Alle Hotels in Insel Hawaii (Große Insel) ansehen

Mauna Kea Beach Hotel 4.5

Insel Hawaii (Große Insel), Hawaii, Vereinigte Staaten

Geben Sie Termine für die besten Preise ein

Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com

Zusammenfassung des Berichts

Fotos und Bewertung von den

Pro

  • Wunderschöner abgelegener weißer Sandstrand
  • Nobles Speisen in einer einzigartigen Küstenkulisse
  • Preisgekrönter Golfplatz mit einem Komplettservice-Profi-Shop
  • Komplettservice Tennisclub mit 11 Plätzen
  • Helle Zimmer mit modernem Dekor und bequemen Möbeln
  • Große Hauptbäder (in den Deluxe-Zimmern und Suiten)
  • Badezimmerausstattung von L'Occitane
  • Umfangreiche pazifische und asiatische Kunstsammlung

Kontra

Fazit

Dieses Luxusanwesen an der Kohala Coast ist bekannt für seinen weißen Sandstrand, seine Möglichkeiten zum noblen Speisen sowie seine Golf- und Tennisanlagen von Weltklasse. Die Atmosphäre ist entspannt und die sorgfältig renovierten Zimmer verfügen über bequeme Möbel und einen modernen Inselflair. Die Struktur des Hotels an sich ist nicht prachtvoll, aber für ihr Alter in einem guten Zustand.

Oyster-Auszeichnungen

Flüge für diese Reise Mit Skyscanner.com

Oyster-Hotelfotos

Alle 8 Alben anzeigen

Oyster-Hotelbewertung

Scene

Geschmackvolle Luxus mit Mehr-Generationen-Appell

Der Mauna Kea Hotel ist ein beliebtes Ziel in der Kona-Bereich, und seit er im Jahr 1965 von Laurance S. Rockefeller als Luxus-Resort für die wohlhabenden und gut verbunden erbaute eröffnet wurde, hat das Hotel seine Attraktivität erhalten über die Jahre mit seiner ausgezeichneten Lage direkt am Strand und umfangreichen Renovierungsarbeiten (in 2008 abgeschlossen). Was es in der zeitgenössischen Architektur fehlt und aufwendigen Dekorationen ist für die entspannende Atmosphäre, an der Küste gemacht Golfplatz , und abgeschiedenen Kauna'oa weißen Sandstrand , der Familien, der Rückkehr von Generation zu Generation zu halten. Die großen traditionellen orangefarbenen Strandtücher sind eine nette Geste, das Personal ist freundlich und der Strand und das Meer-Seiten Leiste sind langjährige Favorit unter den Einheimischen. Eine riesige Sammlung von Pacific und asiatischer Kunst (über 1.600 Stück von Rockefeller und Davis Allen in den 1960er Jahren gesammelt) wird im gesamten Resort angezeigt und fügt seiner einzigartigen Charakter.

Obwohl das Resort bietet sozialen Aktivitäten während des Tages und am Abend - ein täglicher Cocktail-Stunde, sowie wöchentliche luaus und Clambakes - es gibt nicht viel zu tun in der Nacht. Die beiden wichtigsten Veranstaltungsorte für Geselligkeit, die Copper Terrace und Monettes, in der Nähe von 10.00 Uhr Gäste, die nach mehr Nachtleben wird eine lange Wanderung zu und von Off-Site-Hot-Spots zu stellen.

Ort

Mit Blick auf einen wertvollen Strand an der Kohala Coast

Der Mauna Kea Beach Hotel liegt am Hang eines halbmondförmigen Abschnitt der Kohala Küste. Das Wasser kann von den meisten der am Meer gelegene Punkte in dem Hotel, einschließlich Gehwege, Gärten und Restaurants zu sehen. Unten der Strand erstreckt sich ein Großteil der Länge des Grundstücks, mit beiden Enden durch voll gestalteten Hügel, die ein Gefühl von Privatsphäre verstärkt eingefasst. Die Plumeria Teil des Hotels mit direktem Zugang zu einem grünen Rasen, die neben dem Strand ist.

Das Anwesen ist für seine Nähe zum Mauna Kea vulkanische Gipfel, den höchsten Gipfel auf allen hawaiianischen Inseln benannt. Das Hotel ist näher an Waimea, Waikoloa und Kawaihae Villages als Kailua-Kona, und ist von der Königin Ka'ahumanu Highway (Route 19) zugänglich ist. Ein Auto zu mieten ist eine kluge Wahl für Gäste, die während ihres Aufenthalts wagen, da Shuttles und Taxis können teuer sein soll.

  • 40-minütige Fahrt vom Flughafen Kona
  • 7-minütige Fahrt nach Kawaihae (nächste Gas- und Lebensmittel off-site)
  • 15-minütige Fahrt zum Einkaufen und Essen in Mauna Lani oder Waikoloa Village Marktplätze
  • 25-minütige Fahrt bis Waimea
  • 50-minütige Fahrt nach Kailua-Kona
  • 2-stündige Fahrt auf Mauna Kea Sternwarten (auf dem Gipfel)

Zimmer

Aktualisiert Zimmer sind bunt, groß und kreativ geplant

Die Zimmer im Mauna Kea sind modern und hell, mit einem Hauch von zeitgenössischen Mustern der modernen Insel Gefühl hinzuzufügen. Die Möbel-Design ist gut durchdacht, und ermöglicht die komfortable Nutzung des Weltraums. Die Wandlänge Holz Schrank / Schreibtischkombination ist besonders interessant, da es versteckt den TV, Kaffeemaschine und andere Annehmlichkeiten, und wird als ein Merkmal der Raum selbst auffällig. In den Deluxe und Executive Zimmer, die Badezimmer sind groß, mit ihrer eigenen privaten Terrasse, regen Dusche und großer Badewanne. Die Plumeria Zimmer, während beliebt wegen ihrer günstigen Lage und familienfreundlichen Verbindungs ​​Suiten, sind kleiner und weniger komfortable Bäder mit einfacher Dusche / Badewanne-Kombinationen . Alle Zimmer verfügen über eine eigene Veranda mit bequemen Gartenmöbeln. Die 258 Zimmer und Suiten sind zwischen zwei Abschnitten des Hotels in der kleineren Plumeria Turm aufgeteilt, mit 158 ​​in den Hauptturm und 100.

Alle Zimmer verfügen über:

Zimmerarten:

  • Mountain View Zimmer : 400 Quadratfuß mit 189-Quadratmeter große Veranda, Dusche / Wanne-Combo ; Blick auf den Berg und den Golfplatz ; auf den Etagen fünf bis acht liegt am nördlichen Ende
  • Golf Vista Zimmer: 615 Quadratmetern mit 265 Quadratmeter große Veranda; zweite private Veranda; separater Dusche und Badewanne; begehbare Kleiderschränke; Blick auf die Berge und Golfplatz; auf den Etagen fünf vor acht befindet sich am südlichen Ende
  • Plumeria Beach Club Zimmer : 457 Quadratmetern mit 133 Quadratmeter große Veranda, zwei Waschbecken und Dusche / Wanne-Combo ; Blick auf den Strand und das Meer ; auf den Etagen 1-4 befinden
  • Zimmer mit Meerblick: 400 Quadratfuß mit 189 Quadratmeter großen Lanai und Dusche / Wanne-Combo; Blick auf das Meer; auf den Etagen fünf vor sieben liegt am nördlichen Ende
  • Deluxe Zimmer mit Meerblick : 615 Quadratmetern mit 265 Quadratmeter große Veranda; zweite private Veranda, separater Dusche und Badewanne , begehbare Kleiderschränke , Blick auf das Meer ; auf den Etagen fünf vor sieben liegt am südlichen Ende
  • 8th Floor Ocean: 414 Quadratmetern mit 133 Quadratmeter große Veranda; Dusche / Wanne-Combo; Blick auf das Meer; auf der obersten Etage des Hauptturmes gelegen am Nordende
  • 8th Floor Deluxe Ocean Zimmer: 634 Quadratmetern mit 270 Quadratmeter großen Lanai zweite private Veranda; separater Dusche und Badewanne; begehbare Kleiderschränke; ein Bose-Stereoanlage; Blick auf Strand und Meer; auf der obersten Etage des Hauptturmes befindet sich am südlichen Ende
  • Plumeria Beach Club Pool-Jr. Suite 545 Quadratmetern mit 133 Quadratmeter große Veranda; Dusche / Badewanne Combo und zwei Waschbecken; Bose-Stereoanlage; Schlafsofa; Espresso-Maschine; Blick auf Pool und teilweise Blick auf das Meer; befindet sich am Pool auf den Etagen drei vor vier
  • Plumeria Beach Club Jr. Suite "00": 545 Quadratmetern mit 133 Quadratmeter große Veranda; 294-Quadratmeter großen Vorraum; Dusche / Badewanne Combo und zwei Waschbecken; Bose-Stereoanlage; Schlafsofa und Espressomaschine; Blick auf Strand und Meer; auf den Etagen eins bis vier liegt am südlichen Ende
  • Mountain View Suite Kohala: 986 Quadratmetern mit 266 Quadratmeter große Veranda; zweite private Veranda; separaten Wohnbereich; Master-Bad mit separater Dusche und Badewanne und zwei Waschbecken; zwei 40-Zoll-Flachbild-TV; Bose-Stereoanlage; Espresso-Maschine; Ansicht der Kohala Mountains und Kawaihae Harbor; Zimmer 841 in der obersten Etage des Hauptturmes, am nördlichen Ende
  • Ocean View Suite Hualalai: 986 Quadratmetern mit 266 Quadratmeter große Veranda; zweite private Veranda; separaten Wohnbereich; Master-Bad mit separater Dusche und Badewanne und zwei Waschbecken; zwei 40-Zoll-Flachbild-TV; Bose-Stereoanlage; Espresso-Maschine; Blick auf das Meer; Zimmer 828 in der obersten Etage des Hauptturmes am nördlichen Ende
  • Presidential Ocean Suite: 1.207 Quadratfuß mit 403-Quadratmeter große Veranda; zwei lanais; separaten Wohnbereich; Master-Bad mit separater Dusche und Badewanne und zwei Waschbecken; Essbereich mit einem Esstisch; Sitzecke mit einer Sofagarnitur; zwei 40-Zoll-Flachbild-TV; Bose-Stereoanlage; Espresso-Maschine; Blick auf Strand und Meer; auf der obersten Etage des Hauptturms

Angebote

Hervorragende 18-Loch-Golfplatz und Tennisplätze

Der Mauna Kea Golf Course von Robert Trent Jones Sr. entworfen konsequent wurde zu einer der Top-Plätze in der Nation. Darüber hinaus sind die Full-Service-Tennisanlagen sind denen in anderen Resorts in der Nähe.

Das Spa und Pool , jedoch nicht ganz so beeindruckend wie man erwarten würde. Der Wellnessbereich ist in einem engen Kellerraum befindet; Glücklicherweise können die Wellnessanwendungen in Ihrem Zimmer oder in einem Meer statt Dach angeordnet werden. Der Pool ist ein bisschen klein, aber die Aussicht auf den Ozean und bequemen Liegen dazu beitragen, dass das wieder wett.

  • Kauna'oa weißen Sandstrand
  • Fitness-Center ist 2.500 Quadratmetern und hat einen Vollzeit-Begleiter und kostenlose Yoga-Kurse.
  • Mauna Kea Salon ist täglich von 9.00 Uhr bis 17.00 Uhr
  • Mauna Kea Spa by Mandara ist ein Full-Service-Anlage mit fünf Behandlungsräume, darunter Suite eines Paares, täglich geöffnet von 9.00 bis 20.00 Uhr
  • 18-Loch-Golfplatz Mauna Kea (mit $ 225 Gäste Preis für 18 Löcher)
  • Golf-Clubhaus mit Full-Service-Pro-Shop mit Unterricht, Kliniken und Vermietung
  • Seaside Tennis Club mit 11 Plätze, Umkleideräume, Equipment-Verleih, Kliniken und Unterricht Dienstleistungen (25 $ pro Person und Tag Gerichtsgebühr oder $ 15 pro Person Gästerate von 11.00 Uhr bis 04.00 Uhr); täglich geöffnet von 8.00 bis 05.00 Uhr
  • Boutique Shopping und Galerien vor Ort bietet Kunst, Schmuck, Kleidung und Geschenke
  • Hochzeitsservice einschließlich Planungshilfe und Pakete mit verschiedenen Schauplatz und Menüoptionen
  • Wöchentliche luau dienstags: Imu Ceremony, um 5:45 Uhr und ein Buffet von 18.00 bis 21.00 Uhr
  • Aktivitäten vor Ort gehören Wassersport, Mantarochen Betrachtung und regelmäßige hawaiianischen Kultur Aktivitäten
  • Kids Programme umfassen Hawaiian Kunst und Handwerk, Sandburgen bauen, Hula tanzen, T-shirt Malerei, Strand Schnitzeljagden und Filme; $ 85 pro Kind für einen ganzen Tag und 50 $ für einen halben Tag
  • Tagungsräume (für 20 bis 100 Personen Kapazität) und Außenräume für Gruppenfunktionen
  • Ricoh Business Center verfügt über Computer-Arbeitsplätze, Drucken, Kopieren, Faxen und Transportdienste.
  • Pacific und asiatischen Kunstsammlung umfasst mehr als 1.600 Stücke von Rockefeller und Davis Allen im Jahr 1965 erhalten
  • 24 Stunden Zimmerservice
  • Valet und Selbst-Parkplätze zur Verfügung
  • Wi-Fi für die tägliche, wöchentliche oder monatliche Gebühren
  • Eine kostenlose Foto-Session (Sitzung Gebühr plus ein fünf-mal-sieben-Zoll-Druck) wird für alle Gäste angeboten, mit anderen Bilderdienste und Drucke gegen Aufpreis

Speisen

Feines Essen und die Getränke in der einzigartigen Küsten Einstellungen

Monettes Artisan Fisch und Steak Restaurant , zum Abendessen Donnerstag geöffnet bis Montag, hat immer wieder als einer der Top-Restaurants, in denen auf der Big Island gelistet. Das Gourmet-Menü enthält eine vielseitige Mischung aus Speisen aus hauptsächlich lokalen Zutaten, und das Restaurant wartet mit Innen- und Außenbereich.

Manta & Pavilion Wine Bar bietet ein tägliches Frühstück und öffnet sich in den Abendstunden fünf Nächte in der Woche zum Abendessen. Die Weinkarte ist umfangreich, und die Atmosphäre ist mehr casual als Monettes. Die Wände der Manta in den Ozean zu öffnen, was eine Open-Air-Gefühl, mit Innen- oder Außenbereich Sitzgelegenheiten. Samstags veranstaltet das Restaurant ein Muschelessen am Strand, und am Sonntag, ein besonderes Brunch-Buffet.

  • Number 3 , in der Golf-Clubhaus befindet, verfügt über Kurzarbeit für das Mittagessen-Service (von 11.00 bis 02.00 Uhr), und verfügt über eine vielfältige Auswahl an Salaten und leichten Gerichten. Getränke werden von 11:00 Uhr zur Verfügung, um 4:00 Uhr
  • Copper Terrace serviert pupus und Cocktails am Abend; es ist ein beliebter Ort, um den Sonnenuntergang zu beobachten, und die Feuerstellen und Live-Musik hinzufügen Ambiente.
  • Hau Tree , Beachside at Kauna'oa bietet Mittagessen, Abendessen, Snacks; Tarif umfasst Salate, Sandwiches und kinderfreundliche Speisen.

Kunden, die sich Mauna Kea Beach Hotel angesehen haben, interessierten sich auch für

Dinge, die Sie über das Mauna Kea Beach Hotel wissen sollten

Adresse

62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Puako, Hawaii 96743-9706, United States

Telefon

(808) 882-7222

Zimmertypen

  • 8th Floor Deluxe Ocean Room
  • 8th Floor Ocean Room
  • Deluxe Ocean View Room
  • Golf Vista Guest Room
  • Mountain View Guest Room
  • Mountain View Suite Kohala
  • Ocean View Room
  • Ocean View Suite Hualalai
  • Plumeria Beach Club Ground Floor Room
  • Plumeria Beach Club Jr. Suite "00"
  • Plumeria Beach Club Poolside Jr. Suite
  • Plumeria Beach Club Room
  • Presidential Ocean Suite

Mauna Kea Beach Hotel Rating: 4.5 Pearls
Big Island, Hawaii, United States

Oyster Review Summary

Photos and Review by Oyster.com Investigators

Pros

  • Beautiful secluded white-sand beach
  • Fine dining in a unique coastal setting
  • Award-winning golf course with a full-service pro shop
  • Full-service tennis club with 11 courts
  • Bright rooms with contemporary decor and comfortable furnishings
  • Large master bathrooms (in Deluxe and Suite Rooms)
  • L’Occitane brand bath amenities
  • Extensive Pacific and Asian art collection

Cons

Bottom Line

This luxury property on the Kohala Coast is known for its beautiful white-sand beach, fine dining and world-class golf and tennis facilities. The atmosphere is relaxed and the thoughtfully renovated rooms have comfortable furnishings and a modern island feel. The hotel structure itself is less than grand, but in good shape for its age.

Oyster Awards

We investigate in person.
Like your mother-in-law.

Categories

, , , ,

Oyster Hotel Photos

View All 8 Albums

Customers Who Viewed Mauna Kea Beach Hotel Also Viewed

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
19% viewed
The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Big Island, Hawaii
St. Regis Princeville
16% viewed
St. Regis Princeville
Kauai, Hawaii
Turtle Bay Resort
13% viewed
Turtle Bay Resort
North Shore, Oahu

Oyster Hotel Review

 Scene

Tasteful luxuries with multi-generational appeal

Guests at the Hau Tree Bar
Guests at the Hau Tree Bar

The Mauna Kea Hotel is a popular destination in the Kona area, and has been since it opened in 1965. Built by Laurance S. Rockefeller as a luxury resort for the well-to-do and well connected, the hotel has maintained its appeal over the years with its excellent beachfront location and extensive renovations (completed in 2008). What it lacks in contemporary architecture and lavish decor is made up for by the relaxing environment, coastal golf course, and secluded Kauna‘oa white sand beach, which keep families returning generation after generation. The large traditional orange beach towels are a nice touch, the staff is friendly, and the beach and ocean-side bar are long-standing favorites among locals. A massive collection of Pacific and Asian art (over 1,600 pieces gathered by Rockefeller and Davis Allen in the 1960s) is displayed throughout the resort and adds to its unique character.

Although the resort offers social activities during the day and evening -- a daily cocktail hour, as well as weekly luaus and clambakes -- there's not a lot to do at night. The two main venues for socializing, the Copper Terrace and Monettes, close by 10 p.m. Guests looking for more nightlife will face a long trek to and from off-site hot spots.

 Location

Overlooking a prized beach on the Kohala Coast

The Mauna Kea Beach Hotel is located on the hillside of a crescent shaped section of the Kohala coast. The water can be seen from most of the ocean-side points in the hotel, including walkways, gardens and restaurants. The beach below extends much of the length of the property, with both ends bordered by fully landscaped hills, which reinforces a feeling of privacy. The Plumeria section of the hotel opens directly onto a green lawn that is adjacent to the beach.

The property is named for its proximity to the Mauna Kea volcanic peak, the highest summit on all the Hawaiian Islands. The hotel is closer to Waimea, Waikoloa and Kawaihae Villages than Kailua-Kona, and is accessible from the Queen Ka‘ahumanu Highway (Route 19). Renting a car is a wise choice for guests who want to venture out during their stay, since shuttles and cabs can be expensive.

  • 40-minute drive from Kona airport
  • 7-minute drive to Kawaihae (nearest gas and food off-site)
  • 15-minute drive to shopping and dining at Mauna Lani or Waikoloa Village marketplaces
  • 25-minute drive to Waimea
  • 50-minute drive to Kailua-Kona
  • 2-hour drive to Mauna Kea Observatories (at the summit)

 Rooms

Updated rooms are colorful, large and creatively planned

A view of the beach from the Deluxe Ocean View
A view of the beach from the Deluxe Ocean View

The rooms at the Mauna Kea are modern and bright, with touches of contemporary patterns to add to the modern island feel. The furniture design is well thought out, and allows for convenient use of space. The wall-length wood armoire/desk combination is particularly interesting, as it hides the TV, coffeemaker and other amenities, and is striking as a feature of the room itself. In the Deluxe and Executive rooms, the bathrooms are large, with their own private lanai, rain shower and large bathtub. The Plumeria rooms, while popular due to their convenient location and family-friendly connecting suites, include smaller and less comfortable bathrooms with simple shower/tub combos. All rooms include private lanais with comfortable patio furniture. The 258 rooms and suites are split between two sections of the hotel, with 158 in the main tower and 100 in the smaller Plumeria tower.

All Rooms Include:

Room Types:

  • Mountain View Room: 400 square feet with 189-square-foot lanai; shower/tub combo; view of the mountain and golf course; located on floors five to eight on the north end
  • Golf Vista Room: 615 square feet with 265-square-foot lanai; second private lanai; separate shower and tub; walk-in closets; view of the mountain and golf course; located on floors five to eight on the south end
  • Plumeria Beach Club Room: 457 square feet with 133-square-foot lanai; double sinks and shower/tub combo; view of the beach and ocean; located on floors one to four
  • Ocean View Room: 400 square feet with 189 square-foot lanai and shower/tub combo; ocean view; located on floors five to seven on the north end
  • Deluxe Ocean View Room: 615 square feet with 265-square-foot lanai; second private lanai; separate shower and tub; walk-in closets; ocean view; located on floors five to seven on the south end
  • 8th Floor Ocean: 414 square feet with 133-square-foot lanai; shower/tub combo; ocean view; located on the top floor of the main tower on the north end
  • 8th Floor Deluxe Ocean Room: 634 square feet with 270-square-foot lanai second private lanai; separate shower and tub; walk-in closets; a Bose stereo system; view of beach and ocean; located on the top floor of main tower on the south end
  • Plumeria Beach Club Poolside Jr. Suite: 545 square feet with 133 square-foot lanai; shower/tub combo and double vanities; Bose stereo system; sofa sleeper; espresso machine; view of pool and partial view of ocean; located poolside on floors three to four
  • Plumeria Beach Club Jr. Suite “00”: 545 square feet with 133-square-foot lanai; 294-square-foot entry room; shower/tub combo and double vanities; Bose stereo system; sofa bed and espresso machine; view of beach and ocean; located on floors one to four on the south end
  • Mountain View Suite Kohala: 986 square feet with 266-square-foot lanai; second private lanai; separate living area; master bathroom with separate shower and tub and double vanities; two 40-inch flat-screen TVs; Bose stereo system; espresso machine; view of Kohala Mountains and Kawaihae Harbor; room 841 on the top floor of the main tower, on the north end
  • Ocean View Suite Hualalai: 986 square feet with 266-square-foot lanai; second private lanai; separate living area; master bathroom with separate shower and tub and double vanities; two 40-inch flat-screen TVs; Bose stereo system; espresso machine; view of ocean; room 828 on the top floor of the main tower on the north end
  • Presidential Ocean Suite: 1,207 square feet with 403-square-foot lanai; two more lanais; separate living area; master bathroom with separate shower and tub and double vanities; dining area with a dining room table; sitting area with a sectional sofa; two 40-inch flat-screen TVs; Bose stereo system; espresso machine; view of beach and ocean; located on the top floor of the main tower

 Features

Excellent 18-hole golf course and tennis facilities

An overview of the acclaimed Mauna Kea Golf Course
An overview of the acclaimed Mauna Kea Golf Course

The Mauna Kea Golf Course designed by Robert Trent Jones Sr. is consistently voted one of the top courses in the nation. In addition, the full-service tennis facilities are superior to those at other resorts nearby.

The spa and pool, however, aren't quite as impressive as you'd expect. The spa is located in a cramped basement space; fortunately, spa treatments can be arranged in-room or in a seaside canopy instead. The pool is a tad small, but the ocean views and comfortable lounge chairs help make up for that.

  • Kauna‘oa white-sand beach
  • Fitness center is 2,500 square feet and has a full-time attendant and free yoga classes.
  • Mauna Kea Salon is open daily from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Mauna Kea Spa by Mandara is a full-service facility with five treatment rooms, including a couple’s suite, open daily from 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
  • 18-hole Mauna Kea Golf Course (with $225 guest rate for 18 holes)
  • Golf clubhouse with full-service Pro Shop featuring lessons, clinics and rental services
  • Seaside Tennis Club with 11 courts, locker rooms, equipment rentals, clinics and instruction services ($25 per person per day court fee, or $15 per person guest rate from 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.); open daily 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Boutique shopping and galleries on-site offering art, jewelry, clothing and gifts
  • Wedding services including planning assistance and packages with various venue and menu options
  • Weekly luau on Tuesdays: Imu Ceremony at 5:45 p.m. and a buffet from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
  • Activities on-site include water sports, manta ray viewing and regularly scheduled Hawaiian culture activities
  • Kids programs include Hawaiian arts and crafts, sandcastle building, hula dancing, T-shirt painting, beach scavenger hunts and movies; $85 per child for a full day and $50 for a half day
  • Meeting rooms (20- to 100-person capacity) and outdoor spaces for group functions
  • Ricoh Business Center has computer workstations, printing, copying, faxing and shipping services.
  • Pacific and Asian art collection includes over 1,600 pieces obtained by Rockefeller and Davis Allen in 1965
  • 24 hour room service
  • Valet and self-parking available
  • Wi-Fi for daily, weekly, or monthly fees
  • A free photo session (sitting fee plus one five-by-seven-inch print) is offered to all guests, with other photo services and prints available for an additional charge

 Food

Fine dining and drinks in unique coastal settings

Monettes Artisan Fish and Steak Restaurant, open for dinner Thursday through Monday, has been listed consistently as one of the top dining experiences on the Big Island. The fine dining menu includes an eclectic mix of dishes made from mainly local ingredients, and the restaurant has both indoor and outdoor seating.

Manta & Pavilion Wine Bar offers a daily breakfast and opens in the evenings five nights a week for dinner. The wine list is extensive, and the atmosphere is more casual than Monettes. The walls of Manta open to the ocean, giving an open-air feeling, with both indoor or outdoor seating available. On Saturdays, the restaurant hosts a clambake on the beach, and on Sundays, a special brunch buffet.

  • Number 3, located at the golf clubhouse, has short hours for lunch service (11 a.m. to 2 p.m.), and features a diverse menu of salads and light dishes. Beverage service is available from 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Copper Terrace serves pupus and cocktails in the evening; it's a popular place to watch the sun set, and fire pits and live music add ambiance.
  • Hau Tree, Beachside at Kauna‘oa serves lunch, dinner, snacks; fare includes salads, sandwiches and kid-friendly food.

 Bottom Line

This luxury property on the Kohala Coast is known for its beautiful white-sand beach, fine dining and world-class golf and tennis facilities. The atmosphere is relaxed and the thoughtfully renovated rooms have comfortable furnishings and a modern island feel. The hotel structure itself is less than grand, but in good shape for its age.

Things You Should Know About Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Address

  • 62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Room Types

  • 8th Floor Deluxe Ocean Room
  • 8th Floor Ocean Room
  • Deluxe Ocean View Room
  • Golf Vista Guest Room
  • Mountain View Guest Room
  • Mountain View Suite Kohala
  • Ocean View Room
  • Ocean View Suite Hualalai
  • Plumeria Beach Club Ground Floor Room
  • Plumeria Beach Club Jr. Suite "00"
  • Plumeria Beach Club Poolside Jr. Suite
  • Plumeria Beach Club Room
  • Presidential Ocean Suite

Find the Lowest Price - Enter Dates

Check-in
Check-out
Guests
  Compare rates on dozens of sites
 AVG/NIGHT 
Hotels.com  
Expedia.com  
Tingo.com  
Booking.com  
Travelocity  
Otel.com  
Priceline.com  
CheapTickets.com  

All About Oyster

You Can't Return a Bad Vacation.

Our special investigators visit, photograph, review and rate each hotel. We uncover the truth, before it's "uh-oh" time.

Go undercover with an Oyster Investigator The Today Show
Go Undercover with an Oyster Investigator
See 70 Videos of Oyster on TV

Nearby Hotels to Consider

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
The Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Mauna Lani Point
Hilton Waikoloa Village

Hotel Features

Number of Rooms: 258
Pool: Yes
Fitness Center: Yes
Spa: Yes
Internet Access: Yes
Cribs: Yes
Kids Club: Yes
View All

Hotel Information

Location: Big Island, Hawaii
Address: 62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743
(See Map)
Loading Live Rates
Loading...