Voir tous les hôtels à South Beach

Carlton Hotel South Beach 2.5

South Beach, Miami, Floride

Entrez vos dates et obtenez les meilleurs tarifs

Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Cet hôtel a fermé.
Vous pouvez trouver des hôtels similaires.

Sommaire de l'évaluation

Photos et avis par

Pour

  • Un bloc de la plage
  • Jeunes clientèle, du parti d'esprit
  • Les chambres sont aussi grands que ceux dans de nombreux hôtels plus chers art déco
  • Les chambres comprennent une télévision à écran plat , café Starbucks, et de grands placards

Inconvénients

  • Meublées faible densité de chambres à la décoration fromage
  • Pas de restaurant sur place
  • , Peu utilisé Unattractive piscine
  • Lent, peu fiables connexion Wi-Fi
  • Pas de centre de remise en forme
  • $ 10 / nuit (par personne) frais d'établissement ajoutés à la facture

Ce qu'il faut retenir

Il ya beaucoup à détester sur le Carlton: le, personnel indifférent paresseux, les odeurs "sensuelles", l'conçu par Ikea et-essayer trop dur-à-être-hip décor , ainsi que l'terriblement trompeuses site . Mais cela est le Carlton, pas le Ritz-Carlton . Si vous cherchez juste un endroit propre, à un prix raisonnable près de la plage pour prendre le soleil pendant la journée et la fête la nuit, vous pourriez faire pire.

Vols pour ce voyage avec Skyscanner.com

Photos d'hôtels Oyster

Avis Hôtel Oyster

Lieu

Le Carlton sert surtout comme un lieu pour les disjoncteurs de printemps et bonnes affaires demandeurs de garer leur truc pendant la journée et de crash après la fête jusqu'aux petites heures.

Ne vous laissez pas berner par le nom: Ceci est le Carlton, pas le Ritz-Carlton . Plus important encore, ne vous laissez pas berner par leurs flashy compétences Java . L'écart entre le site Web et la réalité était plus grande au Carlton qu'à tout autre hôtel, je suis allé dans - et cela est beaucoup dire. Le "petit-déjeuner continental de luxe" est en fait une sélection limitée de pain d'un jour et de céréales . Le "à couper le souffle de taille olympique piscine" "avec un cadre tropical luxuriant" , en fait, ressemble à la petite, utilisé la piscine au complexe de condo de Grammy et Grampa.

Au crédit de l'hôtel Carlton, le site est au moins une demi-vérité sur les "odeurs sensuelles pompés dans tout l'hôtel." Un parfum d'agrumes est remarquable du moment où vous entrez dans le hall, et reste ainsi tout le chemin dans votre chambre; si elle est sensuelle est une tout autre question. La seule fois où je perdu l'odeur était lorsque l'odeur de la marijuana , infiltrer dans les couloirs de différentes salles, il maîtrisé.

Apparemment, luttant pour une sorte d'harmonie visuelle et olfactive, le Carlton a choisi une palette de couleurs d'orange dans tout l'hôtel. De les rideaux et canapés dans le hall , les chaises longues de la piscine, au chevet lampes et murs salle de bain dans les chambres, tout crie "Tangerine" ( "Les heures {au Carlton}, ils me porter la douleur .. . " ). Ikea vient aussi à l'esprit.

Pour cela, le Carlton ajoute plaisirs sonores shabby-chic ainsi. Euro-tech beats disco jouent dans le hall, malgré le fait que personne ne se bloque là-bas, même lorsque le bar ouvre la nuit.

Tout ce qui précède pourrait être pertinent, bien sûr, parce que le Carlton répond largement aux étudiants des collèges et autres voyageurs soucieux de leur budget à la recherche d'un endroit pas cher pour garer leurs sacs et leurs pieds, talons aiguilles ravagé endoloris. J'y étais en début Avril, après les pauses ressort de la plupart des collèges avaient terminé, et je voyais encore principalement des groupes de femmes d'âge universitaire - ou, plutôt, les entendais rire et crier à travers les portes de leurs chambres. Les couloirs, longs mal éclairés et tenue décontractée (à la fois les clients et le personnel) Ajouter au dortoir comme l'atmosphère du collège.

Service

Au mieux, compétente, mais indifférent. Au pire, le froid et inefficace.

Lorsque je ne suis pas en mesure de vérifier au début, je leur ai donné mon numéro de téléphone cellulaire et leur ai dit de me téléphoner lorsque la chambre était prête. Ils ne faisaient jamais. Un avant-desk greffier lisait un roman d'amour quand je me suis approché le bureau; Je eu l'impression qu'elle ne l'aurait jamais même regardé si je ne l'avais pas dit quelque chose. Un autre membre du personnel a obtenu mâchée par un client qui se plaignait que son problème "n'a pas obtenu fixe toute la semaine."

Vouloir plus? Je me suis crié par un gars à la réception quand je essayé de sortir par la piscine après l'obscurité ("Vous ne pouvez pas aller là-bas!"). Ils ne me donnent la clé de la chambre le minibar quand je suis arrivé; Je devais le demander après avoir découvert le réfrigérateur nécessaire une clé. Oh, et mon coup de semonce est venu 10 minutes de retard.

Dans l'ensemble, vous obtenez ce que vous payez. Le personnel vous vérifier dans et hors assez rapidement. Et si vous choisissez la bonne sur une bonne journée, vous pouvez même obtenir un sourire ou deux. Sinon, ne vous attendez pas beaucoup.

Endroit

Un calme, étirement commerce de Collins Avenue , à un bloc de la plage et le bar scène bruyante sur Ocean Drive.

Le bloc de Collins Avenue entourant le Carlton voit trafic de pied modérée de consommateurs et les clients dans d'autres hôtels; il n'y a rien comme la foule dense sur Ocean Drive. Juste en face de la rue est célèbre Deli Jerry , qui, en dépit d'obtenir batée (pour ainsi dire) par de nombreux auteurs, est ouvert 24 heures et donc, par défaut, la meilleure option en début de matinée après une nuit clubbing. Bas Collins est un bloc Café des Arts , un bon petit déjeuner et / ou de l'option de café.

Une nuit, je me trouvais au Carlton, une dispute verbale racial a eu lieu entre deux groupes de jeunes hommes dans la ruelle derrière l'hôtel, juste devant ma chambre. Néanmoins, la zone est généralement sûr - bien éclairé et plus silencieux que Ocean Drive, aussi.

Plage

Le plus sexy plage dans le monde est un pâté de maisons.

Il est un de trois minutes à pied de l'un des plus célèbres des plages dans le monde, où une horde confuse de bikini babes, dudes, couples en vacances pillée, et les familles avec enfants gambadent et se détendre sur une plage de sable 100 verges de large. South Beach montre clairement pourquoi il ya un régime qui porte son nom.

Dans la matinée, les trotte coureur occasionnels le long de la plus difficile, à l'intérieur de la moitié de la plage. En après-midi, l'articulation est emballé avec les baigneurs. Au crépuscule, la scène amincit encore.

L'hôtel fournit des serviettes de plage dans le cadre de 10 $ taxe de séjour journalière obligatoire. Vous pouvez louer des chaises longues et des parasols d'une des innombrables Bros. Boucher peuplements qui parsèment la plage.

Stands de mobiles sont également éparpillés le long de la plage, vente de boissons gazeuses et les croustilles (note, cependant, que l'alcool est pas autorisé).

Chambres

Les Ikea inspirés chambres sont fonctionnelles et tout aussi grande que d'autres options de milieu de gamme à South Beach , mais mal éclairé, peu meublé, et faible sur fioritures.

Comme cela est le cas avec la plupart art déco hôtels à South Beach , à l'hôtel Carlton vous payez pour l'emplacement, pas la taille de la pièce ou la modernité. Avec parois minces, des voisins bruyants, mobilier simple en bois, pas un éclairage zénithal, et blanc, plâtre non décorés les murs , les chambres sont pas sans rappeler un dortoir glorifié. "Gloire" parce que vous ne recevez pas certaines choses que vous pourriez ne pas se venger de State U., y compris une forte 32 pouces télévision à écran plat , un mini-bar , une machine à café avec café Starbucks , et bien sûr que classy couleurs mandarine . Là encore, le blanc simple, tables de nuit , industrielle bureau moquette , et le coup-ras toilettes pourrait vous de mi-session rappeler une fois de plus.

Le king-size lit est assis au ras du sol, il y avait un trou de tennis balle de taille dans la couette, et mes feuilles se sentait comme des draps d'un lit un sac-à- . Mais au moins, le matelas était comparable à ceux des endroits plus chers où je suis resté.

La salle de bains est petite, mais la mienne était propre et la pression de l'eau dans la douche était solide. La marque écologique Vert Natura (quelle qu'elle soit - une recherche Google rendements rien) des produits de bain comprennent du savon, shampoing et revitalisant.

Attractions

Pas grand-chose: peu fiable Wi-Fi, un guichet automatique dans le hall et une décevante piscine .

La piscine est clairement le point culminant, mais il n'y en a pas des choses que le site fait la promotion de. Il a la taille d'une petite piscine de complexe de condo, pas "de taille olympique," et il est encerclé par fanées orange rembourrée chaises longues , et non pas "un environnement luxuriant tropicales." Jamais je ne vis personne utiliser la piscine pendant mon séjour, même si je l'ai fait voir quelques invités apportent leur petit-déjeuner ou le déjeuner sur les chaises.

Wi-Fi est gratuit, mais la connexion dans ma chambre était si lente et inégale, il ne valait même pas utiliser.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, les 10 $ par personne par jour "resort taxe", ils ajoutent aussi sur le projet de loi ne fait qu'ajouter l'insulte à la blessure.

Famille

Pas vraiment un endroit pour les familles. Il n'y a rien flagrante, mais la pause ambiance de printemps pourrait rebuter certains parents.

Girls Gone Sauvage ce ne est pas. Cependant, je ne vois pas d'enfants pendant mon séjour, et je l'ai fait noter le beat disco dans le hall, les étudiants bruyants fête dans leurs chambres, et l'odeur de la marijuana dans les couloirs.

Propreté

Stains sur les tapis, bagages roues éraflures sur les murs, déformé meubles, et sale, fanées chaises de piscine . Mais rien dégoûtant ou insalubres.

Pour un lieu rénové il ya moins de quatre ans (en Décembre 2005), le Carlton est preuve de beaucoup d'usure. Mais vous pouvez vous attendre d'une propre salle de bain et draps lavés.

Nourriture

Autre qu'un continental limitée petit-déjeuner buffet , pas de restaurant sur ​​place. Il ya beaucoup de salle phénoménale tout autour, cependant, si vous êtes prêt à marcher un peu.

Le petit déjeuner de l'hôtel Carlton se compose de café ou thé, jus, un fruit, un morceau de pain et des céréales sèches pour 7 $. Vous êtes mieux en direction du sud d'un bloc, au Café des Arts , qui sert de délicieux toasts et des œufs français, entre autres choses.

Juste en face de la rue du Carlton est célèbre Deli Jerry , qui, en dépit d'obtenir batée (pour ainsi dire) par de nombreux auteurs, est ouvert 24 heures et donc, par défaut, la meilleure option en début de matinée après une nuit clubbing.

Pour le dîner, le barman dans le hall Carlton recommandé les restaurants sur Espanola Way , à quelques rues à l'ouest, et il est avéré être une excellente suggestion. La rue est un peu un joyau caché, qui abrite une belle variété de plats internationaux. Mon repas à Tapas y Tintos était excellent.

Les clients qui ont regardé Carlton Hotel South Beach ont aussi regardé

Ce que vous devez savoir à propos de cet Carlton Hotel South Beach

Adresse

1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, Florida 33139, United States

Téléphone

(305) 672-5858

Également appelé

  • Carlton Hotel Miami
  • Carlton Hotel Miami Beach
  • Carlton Miami Beach

Types de chambre

  • Deluxe Room
  • Standard Room
  • Superior Room

Ne manquez pas nos secrets de voyage. Aimez-nous sur Facebook !

Carlton Hotel South Beach Rating: 2.5 Pearls
South Beach, Miami, Florida

Oyster Review Summary

Photos and Review by Oyster.com Investigators

Pros

  • One block from the beach
  • Young, party-minded clientele
  • Rooms are as large as those in many more expensive art deco hotels
  • Rooms include flat-screen TVs, Starbucks coffee, and large closets

Cons

  • Sparsely furnished rooms with cheesy decor
  • No on-site restaurant
  • Unattractive, little-used pool
  • Slow, unreliable Wi-Fi connection
  • No fitness center
  • $10/night (per person) resort fee added to bill

Bottom Line

There's a lot to dislike about the Carlton: the lazy, indifferent staff, the "sensual" odors, the designed-by-Ikea-and-trying-too-hard-to-be-hip decor, as well as the terribly misleading website. But this is the Carlton, not the Ritz-Carlton. If you're just looking for a clean, reasonably priced place near the beach to sunbathe during the day and party by night, you could do worse.

Categories

Oyster Hotel Photos

View All 6 Albums

Oyster Hotel Review

 Scene

The Carlton serves mostly as a place for spring breakers and bargain-seekers to park their stuff during the day and crash after partying into the wee hours.

Guests in the patio lounge area
Guests in the patio lounge area

Don't be fooled by the name: This is the Carlton, not the Ritz-Carlton. More crucially, don't be fooled by their flashy Java skills. The discrepancy between the Web site and the reality was greater at the Carlton than at any other hotel I've stayed in -- and that's saying a lot. The "deluxe continental breakfast buffet" is actually a limited selection of day-old bread and cold cereal. The "breathtaking Olympic-size swimming pool" "with lush tropical surroundings" in fact resembles the small, unused pool at Grammy and Grampa's condo complex.

To the Carlton's credit, the website is at least half-truthful about the "sensual odors pumped throughout the hotel." A citrusy fragrance is conspicuous the moment you step into the lobby, and remains so all the way into your room; whether it's sensual is another question altogether. The only time I lost the scent was when the smell of marijuana, seeping into the hallways from various rooms, overpowered it.

Apparently striving for a kind of visual and olfactory harmony, the Carlton has selected an orange color scheme throughout the hotel. From the drapes and couches in the lobby, to the lounge chairs by the pool, to the bedside lamps and bathroom walls in the rooms, it all screams "Tangerine" ("The hours {at the Carlton}, they bring me pain ..."). Ikea also comes to mind.

To this, the Carlton adds shabby-chic aural pleasures as well. Euro-tech disco beats play in the lobby, despite the fact that no one hangs out there even when the bar opens at night.

All of the above might be irrelevant, of course, because the Carlton caters largely to college students and other budget-minded travelers looking for a cheap place to park their bags and their achy, stiletto-ravaged feet. I was there in early April, after most colleges' spring breaks had ended, and I still mostly saw groups of college-age women -- or, rather, heard them giggling and screaming through the doors of their rooms. The long, poorly lit hallways and casual attire (of both the guests and staff) add to the college dorm-like atmosphere.

 Service

At best, competent but indifferent. At worst, cold and inefficient.

Breakfast at the hotel bar
Breakfast at the hotel bar

When I wasn't able to check in early, I gave them my cell phone number and told them to call me when the room was ready. They never did. One front-desk clerk was reading a romance novel when I approached the desk; I got the impression she never would have even looked up if I hadn't said something. Another staffer got chewed out by a guest who was complaining that her problem "hasn't gotten fixed all week."

Want more? I got yelled at by one guy at the front desk when I tried to go out by the pool after dark ("You can't go out there!"). They didn't give me the key to the room's minibar when I checked in; I had to ask for it after discovering the fridge required a key. Oh, and my wakeup call came 10 minutes late.

All in all, you get what you pay for. The staff will check you in and out reasonably quickly. And if you pick the right one on a good day, you may even get a smile or two. Otherwise, don't expect much.

 Location

A quiet, commerical stretch of Collins Avenue, one block from the beach and the noisy bar scene on Ocean Drive.

The block of Collins Avenue surrounding the Carlton sees moderate foot traffic from shoppers and guests at other hotels; it's nothing like the dense throng on Ocean Drive. Right across the street is Jerry's Famous Deli, which, despite getting panned (as it were) by many reviewers, is open 24 hours and thus, by default, the best early-morning option after a night of clubbing. Down Collins a block is Café Des Arts, a nice breakfast and/or coffee option.

One night I was at the Carlton, a racially charged verbal argument took place between two groups of young men in the alley behind the hotel, right outside my room. Nonetheless, the area is generally safe -- well-lit and quieter than Ocean Drive, too.

 Beach

The sexiest beach in the world is one block away.

Early morning jogger
Early morning jogger

It's a three-minute stroll to one of the most famous beaches in the world, where a jumbled horde of bikini babes, jacked dudes, couples on vacation, and families with kids cavort and relax on a stretch of sand 100 yards wide. South Beach makes it clear why there's a diet named after it.

In the mornings, the occasional runner trots along the harder, inland half of the beach. By the afternoon, the joint is packed with sunbathers. At dusk the scene thins out again.

The hotel provides beach towels as part of the mandatory $10 daily resort fee. You can rent chairs and umbrellas from one of the countless Boucher Bros. stands dotting the beach.

Mobile snack stands are also scattered along the beach, selling soft drinks and chips (note, however, that alcohol is not allowed).

 Rooms

The Ikea-inspired rooms are functional and just as large as other mid-range options in SoBe, but poorly lit, sparsely furnished, and low on frills.

Funky color scheme
Funky color scheme

As is the case with most art deco hotels in South Beach, at the Carlton you're paying for location, not room size or modernity. With thin walls, noisy neighbors, simple wooden furniture, no overhead lighting, and white, undecorated plaster walls, the rooms are reminiscent of a glorified dorm room. "Glorified" because you do get some things you might not get back at State U., including a 32-inch Sharp flat-screen TV, a mini-bar, a coffee machine with Starbucks coffee, and of course that classy tangerine color scheme. Then again, the simple white night stands, industrial office carpeting, and the kick-flush toilet could remind you of midterms all over again.

The king-size bed sits low to the ground, there was a tennis ball-size hole in the duvet, and my sheets felt like linens from a bed-in-a-bag. But at least the mattress was comparable to those at more expensive places where I stayed.

The bathroom is small, but mine was clean and the water pressure in the shower was solid. The environmentally friendly Green Natura brand (whatever that is -- a Google search yields nothing) bath products include soap, shampoo, and conditioner.

 Features

Not much: unreliable Wi-Fi, an ATM in the lobby, and a disappointing pool.

Decently sized pool, though smaller than advertised
Decently sized pool, though smaller than advertised

The pool is clearly the highlight, but it is none of the things the website advertises. It's the size of a small condo complex pool, not "Olympic-size," and it's encircled by faded orange-padded lounge chairs, not "lush tropical surroundings." I never saw anyone use the pool during my stay, though I did see a few guests bring their breakfast or lunch out to the chairs.

Wi-Fi is free, but the connection in my room was so slow and spotty, it wasn't even worth using.

Given the above, the $10 per person per day "resort fee" they tack onto the bill just adds insult to the injury.

 Family

Not really a place for families. There's nothing egregious, but the spring break vibe might put off some parents.

Girls Gone Wild this ain't. However, I didn't see any kids during my stay, and I did note the disco beat in the lobby, the noisy college students partying in their rooms, and the smell of marijuana in hallways.

 Cleanliness

Stains on the carpet, luggage-wheel scuff marks on the walls, warped furniture, and dirty, faded pool chairs. But nothing disgusting or unhygienic.

For a place renovated less than four years ago (in December 2005), the Carlton is showing a lot of wear and tear. But you can expect a clean bathroom and laundered linens.

 Food

Other than a limited continental breakfast buffet, no restaurant on-site. There's plenty of phenomenal dining all around, though, if you're willing to walk a bit.

Jerry's Famous Deli right across the street
Jerry's Famous Deli right across the street

The Carlton's breakfast consists of coffee or tea, juice, one piece of fruit, one piece of bread, and dry cereal for $7. You're better off heading south a block, to Café Des Arts, which serves tasty French toast and eggs, among other things.

Right across the street from the Carlton is Jerry's Famous Deli, which, despite getting panned (as it were) by many reviewers, is open 24 hours and thus, by default, the best early-morning option after a night of clubbing.

For dinner, the bartender in the Carlton lobby recommended the restaurants on Espanola Way, a few blocks west, and it turned out to be a great suggestion. The street is a bit of a hidden gem, home to a nice variety of international cuisines. My meal at Tapas y Tintos was excellent.

 Bottom Line

There's a lot to dislike about the Carlton: the lazy, indifferent staff, the "sensual" odors, the designed-by-Ikea-and-trying-too-hard-to-be-hip decor, as well as the terribly misleading website. But this is the Carlton, not the Ritz-Carlton. If you're just looking for a clean, reasonably priced place near the beach to sunbathe during the day and party by night, you could do worse.

Things You Should Know About Carlton Hotel South Beach

Address

  • 1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Is Also Known As...

  • Carlton Hotel Miami
  • Carlton Hotel Miami Beach
  • Carlton Miami Beach

Room Types

  • Deluxe Room
  • Standard Room
  • Superior Room

Find the Lowest Price - Enter Dates

Check-in
Check-out
Guests
 AVG/NIGHT 
Hotels.com  
Expedia.com  
Tingo.com  
Booking.com  
Travelocity  
Otel.com  
Priceline.com  
CheapTickets.com  

All About Oyster

You Can't Return a Bad Vacation.

Our special investigators visit, photograph, review and rate each hotel. We uncover the truth, before it's "uh-oh" time.

Go undercover with an Oyster Investigator The Today Show
Go Undercover with an Oyster Investigator
See 56 Videos of Oyster on TV

Nearby Hotels to Consider

Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
The Delores Clarion Collection
President Hotel
  • President Hotel
  • South Beach, Miami
  • Rating: 25 Pearls
  • Distance: Less than 0.1 mi
Penguin Hotel
  • Penguin Hotel
  • South Beach, Miami
  • Rating: 30 Pearls
  • Distance: 0.1 mi

Hotel Features

Number of Rooms: 67
Pool: Yes
Internet Access: Yes
Cribs: Yes
View All

Hotel Information

Location: South Beach, Miami
Address: 1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
(See Map)
Loading Live Rates
Loading...