Voir tous les hôtels à South Beach

Essex House Hotel 3.5

South Beach, Miami, Floride

Entrez vos dates et obtenez les meilleurs tarifs

Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com

Sommaire de l'évaluation

Photos et avis par

Pour

  • Situé dans le centre de South Beach
  • Personnel aimable et arrangeant
  • Plage juste en face
  • Petit-déjeuner gratuit et happy hour
  • Piscine dans un joli jardin tropical
  • Restaurant et bar sur place
  • Superbe hall d'entrée de style vintage
  • Accès à l'hôtel jumeau situé juste à côté
  • Accès Wi-Fi gratuit

Inconvénients

  • Petites chambres au décor un peu morne
  • Bruit provenant des autres chambres et de l'hôtel voisin
  • Pas de vue sur l'océan
  • Pas de salle de remise en forme
  • Hall d'entrée régulièrement envahi par des groupes de touristes en visite guidée

Ce qu'il faut retenir

L'hôtel Essex House (80 chambres) est un bastion de l'architecture et de la décoration de style Art Déco, à tel point qu'on peut souvent y voir des groupes de touristes en visite guidée traînant dans le hall d'entrée. Et ce n'est pas la seule source de vacarme qui vient perturber cette soi-disant « oasis de calme » Les fêtes qui ont lieu à côté au Cleveland peuvent durer jusqu'au petit matin et le bruit empêche certains clients de dormir. Pour les points positifs, on peut y trouver une petite piscine dans un jardin tropical luxuriant, ce qui manque à beaucoup d'hôtels de South Beach. Des généreux services gratuits sont proposés, dont un petit-déjeuner continental de base et des serviettes fraîches à emmener à la plage juste en face, ainsi que des cocktails en happy hour. Son emplacement au cœur de South Beach donne une très grande valeur à cet hôtel.

Prix Oyster

Vols pour ce voyage avec Skyscanner.com

Photos d'hôtels Oyster

Voir tous les 11 albums

Avis Hôtel Oyster

Lieu

Vintage souvenirs entouré par un décor de terre tons jazzy

A l'intérieur du hall d'entrée entièrement restauré, il est facile de se sentir comme si vous avez été transporté au premier tour de table de l'hôtel en 1938. La palette de couleurs de terre de ton et tissus jazzy sur des chaises en forme de boîte de club se mélangent avec des détails originaux tels que le terrazzo mouchetée planchers de tuiles et fenêtres hexagonales. Originaux, les détails originaux comprennent une immense fresque illustrant les Everglades en Floride dessus d'une cheminée en marbre courbe et plusieurs répliques chrome de vaisseaux spatiaux et des avions à hélice. L'hôtel affiche également des œuvres de Art Basel expositions antérieures et tourne périodiquement ses propres morceaux.

Endroit

Situé en plein cœur de South Beach, près éventail de sites touristiques

Essex House est situé sur Collins Avenue, au cœur de South Beach. Le célèbre Ocean Drive est un pâté de maisons et Le Clevelander, où les clients bénéficient d'un accès prioritaire aux services incluant le bar sur le toit, est à moins de deux minutes à pied. Il ya aussi des dizaines de boutiques et de restaurants à distance de marche le long de Collins et Ocean Drive. L'aéroport international de Miami est à environ 20 minutes en voiture dans des conditions de circulation idéales, tout en atteignant le centre de congrès de la région prend moins de 10 minutes en voiture.

Chambres

Moderne (si peu terne) décor, avec des plaintes de bruit; salles de bains de niveau supérieur sont bien apppointed

Les chambres standard sont un peu à l'étroit, tandis que les chambres et les suites de niveau supérieur offrent beaucoup plus d'espace. Toutes sont décorées dans une combinaison de boue de vert de pois et de brun qui font grève certains comme un peu triste, mais meubles sont modernes; dans l'ensemble, les chambres sont encore parmi les plus belles pour le prix à South Beach. Les clients se sont plaints de parois minces, avec le bruit facilement entendu dans le couloir et d'autres chambres. Salles de bains standard sont joliment rénovées dans un style vintage, avec des murs en marbre et lavabo sur pied. Cependant, il ya peu de place pour ranger des articles de toilette. Grandes bains privative ont amplement d'espace de stockage et une baignoire à jets.

Attractions

Beaucoup d'extras bienvenus, y compris le petit déjeuner gratuit et happy hour; un Asiatique Fusion-restaurant sur place propose une cuisine supplémentaires

L'hôtel dispose d'un bar avec terrasse qui sert aussi la salle de petit-déjeuner, lorsque des repas gratuits du matin sont servis tous les jours pour les clients. Il ya aussi Zen Sai, un restaurant et un salon sur place en Asie-Fusion qui est ouvert pour le dîner. Chaque après-midi, il ya de la limonade gratuite dans le hall Essex House et une happy hour le soir avec du vin, la bière et collations.

Les clients qui ont regardé Essex House Hotel ont aussi regardé

Ce que vous devez savoir à propos de cet Essex House Hotel

Adresse

1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, Florida 33139-5011, United States

Téléphone

(305) 534-2700

Également appelé

  • Essex Hotel Miami Beach
  • Essex House
  • Essex House Hotel South Beach
  • Essex Miami Beach

Types de chambre

  • Standard Room
  • Suite
  • Superior Room

Ne manquez pas nos secrets de voyage. Aimez-nous sur Facebook !

Essex House Hotel Rating: 3.5 Pearls
South Beach, Miami, Florida

Oyster Review Summary

Photos and Review by Oyster.com Investigators

Pros

  • Central South Beach locale
  • Friendly, accommodating staff
  • Beach across the street
  • Free breakfast and happy hour
  • Pool in lovely tropical courtyard
  • On-site restaurant and bar
  • Stunning vintage lobby
  • Access to sister hotel next door
  • Free Wi-Fi

Cons

  • Small rooms with drab decor
  • Noise from other rooms and neighboring hotel
  • No ocean views
  • No fitness center
  • Lobby periodically invaded by tour groups

Bottom Line

The 80-room Essex House Hotel is a bastion of Art Deco architecture and decor — so much so that groups of tourists regularly tramp through the lobby on guided tours. And that's not the only hubbub that disrupts this so-called "oasis of calm." The party at the adjacent Clevelander often continues into the wee hours, and the noise keeps some guests awake. On the plus side, there's a tiny pool in a lush, tropical courtyard, a feature that many South Beach hotels lack. Generous freebies include a basic continental breakfast, happy hour cocktails, and fresh towels to use at the beach across the street. Considering the location in the heart of South Beach, this hotel is a terrific value.

Oyster Awards

We investigate in person.
Like your mother-in-law.

Categories

, ,

Oyster Hotel Photos

View All 7 Albums

Customers Who Viewed Essex House Hotel Also Viewed

The James Royal Palm
21% viewed
The James Royal Palm
South Beach, Miami
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
13% viewed
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
South Beach, Miami
The Standard Miami
13% viewed
The Standard Miami
South Beach, Miami
Mondrian South Beach
13% viewed
Mondrian South Beach
South Beach, Miami

Oyster Hotel Review

 Scene

Vintage memorabilia surrounded by a jazzy, earth-toned decor

Inside the painstakingly restored lobby, it's easy to feel as if you've been transported back to the hotel's first go-round in 1938. The earth-tone color palette and jazzy fabrics on boxy club chairs blend with original details such as the speckled terrazzo tile floors and hexagonal windows. Original, quirky details include an immense mural depicting the Florida Everglades above a curved marble fireplace and several chrome replicas of spaceships and propeller planes. The hotel also displays works from prior Art Basel exhibitions and rotates its own pieces periodically.

 Location

Located in the heart of South Beach, near array of tourist sights

Essex House is located on Collins Avenue in the heart of South Beach. The famed Ocean Drive is one block away and The Clevelander, where guests enjoy priority access to amenities including the rooftop bar, is within a two-minute walk. There are also dozens of shops and restaurants within walking distance along Collins and Ocean Drive. Miami International Airport is about 20 minutes away by car under ideal traffic conditions, while reaching the area’s convention center takes less than a 10-minute drive.

 Rooms

Modern (if slightly drab) decor, with some complaints of noise; higher-tier bathrooms are well-apppointed

Standard rooms are a bit cramped, while higher-tier rooms and suites offer considerably more space. All are decorated in a muddy combination of pea green and brown that make strike some as a bit cheerless, but furnishings are modern; all in all, the rooms are still among the nicest for the price in South Beach. Guests have complained of thin walls, with noise easily heard from the corridor and other rooms. Standard bathrooms are nicely renovated in vintage style, with marble walls and pedestal sinks. However, there's little room to stash toiletries. Larger suite baths have ample storage space and jetted tubs.

 Features

Lots of welcome extras, including free breakfast and happy hour; an on-site Asian-Fusion eatery offers additional cuisine

The hotel has a lobby bar with outdoor seating that doubles as the breakfast room, where free morning meals are served daily for guests. There's also Zen Sai, an on-site Asian-Fusion restaurant and lounge that's open for dinner. Each afternoon there’s free lemonade in the Essex House lobby and an evening happy hour with wine, beer, and snacks.

 Bottom Line

The 80-room Essex House Hotel is a bastion of Art Deco architecture and decor — so much so that groups of tourists regularly tramp through the lobby on guided tours. And that's not the only hubbub that disrupts this so-called "oasis of calm." The party at the adjacent Clevelander often continues into the wee hours, and the noise keeps some guests awake. On the plus side, there's a tiny pool in a lush, tropical courtyard, a feature that many South Beach hotels lack. Generous freebies include a basic continental breakfast, happy hour cocktails, and fresh towels to use at the beach across the street. Considering the location in the heart of South Beach, this hotel is a terrific value.

Things You Should Know About Essex House Hotel

Address

  • 1001 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Is Also Known As...

  • Essex Hotel Miami Beach
  • Essex House
  • Essex House Hotel South Beach
  • Essex Miami Beach

Room Types

  • Standard Room
  • Suite
  • Superior Room

Enter dates for best prices

Check-in
Check-out
Guests
 AVG/NIGHT 
Hotels.com  
Expedia.com  
Tingo.com  
Booking.com  
Travelocity  
Otel.com  
Priceline.com  
CheapTickets.com  

All About Oyster

You Can't Return a Bad Vacation.

Our special investigators visit, photograph, review and rate each hotel. We uncover the truth, before it's "uh-oh" time.

Go undercover with an Oyster Investigator The Today Show
Go Undercover with an Oyster Investigator
See 56 Videos of Oyster on TV

Nearby Hotels to Consider

Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
South Beach, Miami
Rating: 35 Pearls

Distance: Less than 0.1 mi
Clevelander Hotel
Clevelander Hotel
South Beach, Miami
Rating: 30 Pearls

Distance: 0.1 mi
Congress Hotel South Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach
South Beach, Miami
Rating: 35 Pearls

Distance: 0.1 mi
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
South Beach, Miami
Rating: 45 Pearls

Distance: 0.1 mi

Hotel Features

Number of Rooms: 61
Pool: Yes
Internet: Yes
Cribs: Yes
Jacuzzi: Yes
View All

Hotel Information

Location: South Beach, Miami
Address: 1001 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
(See Map)
Loading Live Rates
Loading...
multiple hotels like on roundups