Voir tous les hôtels à Placencia

Robert’s Grove Beach Resort 3.5

Placencia, Belize

Entrez vos dates et obtenez les meilleurs tarifs

Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com

Sommaire de l'évaluation

Photos et avis par

Pour

  • Belle plage sur la péninsule de Placencia
  • Trois piscines extérieures donnant sur la mer
  • Trois restaurants sous la direction d'un chef international
  • Jardin potager biologique qui alimente la station
  • Sports nautiques gratuits sur la plage et une jetée pour la baignade
  • Un magasin de plongée professionnel avec des certifications PADI et la location d'équipement
  • Un nombre impressionnant de visites de la flotte de bateaux de la station
  • Un spa et des salles de réunion
  • Wi-Fi gratuit et transferts aéroport

Inconvénients

  • Décor légèrement démodé; les chambres peuvent montrer l'usure
  • Pas à distance de marche de Placencia

Ce qu'il faut retenir

Le 52 chambres Robert's Grove Beach Resort est une propriété décontractée sur la péninsule de Placencia. La gamme d'équipements est vaste, y compris un magasin de plongée professionnel, la marina (des slips sont disponibles), spa , trois restaurants , trois piscines extérieures avec vue sur l'océan, et des visites à gogo d'une impressionnante flotte de bateaux. La jolie plage propose des sports nautiques gratuits. Vous pourrez également sauter au bout de la jetée de baignade ou prendre un verre au bar palapa . Les chambres ont des patios et un décor guatémaltèque et mexicain de base (certaines ont aussi une kitchenette). Une connexion Wi-Fi gratuite et des transferts aéroport sont proposés.

Prix Oyster

Vols pour ce voyage avec Skyscanner.com

Photos d'hôtels Oyster

Voir tous les 10 albums

Avis Hôtel Oyster

Lieu

Une ambiance décontractée et une concentration sur les activités nautiques

Comme les clients approchent Robert Grove, le chemin bifurque dans deux directions distinctes: une fourche mène à la marina (bordée de faux cactus lumineux) pour l'accès au centre de plongée et restaurant mexicain , l'autre mène à la station principale, où les logements et les trois piscines sont situées. Les terrains arborent de nombreux arbres ombragés (recherchez des iguanes dans les branches), ainsi qu'une grande cage à oiseaux abritant un perroquet. Le bâtiment abritant le petit hall et le restaurant en plein air Seaside , qui offre une vue directe sur la mer des Caraïbes, est le centre de la station.

Robert's Grove est une propriété de milieu de gamme, les clients ne doivent donc pas s'attendre au luxe. Il n'y a pas une ambiance de fête, mais il y a un air d'activité et de plaisir. Même pendant la basse saison - un moment où les autres stations se calment - Robert Grove a une foule décente.

Endroit

Une plage et un lagon sur la péninsule de Placencia, près de la piste d'atterrissage

Robert's Grove est situé le long de la péninsule de Placencia longue de 26 miles au sud-est du Belize . Il se trouve entre une véritable colonie de Garinagu et l'ancien village de pêcheurs créole de Placencia, qui abrite des restaurants et des boutiques. Ceux qui arrivent à l'aéroport international de Belize voudront organiser un vol domestique dans Placencia, où la station viendra vous chercher, gratuitement.

À l'est de la propriété est la mer des Caraïbes - la maison de la barrière de corail de Belize, un site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO (également la deuxième plus grande barrière de corail dans le monde). De l'autre côté de la station, à l'ouest, se trouve la lagune de Placencia. Le centre de plongée et Habanero Mexican Café & Bar sont situés ici, tout comme les bateaux de la station pour la plongée, la plongée et autres visites. Beaucoup d'activités terrestres peuvent être trouvées à la proximité de Victoria Peak et Maya Mountains.

  • 10 minutes à pied de la lagune de Placencia
  • 2 minutes en voiture du terminal de piste d'atterrissage de Placencia
  • 15 minutes en voiture du village de Placencia
  • 90 minutes en voiture de Dangriga
  • 2 heures de route de la rivière Monkey
  • 2,5 heures de route de Punta Gorda
  • 3 heures de route de Belize City

Chambres

Chambres basiques avec air conditionné et terrasses

Les types de chambres vont des Classic Vista Rooms aux villas de plusieurs chambres avec kitchenette. Toutes sont climatisées et présentent une décoration guatémaltèque et mexicaine avec des tissus colorés, des tapis et des œuvres d'art. Certains ont des vues directes ou partielles de l'océan. Toutes les chambres disposent d'un ventilateur de plafond, d'une terrasse privée, d'une télévision par câble / satellite à écran plat, d'une cafetière et d'un petit réfrigérateur.

Plage

Le sable blanc et doux et les vagues calmes en font une plage idéale pour tous les âges

Robert's Grove Resort est situé sur une longue bande de sable blanc entrecoupée de cocotiers, de chaises longues et de hamacs. Sports nautiques gratuits sont offerts, y compris les kayaks et Hobie Cats. La côte au large de la péninsule de Placencia jouit d'une eau peu profonde sur des centaines de mètres et les vagues sont calmes . la longue jetée de la station s'étend jusqu'à ce que les invités puissent sauter au-delà des algues qui peuvent s'accumuler près du rivage. Toutes les plages de Belize sont publiques, de sorte que les clients peuvent marcher dans les deux sens.

La station offre une bonne quantité de chaises de plage , et il y a beaucoup d'endroits pour déposer une serviette. Il y a trois piscines extérieures donnant sur la mer, ainsi.

Piscine

Trois piscines d'eau douce offrent une vue panoramique sur la mer des Caraïbes.

La station propose trois piscines d'eau douce bien entretenues qui sont rarement chanté, compte tenu qu'il n'y a que 52 chambres. La piscine la plus au nord de la station, située entre le lobby et le bar extérieur , dispose d'une caractéristique d'eau fraîche, avec l'eau qui coule des poutres de la pergola adjacente. Cette piscine dispose de chaises longues en bois rembourrées et se trouve à quelques minutes à pied de la zone de sports nautiques où vous pourrez utiliser les kayaks et les voiliers Hobie Cat.

La piscine rectangulaire à côté du restaurant principal semblait le moins bondé pendant ma visite, et a aussi la meilleure vue sur la jetée. L'option la plus méridionale - une petite piscine à débordement avec bar attenant - est magnifique lorsqu'elle est éclairée la nuit . Chaque piscine est une promenade facile à la zone principale de la station, où les clients peuvent trouver des salles de bains et des boissons, ainsi que les logements.

Spa

Un petit mais professionnel spa pour les ongles, les massages et les soins du corps.

Au-dessus du hall et du restaurant principal - et surplombant la piscine la plus au nord pour une vue exceptionnelle sur la station - est un spa décontracté sous un toit de chaume. Une gamme de soins pour les ongles , les massages et le corps peuvent être appréciés dans l'atmosphère tamisée (les chambres sont séparées par des rideaux) ou dans l'intimité d'une chambre.

Famille

Un complexe familial avec des villas spacieuses et des visites amusantes

Bien que la station ne se présente pas nécessairement comme telle, Robert Grove est une excellente option pour les familles de tous âges. Les logements ont jusqu'à trois chambres, et il y a un certain nombre de visites qui plaisent aux enfants, y compris la faune et les ruines mayas. Les conditions de baignade sont considérées comme sûres pour les jeunes, car l'eau est peu profonde près de la plage et les vagues sont calmes . Les enfants peuvent également profiter de la plongée et du kayak . Le restaurant Seaside est ouvert pour tous les repas et propose un menu séparé pour les enfants.

Nourriture

Trois options de restaurant de qualité

Robert's Grove dispose de trois restaurants de qualité qui utilisent des ingrédients frais provenant du potager biologique de l'hôtel.

Le restaurant Seaside est le centre de la station et offre une vue directe sur la mer des Caraïbes . Il sert trois repas par jour avec des saveurs des Caraïbes, d'Amérique latine et de la Méditerranée. L'ambiance devient romantique le soir lorsque l'ambiance décontractée est transformée par des bougies et des lumières LED colorées. Des dîners privés avec de la nourriture de bord de mer peuvent également être arrangés sur des terrasses d'invité , ou à divers endroits autour du recours. Le samedi soir, la cuisine du restaurant sert un buffet au bord de la piscine avec de la musique live.

De l'autre côté de la route, du côté de la lagune (face au port de plaisance), se trouve le restaurant Habanero , servant une cuisine mexicaine décontractée et des boissons dans une atmosphère amusante. Le restaurant donne sur les bateaux du complexe et constitue un endroit idéal pour admirer le coucher du soleil. Un dîner buffet mexicain est servi le mardi soir.

Le Sweet Mama's est un petit mais authentique restaurant servant une cuisine locale du Belize sur des tables de pique-nique colorées près du potager biologique .

Boissons

Une gamme de vin, de liqueur et de rhum local

Les deux restaurants principaux de la station, Seaside et Habanero , font face à l'eau (la mer et la lagune, respectivement), de sorte que les clients peuvent commander une gamme de boissons dans l'après-midi et le soir tout en admirant la vue. Des cocktails spéciaux sont servis tous les jours et des liqueurs de qualité supérieure peuvent être substituées. Le bord de mer propose une grande carte des vins pour accompagner la cuisine gastronomique, et les deux restaurants proposent du rhum et de la bière locaux. Il y a un bar palapa au bout de la jetée qui est idéal pour les événements spéciaux.

Services

Une marina, une boutique de cadeaux et une connexion Wi-Fi gratuite

  • Une marina sur le côté de la lagune de la propriété peut accueillir jusqu'à 30 navires.
  • Une salle de réception privée peut accueillir jusqu'à 70 personnes pour des réunions d'affaires et des réceptions.
  • Une boutique de cadeaux adjacente au hall vend des articles de toilette, des souvenirs et des vêtements.
  • Une connexion Wi-Fi gratuite dans tout l'établissement
  • La réception peut organiser des transferts aéroport et des visites guidées.

Activités physiques

Visites actives et sports nautiques

  • Le centre de plongée professionnel sur site - membre de PADI - fournit des équipements, des certifications et des formations pour la plongée sous-marine. La propre flotte de bateaux de la station contient des équipements de sécurité, et les membres du personnel sont formés en RCR et en premiers soins.
  • Une gamme de visites actives et excursions d'une journée peuvent être organisées par le complexe, y compris la plongée en apnée, canoë, pêche à la mouche, l'équitation et la randonnée dans les montagnes à proximité
  • Des sports nautiques gratuits sont proposés à l'extrémité nord de la plage, tels que les kayaks, les voiliers Hobie Cat, les véliplanchistes et les pédalos.
  • Croiseurs de vélo gratuits

Romances et lunes de miel

Un cadre de plage romantique

Ce centre de villégiature décontracté peut attirer les familles, mais c'est aussi génial pour les couples. La nuit, le complexe devient atmosphérique lorsque les piscines sont éclairées par des LED . Des bougies scintillent dans les restaurants et des cocotiers sur la plage sont éclairés par des cordes. Les couples peuvent échapper à la scène familiale au bord de la mer et profiter d'un verre avant ou après le dîner au bout de la jetée , ou demander la livraison de repas à leur terrasse privée . Le spa sur place peut également organiser des massages en couple.

Mariages

Une gamme de forfaits de mariage et de lieux pittoresques pour échanger des vœux

Robert's Grove a tenu sa juste part des mariages de destination dans le passé, et le personnel est compétent dans ce domaine. La flexibilité est la clé - ils peuvent accueillir des groupes de deux personnes seulement, et jusqu'à 100 pour des dîners assis. Les zones scéniques pour la cérémonie incluent la plage, les piscines, ou la marina , alors que les réceptions peuvent être tenues à l'un des restaurants , à la fin de la jetée , ou dans l'espace d'événement privé.

Histoire

La station a commencé comme une maison de plage et a évolué en une station de 52 chambres.

Les natifs de New York, Bob et Risa Frackman, ont acheté une partie retirée de la péninsule de Placencia en 1994 afin de construire leur maison de rêve sur la plage. Avant qu'ils le sachent, ils construisaient une maison d'hôtes pour des amis en visite à New York, puis d'autres unités suivaient jusqu'à ce qu'un centre de villégiature émerge. Sans aucune expérience préalable de l'hôtel, les Frackman exploitaient 52 chambres, trois piscines, deux restaurants et une marina . Risa était également l'éditeur fondateur de la version locale de Placencia Breeze.

En 2011, Bob (maintenant au milieu des années 80) et Risa ont décidé qu'il était temps de vendre et de prendre sa retraite. Après avoir évalué de nombreux acheteurs potentiels, ils ont décidé de vendre à Jean-Marc Tasse et Michael Kramer, hôteliers de renom à Placencia. Jean-Marc et Michael ont juré de garder intacte l'ambiance amusante et amicale de la station, et les propriétaires précédents les y tiendront. Bob et Risa conservent un condo en bord de mer à Robert's Grove, de sorte qu'ils continueront à faire partie de la famille.

Sécurité

Le complexe est situé dans un quartier pittoresque et sécurisé de la péninsule de Placencia, à quelques minutes en voiture du village.

Le Belize est une nation pacifique et amicale avec moins de 400 000 habitants. Le complexe est situé le long du côté est de la péninsule de Placencia (à environ 15 minutes en voiture du village), et est considéré comme sûr. Aucune vaccination n'est requise par le gouvernement du Belize, mais c'est une bonne idée de vérifier auprès de votre médecin de voyage local pour un avis médical avant de voyager dans la région.

Les clients qui ont regardé Robert’s Grove Beach Resort ont aussi regardé

Ce que vous devez savoir à propos de cet Robert’s Grove Beach Resort

Adresse

Placencia Rd, Placencia, Stann Creek, Belize

Téléphone

1 (800) 565-9757

Types de chambre

  • 2 Bedroom Villa
  • Classic Vista Room
  • Family Classic Villa
  • One Bedroom Villa
  • Three Bedroom Villa

Aimez-nous sur Facebook ! Vous serez heureux de l'avoir fait

Robert’s Grove Beach Resort Rating: 3.5 Pearls
Placencia, Belize

Oyster Review Summary

Photos and Review by Oyster.com Investigators

Pros

  • Beautiful beach setting on Placencia Peninsula
  • A range of room types, including cabanas on 2 small private islands
  • 3 outdoor pools overlooking the sea
  • 3 restaurants under the direction of an international chef
  • Organic vegetable garden that supplies the resort
  • Free water sports on the beach and a pier for swimming
  • A professional dive shop with PADI certifications and equipment rentals
  • An impressive array of tours from the resort's fleet of boats
  • A spa, meeting facilities, tennis court, and fitness center
  • Free Wi-Fi and airport transfers

Cons

  • Slightly outdated decor; rooms may show wear and tear
  • Tennis court needs some repairs
  • Not walking distance to Placencia

Bottom Line

This laid-back, 52-room property has rooms on both Placencia Peninsula and two small private islands. The range of amenities is extensive, including a professional dive shop, marina (slips are available), spa, three restaurants, three outdoor ocean-view pools, and tours galore from an impressive fleet of boats. The pretty beach offers free water sports; guests can also jump off the end of the swimming pier or grab drinks at the palapa bar. The rooms have patios and basic Guatemalan- and Mexican-inspired decor (some also have kitchenettes). Free Wi-Fi and airport transfers are offered.

Oyster Awards

We investigate in person.
Like your mother-in-law.

Categories

, , , ,

Oyster Hotel Photos

View All 10 Albums

Oyster Hotel Review

 Scene

A laid-back vibe and a concentration on water activities

As guests approach Robert's Grove, the path forks in two separate directions: one fork leads to the marina (lined with bright faux cacti) for access to the dive center and Mexican-themed restaurant, the other leads to the main resort, where the accommodations and the three pools are located. The grounds feature plenty of shady trees (look for iguanas in the branches), as well as a large bird cage housing a parrot. The building housing the small lobby and the open-air Seaside Restaurant, which has direct views of the Caribbean Sea, is the hub of the resort.

Robert's Grove is a mid-range property, so guests shouldn't expect luxury. There's not a party atmosphere, but there is an air of activity and fun. Even during low-season -- a time when other resorts quiet down -- Robert's Grove has a decent crowd.

Honeymooners may want to consider staying on one of the two private islands for more seclusion, as the main resort and accommodations are perhaps better suited for families and groups.

After several years under the helm of a New York couple, Robert's Grove changed hands in 2011, but the resort has maintained its laid-back vibe.

 Location

A beach and lagoon location on Placencia Peninsula, near the airstrip

Robert's Grove is located along the 26-mile long Placencia Peninsula in southeastern Belize. It sits between a true Garinagu settlement and the former Creole fishing village of Placencia, which features restaurants and shops. Those arriving to Belize International Airport will want to arrange a domestic flight into Placencia, where the resort will pick you up, free of charge.

To the east of the property is the Caribbean Sea -- home of the Belize Barrier Reef, a UNESCO World Heritage site (also the second largest barrier reef in the world). On the other side of the resort, to the west, is the Placencia Lagoon. The dive center and Habanero Mexican Café & Bar are located here, as are the resort boats for diving, snorkeling and other tours. Plenty of land activities can be found at the nearby Victoria Peak and Maya Mountains.

  • 10-minute walk to Placencia Lagoon
  • 2-minute drive to the Placencia Airstrip Terminal
  • 15-minute drive to the village of Placencia
  • 90-minute drive to Dangriga
  • 2-hour drive to Monkey River
  • 2.5-hour drive to Punta Gorda
  • 3-hour drive to Belize City

 Rooms

Basic rooms with terraces located on the peninsula, or unplugged rooms on two private islands

The air-conditioned rooms on the peninsula have Guatemalan and Mexican decor featuring colorful fabrics, rugs and artwork. Some have direct or partial views of the ocean. Rooms are kept clean and improvements are continually being made, including in technologies and appliances. Room types range from the Classic Vista Rooms to the multi-bedroom villas with kitchenettes.

All peninsula rooms include the following:

  • Air-conditioning and ceiling fans
  • Private terraces
  • 36-inch flat-screen TVs with cable/satellite
  • Coffeemakers and small refrigerators
  • iHome alarm clock and docking station

The two small private islands owned by the resort offer secluded, unplugged accommodations that are great for honeymooners or sports enthusiasts. There are four cabanas on Robert's Caye, and three cabanas on Ranguana Caye. Guests come to the islands to get closer with nature, as there are no TV, phones or Wi-Fi in either location. Boat transfers and all-inclusive food packages for the two islands are available.

 Beach

Soft white sand and calm waves make this a great beach for of all ages

Roberts Grove resort is situated on a long stretch of white sand interspersed with coconut palms, lounge chairs, and hammocks. Free water sports are offered, including kayaks and Hobie Cats. The coast off of Placencia Peninsula enjoys shallow water for hundreds of feet, and waves are calm; the resort's long pier extends out so that guests can jump in past the seaweed that can accumulate near the shore. All beaches in Belize are public, so guests can walk in either direction.

The resort offers a good amount of beach chairs, and there are plenty of places to lay down a towel. There are three outdoor pools overlooking the sea, as well.

 Pool

Three freshwater pools offer scenic views of the Caribbean Sea.

The resort offers three well-maintained freshwater pools which are rarely crowed, considering there are only 52 rooms. The resort's northernmost pool, located between the lobby and outdoor bar area, has a cool water feature, with water streaming from the beams of the adjacent pergola. This pool offers cushioned wooden loungers, and is a short walk to the water sports area where guests can use the kayaks and Hobie Cat sailboats.

The middle rectangular pool next to the main restaurant seemed the least crowded during my visit, and also has the best view of the pier. The southernmost option -- a small infinity pool with attached bar -- is beautiful when lit up at night. Each pool is an easy walk to the main area of the resort, where guests can find bathrooms and beverages, as well as the accommodations.

 Spa

A small but professional spa for nail, massage, and body treatments.

Above the lobby and main restaurant -- and overlooking the northernmost pool for outstanding views of the resort -- is a casual spa under a thatched roof. A range of nail, massage, and body treatments can be enjoyed in the low-lit atmosphere (rooms are separated by curtains), or in the privacy of a guestroom.

 Family

A family-friendly resort with spacious villas and fun tours

Though the resort does not necessarily advertise itself as such, Robert's Grove is a great option for families of all ages. Accommodations have up to three bedrooms, and there are a number of tours that appeal to kids, including wildlife and Mayan ruin trips. Swimming conditions are considered safe for young ones, since the water is shallow near the beach and waves are calm. Kids may also enjoy snorkeling and kayaking. Seaside Restaurant is open for all meals and offers a separate children's menu.

 Food

Three restaurant options on the peninsula and all-inclusive packages available on the two private islands.

Robert's Grove has three quality restaurants, which use fresh ingredients from the hotel's on-site organic vegetable garden.

Seaside Restaurant is the hub of the resort and has a direct open-air view of the Caribbean Sea. It serves three-meals daily with Caribbean, Latin American, and Mediterranean flavors. The mood becomes romantic in the evenings when the casual ambiance is transformed with candles and colorful LED lights. Private dinners with food from Seaside can also be arranged on guest terraces, or at various spots around the resort. On Saturday nights, the restaurant kitchen serves a buffet Poolside Barbecue with live music.

Across the road, on the lagoon side (facing the marina), is Habanero Restaurant, serving casual Mexican cuisine and drinks in a fun atmosphere. The restaurant overlooks the resort's boats, and is a great spot to catch the sunset. A Mexican buffet dinner is served Tuesday nights.

  • Sweet Mama's is a small but authentic restaurant serving local Belizean cuisine atop colorful picnic tables near the organic vegetable garden.
  • The resort owns and operates two private islands, which each have their own small restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Meals can be served on guests' private cabana terraces, as well. There is an all-inclusive package for the two island options.

 Drinks

A range of wine, liquor and local rum

The resort's two main restaurants, Seaside and Habanero, both face the water (sea and lagoon, respectively), so guests can order a range of drinks in the afternoons and evenings while enjoying the views. Specialty cocktails are served daily, and top-shelf liquors can be substituted. Seaside offers an extensive wine list to accompany the gourmet cuisine, and both restaurants feature local rum and beer. There is a breezy palapa bar at the end of the pier that is ideal for special events.

The private islands offer an all-inclusive option, which includes local rum, beer, and non-alcoholic beverages. Imported labels can be ordered for an additional fee.

 Services

A marina, a gift shop, and free Wi-Fi

  • A marina on the lagoon side of the property can accommodate up to 30 vessels.
  • A private function room can accommodate up to 70 people for business meetings and functions.
  • A gift shop adjacent to the lobby sells toiletries, souvenirs, and apparel.
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the resort
  • The front desk can arrange airport transfers taxis and tours.

 Physical Activities

Active tours, water sports, a tennis court, and one of the few fitness centers in Placencia

  • The on-site professional dive center -- a member of PADI -- provides equipment, certifications, and training for scuba diving. The resort's own fleet of boats contain safety equipment, and staff members are trained in CPR and first aid.
  • A range of active tours and day trips can be arranged through the resort, including snorkeling, canoeing, fly fishing, horseback riding, and hiking in the nearby mountains
  • Free waters sports are provided on the northern end of the beach, such as kayaks, Hobie Cat sailboats, wind surfers and paddleboats.
  • Free bike cruisers
  • There is a tennis court on the property, but it does need some repairs.
  • A small fitness center is located next to the tennis court, and provides an air-conditioned environment for working out.

 Romance and Honeymoons

A romantic beach setting and secluded accommodations on two private islands

This casual resort may attract families, but it's great for couples, too. At night, the resort turns atmospheric when the pools are lit with LED lights. Candles flicker in the restaurants and coconut palms on the beach are strung with rope lighting. Couples can escape the family scene at Seaside and enjoy a pre- or post-dinner drink at the end of the pier, or ask for meal delivery to their private terrace. The on-site spa can arrange couples massages, as well.

There are two private islands, with only a few cabanas each, and these tend to attract couples who are looking for peace and quiet. Robert's Grove offers special honeymoon packages.

 Weddings

A range of wedding packages and scenic spots to exchange vows

Robert's Grove has held its fair share of destination weddings in the past, and the staff is knowledgeable in this area. Flexibility is key -- they can accommodate groups with as few as two people, and as many as 100 for sit-down dinners. Scenic areas for the ceremony include the beach, pools, or marina, while receptions can be held at one of the restaurants, at the end of the pier, or in the private event space. For smaller wedding parties, the private islands are also an option.

 History

The resort started as a beach home and evolved into a 52-room resort.

New York natives Bob and Risa Frackman bought a secluded stretch of the Placencia Peninsula in 1994 in order to build their dream beach home. Before they knew it, they were building a guest home for friends visiting from New York, and then more units followed until a resort emerged. Without any prior hotel experience, the Frackman's were operating 52 rooms, three swimming pools, two restaurants, and a marina. Risa was also the founding editor of the local Placencia Breeze.

In 2011, Bob (now in his mid-80s) and Risa decided it was time to sell and retire. After evaluating many potential buyers, they decided to sell to Jean-Marc Tasse and Michael Kramer, well-known hoteliers in Placencia. Jean-Marc and Michael have vowed to keep the resort's fun and friendly vibe in tact, and the previous owners will hold them to it. Bob and Risa retain a beachfront condo at Robert's Grove, so they will continue to be a part of the family.

 Safety

The resort is located in a safe and scenic area of Placencia Peninsula, within driving distance to the village.

Belize is a peaceful and friendly nation with fewer than 400,000 residents. The resort is located along the eastern side of the Placencia Peninsula (about a 15-minute drive from the village), and is considered safe. No inoculations are required by the Government of Belize, but it's a good idea to check with your local travel doctor for medical advice prior to traveling in the region.

 Bottom Line

This laid-back, 52-room property has rooms on both Placencia Peninsula and two small private islands. The range of amenities is extensive, including a professional dive shop, marina (slips are available), spa, three restaurants, three outdoor ocean-view pools, and tours galore from an impressive fleet of boats. The pretty beach offers free water sports; guests can also jump off the end of the swimming pier or grab drinks at the palapa bar. The rooms have patios and basic Guatemalan- and Mexican-inspired decor (some also have kitchenettes). Free Wi-Fi and airport transfers are offered.

Things You Should Know About Robert’s Grove Beach Resort

Address

  • Placencia, Belize, Central America

Room Types

  • 2 Bedroom Villa
  • Classic Vista Room
  • Family Classic Villa
  • One Bedroom Villa
  • Three Bedroom Villa

Enter dates for best prices

Check-in
Check-out
Guests
 AVG/NIGHT 
Hotels.com  
Expedia.com  
Tingo.com  
Booking.com  
Travelocity  
Otel.com  
Priceline.com  
CheapTickets.com  

All About Oyster

You Can't Return a Bad Vacation.

Our special investigators visit, photograph, review and rate each hotel. We uncover the truth, before it's "uh-oh" time.

Go undercover with an Oyster Investigator The Today Show
Go Undercover with an Oyster Investigator
See 56 Videos of Oyster on TV

Nearby Hotels to Consider

Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
Placencia, Belize
Rating: 40 Pearls

Distance: 2.2 mi
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
Placencia, Belize
Rating: 45 Pearls

Distance: 2.2 mi
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
Cayo District, Belize
Rating: 40 Pearls

Distance: 51.2 mi
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
Cayo District, Belize
Rating: 30 Pearls

Distance: 52.4 mi

Hotel Features

Number of Rooms: 52
Pool: Yes
Fitness Center: Yes
Spa: Yes
Internet: Yes
Pets Allowed: Yes
Cribs: Yes
View All

Hotel Information

Location: Placencia, Belize
Address: Placencia, Belize, Central America
(See Map)
Loading Live Rates
Loading...