Voir tous les hôtels à Orange Walk

Chan Chich Lodge 4.0

Orange Walk , Belize

Entrez vos dates et obtenez les meilleurs tarifs

Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com

Sommaire de l'évaluation

Photos et avis par

Pour

  • Rustique-luxe, au toit de chaume cabanes avec privés ponts
  • Belle, emplacement distant sur une réserve forestière privée à Orange Walk
  • Projeté dans la piscine avec jacuzzi
  • Restaurant servant une savoureuse cuisine internationale pour trois repas par jour; plan de repas disponibles
  • Promenades guidées des ruines mayas sur place, les plantes médicinales, et plus
  • 9 miles de sentiers de randonnée

Inconvénients

  • Pas de télévision (un pro pour certains!)
  • Les tarifs des chambres cher
  • Pas facile de se rendre à moins que vous survolez

Ce qu'il faut retenir

Quand il vient à élégant lodges, Chan Chich est la vraie affaire. Niché dans le coin reculé du nord-ouest du Belize, le lodge est situé sur une réserve naturelle privée située dans le 130 000-acre Gallon Jug Estate. Hébergement se composent de 12 rustique de charme aux toits de chaume mais confortables cabines et une villa de deux chambres Situé au cœur des terres d'un ancien ruine Maya. Nature tient à votre porte, tout comme la randonnée phénoménale et les possibilités d'observation des oiseaux. Les équipements modernes comprennent une cuisine exceptionnelle à un restaurant de à la fois avec salle intérieure et extérieure, cocktails dans le thème tropical bar et une moustiquaire, piscine avec jacuzzi .

Prix Oyster

Vols pour ce voyage avec Skyscanner.com

Photos d'hôtels Oyster

Avis Hôtel Oyster

Lieu

Une jungle lodge élégant dans un coin reculé du Belize, au beau milieu de la forêt tropicale

Il est difficile de trouver un endroit qui est si éloigné et conserve autant d'éléments de la civilisation encore. Si vous prenez l'avion pour la piste d'atterrissage à Gallon Jug Estate, vous vous rendrez vite compte que cet endroit est littéralement au milieu de nulle part. Si vous passez par là, vous verrez la progression de collines déboisées et connectés à un écosystème de forêt tropicale très bien conservé. Le pavillon lui-même, tout en charme rustique, est plus apprivoisé que les zones en dehors de la succession - mais la sauvagerie de la jungle est toujours à portée de main. Le cerf de Virginie et ocellé Dindes jambe nonchalamment le long des motifs par le bord de la route, comme si placé là au bon moment pour l'arrivée des clients. Un grand tableau dans le pavillon principal témoigne de la variété des observations de la faune, qui couvre toute la gamme de toucans à jaguars.

Parlant du pavillon principal , il est un toit de chaume, structure en bois face beau construit avec bois durs locaux réunis quand la jungle a été autorisé à construire le pavillon à la fin des années 1980. La superficie occupée par la loge se trouve littéralement sur la place d'une ancienne cité Maya, Chan Chich (ce qui signifie "Little Bird"). Une partie du site est légèrement creusé, et vous pouvez admirer, par exemple, à des tranchées de pillard. Le pavillon principal abrite le restaurant de , avec salles à manger intérieure et extérieure; la réception ; boutique de cadeaux ; et un endroit frais bar avec ronronnement des ventilateurs de plafond. Les cabanes sont construites de la même façon, et se trouvent répartis dans un fer à cheval sur les motifs merveilleusement tropicales et bien entretenus. Temples mayas antiques, envahies vraiment collines herbeuses juste au premier coup d'œil, se trouvent intercalés.

Aussi sur le terrain est la moustiquaire, piscine . La projection dans un sens, comme la litière de feuilles tombe constamment des arbres environnants, et il maintient hors bestioles de cafards serpents corail.

Endroit

Un départ de Belize Ville ou un lecteur de 3,5 heures, 30 minutes en partie sur des chemins de terre défoncées

Il est pas facile de se rendre à Chan Chich, ce qui explique pourquoi la plupart des visiteurs préfèrent se rendre à la piste d'atterrissage privée dans Gallon Jug Estate, à environ 15 minutes du pavillon lui-même. De l'autoroute de l'Ouest leader de Belize City à la frontière guatémaltèque, un turn-off près de la ville de San Ignacio mène chemins forestiers privés à la loge. L'accès est seulement avec l'approbation préalable.

Le Gallon Jug Estate est à Orange Walk le quartier de Belize dans la partie nord-ouest du pays. Le pavillon lui-même est construit sur la place d'une ancienne ville maya, les restes en preuve la plupart des temples comme envahis.

  • 15 minutes en voiture de Gallon Jug immobilière piste
  • 90 minutes en voiture de San Ignacio
  • 90 minutes de route des ruines mayas de Lamanai
  • 90 minutes de route des ruines mayas Xunantunich
  • 2 heures de route de la frontière du Guatemala
  • 3-et-une demi-heure de route de l'aéroport international SW Phillip Goldson
  • 30 minutes de vol pour Belize City

Chambres

Luxe rustique, avec des meubles en rotin et de la construction en bois

Les chambres de Chan Chich sont jungle haut de gamme cabanes . Ils sont construits sur des plateformes élevées, et ressemblent à des cabanes de l'extérieur. Ils disposent de magnifiques bois enveloppants ponts avec des hamacs, des chaises et des chaises longues. A l'intérieur, ils ont de hauts plafonds, visibles au toit de chaume, moustiquaire fenêtres de tous les côtés pour laisser entrer la brise, et des murs en bois . Plantation volets sur trois côtés de la pièce peuvent être fermées pour plus d'intimité. Les lits se trouvent sur ​​les quais et se sentent un peu sur le côté dur. Chan Chich est l'un des rares loges jungle du Belize où vous ne trouvez pas textiles guatémaltèques en preuve dans le décor de la pièce.

Les salles de bain disposent d'une cabine sentent à eux, sans carreaux en preuve. Tout, depuis la cabine de douche à la vanité est fait de bois, sauf pour l'évier.

  • Bois enveloppants patios avec des hamacs et mobilier d'extérieur
  • Un peu dur lits
  • Les ventilateurs de plafond
  • Walk-in bois douches
  • Minibar et une cafetière
  • Sèche-cheveux
  • Pas dans la chambre TV
  • Pas de climatisation
  • La Villa dispose d'un décor plus moderne, et d'un espace de salon avec des canapés.
  • Mise à niveau à un Cabana Deluxe à partir d'un régulière Cabana vous obtient un lit king et deux lavabos en salle de bains.

Attractions

Projeté dans la piscine avec jacuzzi, de nombreuses activités de plein air et un refroidissement boutique de cadeaux

  • Projeté dans une piscine dans une cour entourée de végétation luxuriante, et un jacuzzi avec chutes de pierre
  • Boutique de souvenirs avec bibelots Belize
  • écuries et des balades à
  • Neuf miles de sentiers de randonnée
  • Ruines mayas sur place, et une promenade archéologique guidée disponible
  • Sur le site guides conduisent un certain nombre de promenades, y compris une promenade d'observation des oiseaux, marche de l'usine de médecine, et la nuit à pied (pour voir les espèces nocturnes tels que les grenouilles arboricoles)
  • Tours des ruines mayas de Lamanai et Xunantunich peuvent être organisés par l'hôtel.
  • Canoë-kayak et la pêche dans les environs de la lagune
  • Voir la liste complète des équipements

Nourriture

Une délicieuse cuisine internationale préparée avec des ingrédients frais

  • Le Restaurant sert une cuisine internationale pour le petit déjeuner, le déjeuner et le dîner dans une salle à manger moustiquaire ou d'un patio extérieur donnant sur ​​le parc. Un plan de repas quotidien peut être ajouté au prix de la chambre.
  • Bar sur une terrasse extérieure de la loge principale avec des meubles en rotin et ronronnement des ventilateurs de plafond

Les clients qui ont regardé Chan Chich Lodge ont aussi regardé

Ce que vous devez savoir à propos de cet Chan Chich Lodge

Adresse

Gallon Jug, Wamil, Orange Walk, Belize

Téléphone

(501) 223-4419

Types de chambre

  • Deluxe Cabana
  • Regular Cabana
  • Two-Bedroom Villa

Aimez-nous sur Facebook et passez les plus belles vacances de votre vie

Chan Chich Lodge Rating: 4.0 Pearls
Orange Walk, Belize

Oyster Review Summary

Photos and Review by Oyster.com Investigators

Pros

  • Rustic-luxe, thatched-roof cabanas with private decks
  • Beautiful, remote location on a private forest reserve in Orange Walk
  • Screened-in swimming pool with Jacuzzi
  • Restaurant serving tasty international cuisine for three meals a day; meal plan available
  • Guided walks of the on-site Mayan ruins, medicine plants, and more
  • 9 miles of hiking trails

Cons

  • No TV (a pro for some!)
  • Pricey room rates
  • Not easy to get to unless you fly

Bottom Line

When it comes to stylish jungle lodges, Chan Chich is the real deal. Nestled in the remote northwestern corner of Belize, the lodge sits on a private nature reserve located within the 130,000-acre Gallon Jug Estate. Accommodations consist of 12 rustically charming yet comfortable thatched-roof cabanas and one two-bedroom villa set amid the grounds of an ancient Maya ruin. Nature lies at your doorstep, as do phenomenal hiking and bird watching opportunities. Modern comforts include outstanding cuisine at a restaurant with both indoor and outdoor seating, cocktails in the tropical-themed bar, and a screened-in swimming pool with Jacuzzi.

Oyster Awards

We investigate in person.
Like your mother-in-law.

Categories

, , ,

Oyster Hotel Photos

Customers Who Viewed Chan Chich Lodge Also Viewed

Turtle Inn
50% viewed
Turtle Inn
Placencia, Belize

Oyster Hotel Review

 Scene

A stylish jungle lodge in a remote corner of Belize, right smack in the middle of the rainforest

Grounds at the Lodge
Grounds at the Lodge

It’s hard to find a place that’s so remote and yet retains so many elements of civilization. If you fly in to the airstrip at Gallon Jug Estate, you’ll soon realize this place is literally out in the middle of nowhere. If you drive here, you’ll see the progression from deforested and logged hillsides to a very well-preserved rainforest ecosystem. The lodge itself, while charmingly rustic, is more tamed than areas outside the estate -- but the wildness of jungle is still close at hand. White-tailed deer and Ocellated Turkeys strut carelessly along the grounds by the roadside, as if placed there on cue for guests’ arrival. A large chalkboard in the main lodge attests to the variety of wildlife sightings, which runs the gamut from toucans to jaguars.

Speaking of the main lodge, it’s a handsome, thatched-roof, wooden-sided structure built with local hardwoods gathered when the jungle was cleared out to build the lodge back in the late 1980s. The area occupied by the lodge literally sits in the plaza of an ancient Maya city, Chan Chich (meaning "Little Bird"). Part of the site is lightly excavated, and you can marvel, for example, at looter’s trenches. The main lodge houses the restaurant, with indoor and outdoor dining areas; the front desk; gift shop; and a cool bar with whirring ceiling fans. The cabanas are built in similar fashion, and lie spread out in a horseshoe-shape on the wonderfully tropical and well-manicured grounds. Ancient overgrown Maya temples, really just grassy hills at first glance, lie interspersed.

Also on the grounds is the screened-in swimming pool. The screening-in makes sense, as leaf litter constantly falls from the surrounding trees, and it keeps out critters from cockroaches to coral snakes.

 Location

A 30-minute flight from Belize City or a 3.5-hour drive, partially on rutted dirt roads

It’s not easy to get to Chan Chich, which is why most visitors prefer to fly to the private airstrip in Gallon Jug Estate, about 15 minutes from the lodge itself. From the Western Highway leading from Belize City to the Guatemalan border, a turn-off near the town of San Ignacio leads down private logging roads to the lodge. Access is with prior approval only.

The Gallon Jug Estate is in Belize's Orange Walk district in the northwestern part of the country. The lodge itself is built on the plaza of an ancient Maya city, the remains in evidence mostly as overgrown temples.

  • 15-minute drive to Gallon Jug Estate airstrip
  • 90-minute drive to San Ignacio
  • 90-minute drive to Lamanai Maya ruins
  • 90-minute drive to Xunantunich Maya ruins
  • 2-hour drive to Guatemala border
  • 3-and-a-half-hour drive to Phillip S.W. Goldson International Airport
  • 30-minute flight to Belize City

 Rooms

Rustic luxe, with rattan furniture and wood construction

Beds in the Cabana
Beds in the Cabana

The rooms at Chan Chich are high-end jungle cabanas. They are built on elevated platforms, and look like huts from the outside. They feature wonderful wraparound wooden decks with hammocks, chairs and chaise lounges. Inside, they have high, visible thatched-roof ceilings, screened-in windows on all sides to let in the cooling breezes, and wood walls. Plantation shutters on three sides of the room can be closed for greater privacy. The beds lie on platforms and feel slightly on the hard side. Chan Chich is one of the few jungle lodges in Belize where you won’t find Guatemalan textiles in evidence in the room decor.

Bathrooms have a cabin feel to them, with no tile in evidence. Everything from the shower stall to the vanity is made of wood, save for the sink.

  • Wraparound wooden patios with hammocks and outdoor furniture
  • Slightly hard beds
  • Ceiling fans
  • Walk-in wooden showers
  • Minibars and coffeemakers
  • Hairdryers
  • No in-room TV
  • No air-conditioning
  • The Villa features more modern decor, and a living room area with couches.
  • Upgrading to a Deluxe Cabana from a regular Cabana gets you a king bed and two sinks in bathroom.

 Features

Screened-in swimming pool with Jacuzzi, lots of outdoor activities, and a cool gift shop

Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi
  • Screened-in swimming pool in a courtyard surrounded by lush foliage, and a Jacuzzi with stone waterfall feature
  • Gift shop with Belizean knickknacks
  • Horse stables and riding tours
  • Nine miles of hiking trails
  • Mayan ruins on-site, and a guided archaeological walk available
  • On-site guides lead a number of walks, including a birding walk, medicine plant walk, and night walk (to see nocturnal species such as tree frogs)
  • Tours of the Mayan ruins at Lamanai and Xunantunich can be arranged through the hotel.
  • Canoeing and fishing in nearby lagoon
  • View full list of amenities

 Food

Delicious international cuisine prepared using fresh ingredients

Bar
Bar
  • The restaurant serves international cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner in a screened-in dining room or outside patio overlooking the grounds. A daily meal plan can be added to the room rate.
  • Bar on an outdoor deck of the main lodge with rattan furniture and whirring ceiling fans

 Bottom Line

When it comes to stylish jungle lodges, Chan Chich is the real deal. Nestled in the remote northwestern corner of Belize, the lodge sits on a private nature reserve located within the 130,000-acre Gallon Jug Estate. Accommodations consist of 12 rustically charming yet comfortable thatched-roof cabanas and one two-bedroom villa set amid the grounds of an ancient Maya ruin. Nature lies at your doorstep, as do phenomenal hiking and bird watching opportunities. Modern comforts include outstanding cuisine at a restaurant with both indoor and outdoor seating, cocktails in the tropical-themed bar, and a screened-in swimming pool with Jacuzzi.

Things You Should Know About Chan Chich Lodge

Address

  • Chan Chich Road, Orange Walk, Belize, Central America

Room Types

  • Deluxe Cabana
  • Regular Cabana
  • Two-Bedroom Villa

Find the Lowest Price - Enter Dates

Check-in
Check-out
Guests
 AVG/NIGHT 
Hotels.com  
Expedia.com  
Tingo.com  
Booking.com  
Travelocity  
Otel.com  
Priceline.com  
CheapTickets.com  

All About Oyster

You Can't Return a Bad Vacation.

Our special investigators visit, photograph, review and rate each hotel. We uncover the truth, before it's "uh-oh" time.

Go undercover with an Oyster Investigator The Today Show
Go Undercover with an Oyster Investigator
See 56 Videos of Oyster on TV

Nearby Hotels to Consider

The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Pook's Hill Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
Grand Caribe Belize
  • Grand Caribe Belize
  • North Ambergris Caye, Ambergris Caye
  • Rating: 40 Pearls
  • Distance: 79.2 mi

Hotel Features

Number of Rooms: 12
Pool: N/A
Cribs: Yes
Jacuzzi (in room): N/A
View All

Hotel Information

Location: Orange Walk, Belize
Address: Chan Chich Road, Orange Walk, Belize, Central America
(See Map)
Loading Live Rates
Loading...