par page imprimée

Famille

Une belle piscine , mais pas parmi les meilleures options de la famille du budget à Waikiki

Une belle piscine qui le distingue des autres options budgétaires, mais il ya de meilleurs hôtels de famille de budget global ailleurs à Waikiki, comme Aston Waikiki Beach et Ohana East.

  • Berceaux et des lits pliants chaque coût de 20 $ la nuit.
  • Pas de chambres communicantes disponibles - et les chambres ne sont pas particulièrement spacieuse - mais il ya huit 400-sqare pieds suites avec de belles kitchenettes .
  • Pas de restaurant sur place (mais le petit déjeuner continental est gratuit)
  • Situé sur une rue bruyante occupé (pas le plus sûr pour les enfants qui aiment se promener)

Propreté

Généralement propre, mais perd des points pour les taches sur les meubles de la piscine, la peinture écaillée , et un beat-up ascenseur

Les femmes de ménage de l'hôtel font bien leur travail - les chambres sont nettoyées quotidiennement et reconstituées avec de belles fraîches orchidées - mais l'infrastructure pourraient utiliser certains travaux. Bien que les chambres ont été rénovées en 2008, je trouvais l'écaillage plinthes , les entailles sur mon porte du placard , et rouge taches partout dans la douche.

  • Les ascenseurs , qui sont configurés pour être rénové à l'automne 2009, sont un gâchis: les lumières sont sommairement sombre, les murs sont rouillé, taché , et rayé .
  • La zone de la piscine est bien maintenu , mais je voudrais qu'ils nettoient les cabana coussins; ces nodulaires blanches taches sérieusement menacés mon calme zen.

Nourriture

Pas de restaurant sur place

  • Pas de restaurant sur place
  • Pour ceux qui aiment dormir, des chaînes comme Starbucks, IHOP, et Jamba Juice ligne de Kuhio Avenue, et il ya des tonnes d'autres restaurants le long Kalaukaua.
  • Lulu, environ huit minutes au coin de la Kalakaua et Kapahulu, sert jusqu'à fantastiques, des petits-déjeuners avec ses superbes vues sur l'océan.

Les clients qui ont regardé Aqua Bamboo And Spa ont aussi regardé

Ce que vous devez savoir à propos de cet Aqua Bamboo And Spa

Adresse

2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Hawaii 96815-3301, United States

Téléphone

(808) 922-7777

Également appelé

  • Aqua Bamboo
  • Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
  • Aqua Bamboo Hotel

Types de chambre

  • Luxury One Bedroom Suite
  • Luxury Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite
  • Moderate Room Courtyard View
  • Moderate Room Partial City View
  • One Bedroom Suite With Kitchenette
  • One Bedroom With Full Kitchen
  • Studio Kitchenette Courtyard View
  • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View

Aqua Bamboo And Spa Rating: 3.0 Pearls
Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu

Oyster Review Summary

Photos and Review by Oyster.com Investigators

Pros

Cons

  • Rooms not in great condition
  • No room service; no poolside drink service
  • Two blocks from beach, surrounded by motels in slightly grungy location
  • Lumpy beds
  • No restaurant on-site

Bottom Line

Renovated in 2008, this 93-room Waikiki budget boutique delivers "tropical-urban Zen" via Buddha statues, gurgling fountains, and lush bamboo plants within a former apartment building on scruffy Kuhio Avenue. Five minutes from the beach, with touches like flat-screen TVs and iPod docks. It's a good value and convenient, though the building is a bit worn down.

Oyster Hotel Photos

View All 7 Albums

Customers Who Viewed Aqua Bamboo And Spa Also Viewed

Aqua Waikiki Pearl
24% viewed
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Waikiki, Honolulu
Hotel Renew by Aston
19% viewed
Hotel Renew by Aston
Waikiki, Honolulu
Waikiki Parc Hotel
19% viewed
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki, Honolulu

Oyster Hotel Review

 Scene

A boutique with the soul (and bones) of a motel. A mellow vibe and Eastern accents battle with the old brown color palette and a scruffy location on Kuhio Avenue.

Hotel entrance on Kuhio Avenue
Hotel entrance on Kuhio Avenue

Like its sister hotel, Aqua Palms, Aqua Bamboo sits along a busy street and is pretty inconspicuous but for the neon vacancy sign in the window and the pretty bamboo fountain at the front of its small driveway. Most of the surrounding buildings along Kuhio Avenue are time-share condos or small budget motels catering to surfers looking for a crash pad a few blocks from the beach.

But the 12-story, 93-room Bamboo's smallish, low-ceilinged lobby (called the "inner sanctuary") is a calm, pleasing space replete with Buddhist statues, bowls of fruit and, quite randomly, a guitar signed by Blues Traveler frontman John Popper, who stayed there in 2001. Guests frequently gather on the plush couches to read, chat, surf the free Wi-Fi, or partake in the free coffee and tea selection.

Though the Bamboo has been a hotel since 1997, each unit has an owner who can stay there at will, so in some ways it's like a condo building that just happens to be run by a hotel company. The owners even store their personal surfboards in the pool area (guests are instructed not to touch). Owners were required to renovate all units in 2008, but had some choice in décor. Though some aspects of the hotel -- the dark, narrow hallways, the low ceilings, the brown trim -- seem reminiscent of a rundown tenement, the renovations were a real improvement. Rooms have new carpets and furniture, as well as iPod docks, flat-screen TVs and free plug-in Internet. The graffiti'd elevator is next up for renovation.

There's nothing particularly glamorous or exciting about the Bamboo, which doesn't even have its own restaurant. But its lovely pool area and tranquil Eastern décor are nice touches for an inexpensive place located along convenient, if slightly scruffy, Kuhio Avenue. In fact, it's the pool that really sets the place apart from other budget properties. Nearby Aqua Waikiki Pearl has nicer, newer rooms at even better prices -- but no pool. Another sister property, the Park Shore has brighter, renovated rooms, and faces the beach -- but the pool area isn't nearly as nice.

 Service

Friendly, laid-back, and limited -- like every other Aqua hotel

As at all Aqua hotels, services are limited -- no concierge, no room service, no poolside drinks -- but the staff is friendly and eager to help. One or two bellmen hang out in the lobby, opening the door for guests if they're not busy transporting bags. Friendly front desk clerks make an effort to learn guests' names, and subsequently greet them by name whenever they pass through the small lobby. One of the bellhops felt comfortable enough to mimic the clicking sound of a camera shutter each time I saw him during my two-day stay, a humorous reference to my incessant picture-taking. Such is the friendly, laid-back vibe guests can expect at the Bamboo.

  • Daily housekeeping
  • Responsive service; extra towels were delivered in under 10 minutes.
  • The "spa" consists of a single treatment room adjacent to the pool area; guests arrange treatments through the front desk.

 Location

On Waikiki's somewhat scruffy Kuhio Avenue, five minutes from Queen's Beach and convenient to shopping and restaurants

On the eastern end of Kuhio Avenue, three blocks and about five minutes' walk from Queen's Beach. Kuhio can get a bit scruffy after dark -- one male Oyster colleague was propositioned by prostitutes there -- but it's packed with budget hotels and chain eateries like McDonald's, Denny's, Chili's, IHOP, and Subway. One of Waikiki's most popular health food spots, Ruffage, is a block away. The closest ABC convenience store is half a block west at Kuhio and Kaiulani.

Three short blocks away is Waikiki's main drag, Kalakaua Avenue, a touristy, milelong stretch of shops, restaurants, and high-rise hotels that runs along Waikiki Beach, offering a curious blend of mainland creature comforts and local flavor. On the sidewalks, Japanese tourists intermingle with tanned locals, surfboards under their arms, on their way to the beach to catch a few waves after work. On both sides of the street, high-end retailers -- Tiffany, Cartier, and yes, even an Apple store -- are interspersed with indoor malls and streetside vendors hawking cheap seashell jewelry and T-shirts. Seemingly every midmarket chain restaurant can be found here -- Cheesecake Factory, California Pizza Kitchen, P.F. Chang's -- along with more than a handful of Starbucks and fast-food joints. And towering above it all: 40-story, thousand-room hotels dotting the landscape like pins in a cushion.

  • Wide variety of shopping, dining, and drinking -- all within walking distance
  • Kapiolani Park, an oasis of (relative) calm for people-watching and local flavor, is 10 minutes on foot.
  • Honolulu Zoo is 10 minutes on foot.
  • Cheap and easy to get around Waikiki via "The Bus" ($2.25/person to go any distance)
  • Honolulu International Airport is a 20-minute, $35 cab ride.

 Beach

Three blocks from the heart of the action on one of the most famous beaches in the world

Loosely speaking, the entire 1.5-mile stretch of sand alongside Kalakaua Avenue is known as Waikiki Beach. In reality, it's more like three separate beaches, the borders of which vary depending on whom you ask. Aqua Bamboo is located three short blocks from the section called Queen's Beach, which is the part you see on postcards of Waikiki: manicured, palm tree-dotted lawns leading to a sunny white-sand beach. Children splash about in the shallow water near the shore, while surfers and standup paddle-boarders (the rad new thing to do) patrol the outer waters.

To summarize Queen's Beach in one word: packed. Packed with energy, packed with activity, packed -- most significantly -- with people. Towels carpet the sand like blankets at a sold-out concert. Families with small children, honeymooning couples, even locals taking lunch breaks -- they all merge here, sunning, swimming, and sandcastle-building, all the while doing their best not to kick sand in each other's faces.

  • Public beach
  • Warm, shallow water -- a decent place to swim, especially for kids
  • Sandy, not rocky, ocean bottom -- unlike neighboring Fort DeRussy to the west and Kuhio (aka "the wall") to the east
  • Lifeguards monitor the beach throughout the day.
  • Free towels, provided by the hotel
  • Umbrellas and lounge chairs must be rented from one of the many Star Beach Boys stands; chairs are $5 an hour, $20 a day; for two chairs and an umbrella, it's $10 an hour, $50 a day
  • Water sports equipment like surfboards and boogie boards available for rental at the Star Beach Boys stands (and elsewhere)

 Rooms

Recently renovated with modern touches like flat-screen TVs, free Internet, and iPod docks -- but they still feel a little dingy.

Moderate Partial City View Rooms average 215 square feet
Moderate Partial City View Rooms average 215 square feet

Aqua Bamboo's 93 rooms were redone in 2008, yet many retain the neighborhood's somewhat shabby aesthetic. Plaster ceilings are low, carpets are black and dark brown, and walls are an unsightly putty color. On the bright side, rooms include chic new dark wood dressers, tables, and lamps, not to mention 32-inch LG flat-screen TVs and iPod docks. But those positives don't outweigh the chipping paint on the closet doors, the ripped off baseboards, and the cinder-block balconies.

  • Every room has a kitchenette with microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker and toaster; some also have sinks and stove tops.
  • Standard rooms, called "Moderate Partial City Views," average about 215 square feet and overlook surrounding Waikiki high-rises and shopping centers.
  • Beds have pillow-top mattress pads, but mine was lumpy.
  • Colorful bathrobes
  • About 20 basic cable channels
  • Each room has a sizable balcony with nice new wooden furniture, but the views and traffic noise from Kuhio leave much to be desired. At the very least balconies on the high floors receive a lot of afternoon sunlight, making them ideal for drying off bathing suits.

 Features

Lovely pool (with free Wi-Fi and cabanas), tiny spa, free Internet, and that's about it.

The lushly landscaped pool is Aqua Bamboo's best feature
The lushly landscaped pool is Aqua Bamboo's best feature

The Aqua Bamboo has one of the most beautifully landscaped pool areas of any small, off-beach property in Waikiki. Ringed by bamboo plants, palm trees, wooden lounge chairs, a gurgling artificial waterfall, and a Thai Buddha statue, the saltwater-filled, kidney-shaped pool exudes tranquility. It truly makes you forget you're bounded by traffic-clogged streets and apartment buildings.

  • Jacuzzi is tiny, but clean.
  • Plenty of wooden lounge chairs available at the pool; two cabana daybeds; dry sauna located next to the restroom
  • Free communal barbecue grill
  • Two-room spa offers a decent array of reasonably priced massages and facials.
  • High-speed Internet is free throughout the hotel (Wi-Fi in the lobby and pool area, and plug-in in guest rooms).
  • Two computers and a printer in the lobby; 20 cents per minute and 75 cents per printed page

 Family

A nice pool, but not among the best budget family options in Waikiki

A nice pool sets it apart from other budget options, but there are better overall budget family hotels elsewhere in Waikiki, like Aston Waikiki Beach and Ohana East.

  • Cribs and rollaway beds each cost $20 a night.
  • No connecting rooms available -- and rooms aren't particularly spacious -- but there are eight 400-sqare-foot suites with nice kitchenettes.
  • No restaurant on site (but continental breakfast is free)
  • Located on a busy, noisy street (not the safest for kids who like to wander)

 Cleanliness

Generally clean, but loses points for stains on the pool furniture, peeling paint, and a beat-up elevator

Hotel staff works hard to keep public areas clean
Hotel staff works hard to keep public areas clean

The hotel's housekeepers do their job well -- rooms are cleaned daily and replenished with lovely fresh orchids -- but the infrastructure could use some work. Though rooms were renovated in 2008, I found chipping baseboards, nicks on my closet door, and red smudges all over the shower.

  • The elevators, which are set to be refurbished in fall 2009, are a mess: the lights are sketchily dim, the walls are rusty, stained, and scratched.
  • The pool area is nicely maintained, but I wish they'd clean the cabana cushions; these lumpy white stains seriously threatened my Zen calm.

 Food

No restaurant on site

The free breakfast buffet runs from 7:30 to 9:00 am
The free breakfast buffet runs from 7:30 to 9:00 am
  • No restaurant on site
  • For those who like to sleep in, chains like Starbucks, IHOP, and Jamba Juice line Kuhio Avenue, and there are tons more restaurants along Kalaukaua.
  • Lulu's, about eight minutes away at the corner of Kalakaua and Kapahulu, serves up fantastic, fresh breakfasts with its great ocean views.

 Bottom Line

Renovated in 2008, this 93-room Waikiki budget boutique delivers "tropical-urban Zen" via Buddha statues, gurgling fountains, and lush bamboo plants within a former apartment building on scruffy Kuhio Avenue. Five minutes from the beach, with touches like flat-screen TVs and iPod docks. It's a good value and convenient, though the building is a bit worn down.

Things You Should Know About Aqua Bamboo And Spa

Address

  • 2425 Kuhio Avenue, Waikiki Beach, HI 96815

Hotel Is Also Known As...

  • Aqua Bamboo
  • Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
  • Aqua Bamboo Hotel

Room Types

  • Luxury One Bedroom Suite
  • Luxury Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite
  • Moderate Room Courtyard View
  • Moderate Room Partial City View
  • One Bedroom Suite With Kitchenette
  • One Bedroom With Full Kitchen
  • Studio Kitchenette Courtyard View
  • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View

Find the Lowest Price - Enter Dates

Check-in
Check-out
Guests
  Compare rates on dozens of sites
 AVG/NIGHT 
Hotels.com  
Expedia.com  
Tingo.com  
Booking.com  
Travelocity  
Otel.com  
Priceline.com  
CheapTickets.com  

All About Oyster

You Can't Return a Bad Vacation.

Our special investigators visit, photograph, review and rate each hotel. We uncover the truth, before it's "uh-oh" time.

Go undercover with an Oyster Investigator The Today Show
Go Undercover with an Oyster Investigator
See 70 Videos of Oyster on TV

Nearby Hotels to Consider

Ohana East
  • Ohana East
  • Waikiki, Honolulu
  • Rating: 30 Pearls
  • Distance: 0.1 mi
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hilton Waikiki Beach

Hotel Features

Number of Rooms: 93
Pool: Yes
Spa: Yes
Internet Access: Yes
Cribs: Yes
View All

Hotel Information

Location: Waikiki, Honolulu
Address: 2425 Kuhio Avenue, Waikiki Beach, HI 96815
(See Map)
Loading Live Rates
Loading...