Voir tous les hôtels à North Shore

Ke Iki Beach Bungalows 3.0

North Shore, Oahu, Hawaii

Entrez vos dates et obtenez les meilleurs tarifs

Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com

Sommaire de l'évaluation

Photos et avis par

Pour

  • Situé sur une grande, belle, peu fréquentée North Shore plage
  • Parking gratuit
  • Plein cuisines dans chaque bungalow
  • Chaque bungalow dispose de son propre salon de jardin avec un gril
  • Off-beat charme
  • A 10 minutes en voiture de la ville pittoresque de surf Haleiwa et ses nombreux restaurants, boutiques et galeries
  • Le lecteur d'une heure de la foule touristique de Waikiki

Inconvénients

  • Pas de commodités : pas de restaurant, la piscine ou le centre d'affaires
  • Chambres sont nettoyées seulement avant l'arrivée, pas tous les jours
  • Pas de climatisation
  • Frais de nettoyage obligatoires en fonction de la taille des chambres et la durée du séjour
  • Le lecteur d'une heure de shopping et la vie nocturne de Waikiki

Ce qu'il faut retenir

Lieu atouts de luxe en bord de mer à ces 11 bungalows assis juste au-dessus du sable sur la pittoresque Côte-Nord. Bien sûr, les bungalows sont modestes, les commodités sont à zéro, et le service est minimal. Mais une belle plage est juste à l'extérieur de la porte, comme le sont des hamacs et des grillades. Et plus célèbres spots de surf de Oahu et une charmante ville surfeur, Haleiwa, sont juste en bas de la rue.

Prix Oyster

Vols pour ce voyage avec Skyscanner.com

Photos d'hôtels Oyster

Avis Hôtel Oyster

Lieu

Ce cluster de charme, mais sans fioritures en bord de mer bungalows sur la pittoresque côte nord d'Oahu attire ceux qui veulent des vacances moelleux de l'autre côté de l'île, à la fois propre et au figuré, de Waikiki.

"Il n'y a rien comme ça partout sur l'île», dit Greg Gerstenberger, gestionnaire des Ke Iki Beach Bungalows, assis dans son petit bureau à la maison un matin. De votre gestionnaire d'hôtel typique, une telle ligne serait un slogan PR facile. Mais Gerstenberger, qui affiche un mélange attrayant de convivialité et de mauvaise humeur back-douleur induite, est pas responsable de l'hôtel typique - pour une chose, il ne porte pas de chemise - et Ke Iki est pas un hôtel typique.

Les bungalows abord ouvert en 1953, détenus et exploités par feu M. et Mme Talbot, qui avait attrapé la propriété en bord de mer pour $ 11,000 et, après leur mort, a laissé à leur fils et de ses enfants. Gerstenberger venu à gérer la propriété en 2000 et vit sur place.

Bien que les Ke Iki Beach Bungalows sont parfois classés comme un lit-et-petit déjeuner, ne vous attendez pas à vous Gerstenberger cuire les oeufs dans la matinée. Il n'y a pas de restaurant ou même un hall d'accueil pour le check-in. Au contraire, il ya un signe apposé à un grand chêne juste à côté du terrain de stationnement qui instruit invités à sonner une grande cloche , pendait au même chêne, pour le service. Avec un peu de chance, cette bague convoquera Gerstenberger, ou sa femme, ou un de leurs enfants. Ils vous invitent à le bureau au deuxième étage de leur maison sur place, passer rapidement en revue vos documents, et ensuite vous diriger vers votre bungalow, qui est identifié non par un certain nombre, mais plutôt le nom d'une fleur tropicale. La porte de votre bungalow sera ouvert, et la clé (un vrai fait de métal, pas une carte en plastique) sera attente à l'intérieur. Cela ressemble plus à louer une maison sur le rivage que d'obtenir une chambre dans un hôtel.

L'emplacement de l'établissement - le moelleux North Shore d'Oahu entre pittoresque Waimea Bay et de la légendaire plage de surf Banzai Pipeline, et littéralement sur ​​la plage avec ce qui est des actions un nom - est difficile à battre, au moins pour ceux qui recherchent une grande, paisible , et de la plage relativement déserte. Waikiki se trouve à une heure, mais ses foules et les centres commerciaux semble un monde loin de onze bord de mer et le jardin bungalows de Ke Iki. Au lieu de boutiques haut de gamme, la Côte-Nord a routière étals de fruits; au lieu de restaurants de la chaîne, il ya des camions de crevettes et de la célèbre glace Matsumoto Shave dans la ville pittoresque de surf Haleiwa, à cinq ou 10 minutes en voiture depuis les bungalows.

Les bungalows sont grandes et utilitaire. Il n'y a pas d'air conditionné et les lits ont des matelas affaissement. Mais ils ont bien équipées cuisines , des ventilateurs de plafond , rapide et d'une connexion Wi-Fi, et de petites télévisions à écran plat avec deux lecteurs de DVD et des chaînes câblées à profusion. Plus important encore, vous sortez votre porte, marcher quelques pas dans votre cour - chacune est équipée d'une table, des chaises et un barbecue - et vous êtes littéralement sur ​​la plage .

L'accès à la plage est si bon, en fait, que l'hôtel dispose d'apposer des affiches «Non Accès à la plage" de garder les non-clients hors de la propriété. Et la plage elle-même est d'une beauté - long et de large, avec le sable lisse, légèrement grossier galets comme le North Beach est connu pour. Il prie pour la marche pieds nus. L'eau peut être un peu moins apaisante: En hiver, les vagues peuvent atteindre plus de 30 pieds et, selon la légende locale, tuer quelques personnes chaque année. En été, le surf est moins féroce, mais toujours forte, ce qui rend la plage plus populaire pour les feux de joie que pour la baignade. Mais si vous pouvez marquer l'un des bungalows en bord de mer, qui valent bien le coût supplémentaire, le bruit des vagues est magnifique.

Les clients viennent de partout dans le monde, mais partagent une attitude décontractée. Ils cherchent pacifiques, un cadre naturel magnifique, et ils ne semblent pas à l'esprit que les chambres sont nettoyées seulement avant l'arrivée, pas tous les jours. Je rencontrai un homme de l'Oklahoma qui avait été arrive à les bungalows depuis qu'il avait 12 ans; il revient maintenant chaque été pendant quelques semaines avec sa femme et ses cinq jeunes enfants, qui ont consulté à avoir un souffle courir le long de la plage et tout autour de la propriété luxuriante. Un autre invité, une femme plus âgée, m'a dit que je devrais revenir en hiver parfois lorsque les baleines viennent si près de la plage, vous pouvez voir leurs yeux. Je ne sais pas si cela arrive vraiment, mais je serais heureux de revenir quelque temps et voir par moi-même.

Service

Services très minime. Bungalows sont nettoyés avant l'arrivée, pas tous les jours.

Le service est extrêmement limitée. Ceux qui recherchent une ambiance décontractée moelleux ne peut penser - mais les clients doivent attendre à un service qui est plus proche de ce que vous obtiendriez de louer une maison, ne pas rester dans un hôtel.

  • Gestionnaire vit sur place dans une maison à l'entrée.
  • Pas de hall; invités sonner une grande cloche sur un arbre dans l'allée pour alerter gestionnaire de leur arrivée.
  • Les bungalows sont nettoyés avant l'arrivée des invités, mais généralement pas du tout par la suite; nettoyage supplémentaire disponible pour des frais supplémentaires.
  • Frais de nettoyage obligatoire, en fonction de la durée du séjour et de la taille de l'unité, au-dessus de leur prix de la chambre.
  • Vous pourrez prendre des serviettes de la salle de lavage à tout moment.
  • Un livre dans chaque bungalow offre à ses clients une foule d'informations, de menus à emporter à la sécurité de l'océan pour les attractions locales et les supermarchés.

Endroit

Sur le pittoresque mais calme North Shore d'Oahu; à droite sur Ke Iki plage et à quelques minutes de plus célèbres spots de surf de l'île. La ville de surf pittoresque de Haleiwa est à seulement cinq minutes.

Le célèbre North Shore d'Oahu, une région connue pour son surf de classe mondiale et situé à environ 45 minutes de l'aéroport d'Honolulu et à une heure de Waikiki. La Côte-Nord est relativement peu développée et a peu de places pour les visiteurs de rester, de sorte qu'il se sent beaucoup moins touristique, et beaucoup plus pittoresque de Waikiki - mais il peut être trop calme et doux pour certains.

  • Directement sur Ke Iki Beach, une longue bande large, magnifique de sable. En hiver, les vagues top 30 pieds sur la plage, ce qui rend populaire auprès des surfeurs. En été, les vagues sont beaucoup plus petits mais toujours forte.
  • La plongée avec tuba sur la plage en face de l'hôtel; Shark Cove, l'un des meilleurs sites de plongée de l'île, se trouve à seulement quelques pâtés de maisons.
  • Célèbres plages de surf de la Côte-Nord, y compris le Banzai Pipeline, Sunset Beach et Waimea Bay, sont tous dans un cinq à 10 minutes de route.
  • Le coloré vieille ville de surf de Haleiwa est de cinq à 10 minutes.
  • Haleiwa dispose de restaurants, galeries d'art, magasins et boutiques de surf, et place la plus célèbre de l'île pour la glace de rasage, Matsumoto Shave Ice. Mais peu de vie nocturne.
  • Le Polynesian Cultural Center, qui abrite l'un des meilleurs luaus de l'île, est à environ 20 minutes de route.
  • Le stationnement est gratuit; une voiture de location est fortement recommandé.
  • L'aéroport d'Honolulu est de 32 miles de là, à environ 45 minutes de route.

Plage

Sur la magnifique, peu fréquentée Ke Iki Plage . Mais elle peut être une beauté dangereuse, avec d'énormes vagues dans l'hiver et les pauses de terre dangereuses année.

L'accès à la plage est si bon que l'hôtel a à afficher des panneaux «Non Accès à la plage" de garder les non-clients hors de la propriété. Le sable est littéralement à quelques pas des portes des bungalows en bord de mer (valeur le coût supplémentaire sur les bungalows vue jardin). Et quelle plage il est: Ke Iki plage est longue, large et peu fréquentée - l'antithèse de sable de plages de Waikiki. Il est bordé par des roches volcaniques et a des vues sur les montagnes verdoyantes . Ceci est ce que beaucoup de gens imaginent une plage hawaïenne soit. En hiver, les vagues top 30 pieds sur la plage, ce qui rend populaire auprès des surfeurs. (Informations du livre de L'hôtel comprend même un compte d'une vague monstrueuse, soi-disant 100 pieds de haut, que les succès en 1986 et détruit certains des bungalows.) En été, les vagues sont assez petites mais toujours forte. Il existe certaines possibilités pour la plongée sur la plage en face de l'hôtel, mais de Shark Cove, l'un des meilleurs sites de plongée de l'île, se trouve à seulement quelques pâtés de maisons.

  • Aucun sauveteur debout sur Ke Iki, si les sauveteurs patrouillent parfois la plage sur les VTT; les clients sont mis en garde sur les dangers de l'océan et fournis avec des conseils de sécurité de base de l'océan.
  • Voisins plages du North Shore comprennent mecques de surf célèbres comme le Banzai Pipeline et Waimea Bay.
  • Guest-seulement hamacs tendus entre les palmiers.
  • Les sections locales ont le feu de joie occasionnelle sur la plage, et il ya certains, agréable joyeux graffiti sur un mur de soutènement, mais la plage est très propre et exempte de cendres et de débris.

Chambres

Bungalows grandes mais modestes, ont plein cuisines , mais petits téléviseurs et pas de climatisation. Utilitaire, mais à droite sur (ou juste à côté) de la plage.

Au Ke Iki Beach Bungalows vous payez pour l'emplacement, pas de luxe, mais les onze unités ont été rénovées à l'automne 2009 (peu de temps après ma visite). Mais sortez, et vous êtes debout sur ​​une magnifique, peu développée plage - au moins si vous séjournez dans l'un des cinq bungalows en bord de mer, qui coûtent environ 50 $ de plus par nuit, mais en valent la peine. (Les six jardin unités de vue ne sont pas mal non plus: Les pelouses sont luxuriants, et ils sont juste un peu plus de pas du sable.) Les bungalows peuvent être modestes, mais ils ne sont pas sans quelques équipements modernes, y compris le bien -Equipé cuisines, petits téléviseurs à écran plat avec haut-lecteurs de DVD, téléphones , et d'une connexion rapide et Wi-Fi, ainsi qu'un grand choix de chaînes de base de câblodistribution grâce à Time Warner.

  • Les salles de bain sont petites mais réparable; la mienne avait une douche simple acrylique standup avec un rideau de vinyle.
  • Articles de toilette sont constituées de seulement quelques barres de lait et de miel ProTerra savon, mais les serviettes sont blanches et moelleux.
  • Spacieuses cuisines ont une pleine taille réfrigérateur , cafetière , mixeur , micro-ondes , couteaux Farberware , grille-pain , casseroles, poêles, une passoire, le très important ouvreur de vin, et même un cuiseur à riz.
  • Certains bungalows ont mises en page originales: une chambre Gardenia bungalow dispose d'une fenêtre dans le mur séparant la chambre séparée de la salle de séjour; dans les deux chambres Bird of Paradise bungalow , vous avez à marcher à travers une chambre à coucher pour atteindre l'autre.

Attractions

Aucun amenites à proprement parler. Mais le parking est gratuit, et il ya une laverie automatique exploité pour les clients.

Pas de piscine, centre d'affaires, ou un centre de remise en forme. Si vous êtes à la recherche d'équipements, et encore envie d'être sur la Côte-Nord, essayez le Turtle Bay Resort . Cet endroit est tout au sujet de Ke Iki Plage: Il suffit de passer la porte et descendre quelques marches et vous êtes sur le sable. Il ya aussi un certain nombre de hamacs réservées aux clients de l'hôtel.

  • La littérature de l'hôtel fournit des informations, et les numéros de contact des fournisseurs extérieurs, sur tout, des leçons de surf à l'instruction de pilates aux planeurs à massage océan (une bonne affaire à 60 $ l'heure).
  • Laveuse et sécheuse disponible pour les clients à utiliser monnayeur

Famille

Un solide sans fioritures choix pour les familles. Bungalows ont une cuisine complète et la plus grande peut accueillir jusqu'à huit. La plage , cependant, a de fortes vagues.

Tant que vous ne vous attendez pas les commodités habituelles d'un hôtel, ce est un choix de famille solide avec de grands bungalows avec une cuisine et yards à droite sur une magnifique (si peu dangereux) plage . Lorsque je suis resté là, une famille avec cinq jeunes enfants cherché à avoir un souffle courir autour des motifs, occasionnels luxuriants et le long de journée à la plage et de la nuit. Le père avait été à venir pour les bungalows depuis qu'il avait 12 ans, et il a maintenant ses propres enfants pendant plusieurs semaines chaque été.

  • Bungalows varient en taille, passant d'environ 325 à 1200 pieds carrés.
  • Tous ont une cuisine complète et les cours avant avec beaucoup d'espace pour les enfants à se défouler.
  • Tout mais le studio Pikake sont des unités d'une et de deux chambres. La plupart peuvent accueillir confortablement quatre personnes au moins, et la plus grande unité, le bungalow Antherium, peut accueillir jusqu'à huit. Le front de mer Lilikoi bungalow est également un bon choix de la famille; il a un lit queen dans chacune de ses deux chambres, et un lit double dans le salon.
  • Berceaux disponibles sans frais supplémentaires.
  • Bungalows ne disposent pas de service de ménage quotidien: Ils sont nettoyées seulement avant l'arrivée, sauf si vous payez une taxe supplémentaire.

Propreté

Assez propre mais pas impeccable et un peu miteux. Accessoires de plage sont dispersés autour de la propriété. Neat monstres seraient probablement être plus heureux ailleurs.

Bungalows sont nettoyées avant l'arrivée - mais après cela, les clients sont sur ​​leur propre. Ceux qui séjournent plus d'une semaine peut payer un supplément pour avoir leur place nettoyée pendant leur séjour. Pour la plupart, mon bungalow est apparu bien propre, mais il y avait une fourchette en plastique restes dans le réfrigérateur et des restes de pizza friables d'un ancien client dans le four. Draps et serviettes sont lumineuses et propres. L'ambiance générale est Beachy et décontracté, et qui se prolonge à l'entretien: Même avec des travaux de rénovation en cours, les bungalows se sentent un peu ringardes.

  • accessoires de plage éparpillés autour des terrains: une pile de planches de bodyboard ici, une paire de palmes là; rien de tout cela me dérangeait - mais il serait sans doute déranger les autres.
  • La femme qui avait nettoyé ma chambre avait également versé de l'eau sur le tapis, quelque chose m'a averti d'au check-in.

Nourriture

Aucun restaurant sur ​​place, mais tous les bungalows ont une cuisine entièrement équipée et grillades Weber .

Bungalow cuisines viennent bien équipées avec tout d' assiettes et des verres aux grille-pain, cafetières, cuiseurs à riz, micro-ondes et un mixeur. Les cuisines sont pas fournis avec des «éléments Getting Started" (comme le café et le thé) sauf pour les serviettes en papier et une nouvelle éponge. Ma cuisine, cependant, avait des filtres à café restes dans l'une des armoires, et la gestion dit qu'ils vont généralement laisser propres, des choses utiles comme les filtres à café ou condiments pour les futurs clients.

  • Chaque bungalow dispose de son propre barbecue Weber, mais les clients doivent fournir leur propre charbon de bois et essence à briquet.
  • Pour approvisionnement de la cuisine, il ya une épicerie, terre nourricière quelques pâtés de maisons, et pour les besoins en vrac, Club et Costco de Sam sont de 30 à 45 minutes.
  • La ville de Haleiwa, de cinq à 10 minutes de route, a plusieurs savoureux, les restaurants locaux, comme le Sandwich Shop Kua Aina et Haleiwa Joe, et certains de leurs menus sont fournis dans les livres d'information bungalow. Assurez-vous de gagner de la place pour un peu de glace de rasage.
  • Plus connu la commune rasage de glace de l'île, Matsumoto Shave Ice, est située à Haleiwa (bien que je pense de son concurrent moins connu à côté, Aoki, est mieux).
  • Bakery Le célèbre Ted à Sunset Beach est seulement trois minutes de route. Ne manquez pas leur légendaire haupia chocolat tarte.
  • Livres d'information Bungalow ont également des informations pour North Shore livraison, un service qui offre la livraison à partir de plusieurs restaurants de la région.

Les clients qui ont regardé Ke Iki Beach Bungalows ont aussi regardé

Ce que vous devez savoir à propos de cet Ke Iki Beach Bungalows

Adresse

59-579 Ke Iki Rd, Haleiwa, Hawaii 96712-9628, United States

Téléphone

(808) 638-8229

Types de chambre

  • Antherium
  • Bird of Paradise
  • Gardenia
  • Heliconia
  • Hibiscus
  • Lilikoi
  • Orchid
  • Pikake
  • Plumeria
  • Protea
  • White Ginger

Ke Iki Beach Bungalows Rating: 3.0 Pearls
North Shore, Oahu, Hawaii

Oyster Review Summary

Photos and Review by Oyster.com Investigators

Pros

  • Located right on a big, beautiful, uncrowded North Shore beach
  • Free parking
  • Full kitchens in every bungalow
  • Every bungalow has its own yard area with a grill
  • Off-beat charm
  • A 10-minute drive from the quaint surf town of Haleiwa and its many restaurants, shops, and galleries
  • An hour's drive from Waikiki's touristy crowds

Cons

  • No amenities: no restaurant, pool, or business center
  • Rooms are cleaned only before arrival, not daily
  • No air conditioning
  • Mandatory cleaning fee depending on room size and length of stay
  • An hour's drive from Waikiki's shopping and nightlife

Bottom Line

Location trumps luxury at these 11 beachfront bungalows sitting just above the sand on the picturesque North Shore. Sure, the bungalows are modest, amenities are zero, and service is minimal. But a beautiful beach is just outside the door, as are hammocks and grills. And Oahu's most famous surfing spots and a charming surfer town, Haleiwa, are just down the street.

Oyster Awards

We investigate in person.
Like your mother-in-law.

Categories

, ,

Oyster Hotel Photos

View All 6 Albums

Customers Who Viewed Ke Iki Beach Bungalows Also Viewed

The Modern Honolulu
25% viewed
The Modern Honolulu
Waikiki, Honolulu
Outrigger Reef On The Beach
17% viewed
Outrigger Reef On The Beach
Waikiki, Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki
17% viewed
Sheraton Waikiki
Waikiki, Honolulu
Hawaiian Princess Resort
17% viewed
Hawaiian Princess Resort
Waianae, Oahu

Oyster Hotel Review

 Scene

This cluster of charming but no-frills beachfront bungalows on Oahu's picturesque North Shore attracts those wanting a mellow vacation on the other side of the island, both literally and figuratively, from Waikiki.

Second-Floor Office
Second-Floor Office

"There's nothing like this anywhere on the island," says Greg Gerstenberger, manager of the Ke Iki Beach Bungalows, sitting in his small home office one morning. From your typical hotel manager, such a line would be an easy PR slogan. But Gerstenberger, who displays an appealing mix of friendliness and back-pain-induced grumpiness, is no typical hotel manager -- for one thing, he's not wearing a shirt -- and Ke Iki is not a typical hotel.

The bungalows first opened in 1953, owned and operated by the late Mr. and Mrs. Talbot, who'd nabbed the beachfront property for $11,000 and, after their deaths, left it to their son and his children. Gerstenberger came on to manage the property in 2000 and lives on-site.

Though the Ke Iki Beach Bungalows are sometimes classified as a bed-and-breakfast, don't expect Gerstenberger to cook you eggs in the morning. There's no restaurant or even a lobby for check-in. Rather, there's a sign affixed to a large oak tree just off the parking lot that instructs guests to ring a large bell, hanging off the same oak tree, for service. With any luck, that ring will summon Gerstenberger, or his wife, or one of their kids. They'll invite you up to the office on the second floor of their on-site home, quickly go through your paperwork, and then direct you to your bungalow, which is identified not by a number but rather the name of a tropical flower. The door to your bungalow will be open, and the key (a real one made from metal, not a plastic card) will be waiting inside. It's more like renting a house on the shore than getting a room at a resort.

The property's location -- on Oahu's mellow North Shore between picturesque Waimea Bay and the legendary Banzai Pipeline surfing beach, and literally on the beach with which is shares a name -- is hard to beat, at least for those looking for a big, peaceful, and relatively deserted beach. Waikiki is an hour's drive, but its crowds and shopping malls seem a world away from Ke Iki's eleven oceanfront and garden bungalows. In lieu of upscale boutiques, the North Shore has roadside fruit stands; instead of chain restaurants, there are shrimp trucks and the famous Matsumoto Shave Ice in the quaint surf town of Haleiwa, a five- or 10-minute drive from the bungalows.

The bungalows are large and utilitarian. There's no air conditioning and beds have sagging mattresses. But they do have well-equipped kitchens, ceiling fans, fast and free Wi-Fi, and small flat-screen TVs with both DVD players and cable channels aplenty. More importantly, you step outside your door, walk a few steps across your yard -- each is equipped with a table, chairs, and a grill -- and you're literally on the beach.

The beach access is so good, in fact, that the hotel has to post "No Beach Access" signs to keep non-guests off the property. And the beach itself is a beauty -- long and wide, with the smooth, slightly coarse, pebble-like sand the North Beach is known for. It begs for barefoot walking. The water can be somewhat less soothing: In the winter, waves can reach over 30 feet and, according to local lore, kill a few people each year. In the summer, the surf is less ferocious but still strong, making the beach more popular for bonfires than for swimming. But if you can score one of the beachfront bungalows, which are well worth the extra cost, the sound of the waves is magnificent.

Guests come from all over the world but share a laid-back attitude. They're looking for peaceful, naturally beautiful surroundings, and they don't seem to mind that rooms are cleaned only before arrival, not daily. I met one man from Oklahoma who had been coming to the bungalows since he was 12 years old; he now returns every summer for a few weeks with his wife and five young children, who looked to be having a blast running along the beach and all around the lush property. Another guest, an older woman, told me I'd have to come back in the winter sometime when the whales come up so close to the beach you can see their eyes. I'm not sure if that really happens, but I'd be happy to come back sometime and see for myself.

 Service

Very minimal services. Bungalows are cleaned before arrival, not daily.

The service bell
The service bell

The service here is extremely limited. Those looking for a mellow, laid-back atmosphere may not mind -- but guests should expect service that's more akin to what you'd get renting a house, not staying in a hotel.

  • Manager lives on-site in a house at the entrance.
  • No lobby; guests ring a large bell on a tree in the driveway to alert manager of their arrival.
  • Bungalows are cleaned before guests arrive, but generally not at all after that; additional cleaning available for additional charge.
  • Mandatory cleaning fee, depending on the length of the stay and the size of the unit, on top of their room rate.
  • Guests can grab fresh towels from the laundry room at anytime.
  • A book in each bungalow provides guests with a wealth of information, from takeout menus to ocean safety to local attractions and supermarkets.

 Location

On the scenic but quiet North Shore of Oahu; right on Ke Iki Beach and minutes from the island's most famous surfing spots. The quaint surf town of Haleiwa is just five minutes away.

On Oahu's famed North Shore, an area known for its world-class surfing and located about 45 minutes from the Honolulu Airport and an hour from Waikiki. The North Shore is relatively undeveloped and has few places for visitors to stay, so it feels far less touristy, and far more quaint, than Waikiki -- but it may be too quiet and mellow for some.

  • Directly on Ke Iki Beach, a long, wide, stunning strip of sand. In winter, waves top 30 feet on the beach, making it popular with surfers. In the summer, the waves are much smaller but still strong.
  • Snorkeling on the beach in front of the hotel; Shark's Cove, one of the best snorkeling sites on the island, is just a couple blocks away.
  • The North Shore's famous surfing beaches, including the Banzai Pipeline, Sunset Beach, and Waimea Bay, are all within a five- to 10-minute drive.
  • The colorful old surf town of Haleiwa is five to 10 minutes away.
  • Haleiwa has restaurants, art galleries, stores, and surf shops, and the island's most famous place for shave ice, Matsumoto Shave Ice. But little nightlife.
  • The Polynesian Cultural Center, home to one of the island's best luaus, is about a 20-minute drive.
  • Parking is free; a rental car is highly recommended.
  • Honolulu Airport is 32 miles away, about a 45-minute drive.

 Beach

Right on beautiful, uncrowded Ke Iki Beach. But she can be a dangerous beauty, with huge waves in the winter and hazardous shore breaks year-round.

Ke Iki Beach
Ke Iki Beach

The beach access is so good that the hotel has to post "No Beach Access" signs to keep non-guests off the property. Sand is literally just a few steps from the doors of the beachfront bungalows (worth the extra cost over the garden-view bungalows). And what a beach it is: Ke Iki Beach is long, wide, and uncrowded -- the sandy antithesis of beaches in Waikiki. It's bordered by volcanic rocks and has views of lush green mountains. This is what many people imagine a Hawaiian beach to be. In winter, the waves top 30 feet on the beach, making it popular with surfers. (The hotel's information book even includes an account of a monstrous wave, supposedly 100 feet high, that hit in 1986 and destroyed some of the bungalows.) In the summer, the waves are quite small but still strong. There is some opportunity for snorkeling on the beach in front of the hotel, but Shark's Cove, one of the best snorkeling sites on the island, is just a couple blocks away.

  • No lifeguard stand on Ke Iki, though lifeguards sometimes patrol the beach on ATVs; guests are cautioned about the dangers of the ocean and provided with basic ocean safety tips.
  • Neighboring North Shore beaches include famed surfing meccas like the Banzai Pipeline, and Waimea Bay.
  • Guest-only hammocks strung between palm trees.
  • Locals have the occassional bonfire on the beach, and there's some cheery, pleasant grafitti on a retaining wall, but the beach is quite clean and free of ash and debris.

 Rooms

Large but modest, bungalows have full kitchens but small TVs and no air conditioning. Utilitarian but right on (or just off) the beach.

The Gardenia Bungalow
The Gardenia Bungalow

At the Ke Iki Beach Bungalows you're paying for location, not luxury, but the eleven units were renovated in the fall of 2009 (shortly after my visit). But step outside, and you're standing on a magnificant, undeveloped beach -- at least if you're staying in one of the five beachfront bungalows, which cost about $50 more a night but are well worth it. (The six garden view units aren't bad either: The lawns are lush, and they're just a few more steps from the sand.) The bungalows may be modest, but they're not without a few modern amenities, including well-equipped kitchens, small flatscreen TVs with built-in DVD players, phones, and free and fast Wi-Fi, plus a great selection of basic cable channels through Time Warner.

  • Bathrooms are small but serviceable; mine had a simple standup acrylic shower with a vinyl curtain.
  • Toiletries consist of just a couple of bars of ProTerra milk and honey soap, but towels are white and fluffy.
  • Spacious kitchens have a full-size fridge, coffeemaker, blender, microwave, Farberware knives, toaster, pots, pans, a colander, the all-important wine opener, and even a rice cooker.
  • Some bungalows have quirky layouts: One-bedroom Gardenia bungalow has a window in the wall separating the separate bedroom from the living area; in the two-bedroom Bird of Paradise bungalow, you have to walk through one bedroom to reach the other.

 Features

No amenites to speak of. But parking is free, and there's coin-operated laundry for guests.

Hammocks at Ke Iki Beach Bungalows
Hammocks at Ke Iki Beach Bungalows

No pool, business center, or fitness center. If you're looking for amenities, and still want to be on the North Shore, try the Turtle Bay Resort. This place is all about Ke Iki Beach: Simply walk out the door and down a few steps and you're on sand. There are also a number of hammocks reserved for hotel guests.

  • The hotel literature provides information, and outside vendor contact numbers, on everything from surfing lessons to pilates instruction to gliders to oceanside massage (a good deal at $60 per hour).
  • Coin-operated washer and dryer available for guests to use

 Family

A solid no-frills pick for families. Bungalows have full kitchens and the largest can sleep up to eight. The beach, however, has strong waves.

Bungalows have full kitchens
Bungalows have full kitchens

As long as you don't expect the usual amenities of a hotel, this is a solid family choice with big bungalows with kitchens and yards right on a magnificent (if somewhat dangerous) beach. When I stayed there, a family with five young children looked to be having a blast running around the lush, casual grounds and along beach day and night. The father had been coming to the bungalows since he was 12, and he now brought his own kids for several weeks every summer.

  • Bungalows range in size from approximately 325 to 1,200 square feet.
  • All have full kitchens and front yards with plenty of space for kids to romp.
  • All but the Pikake studio are one- and two-bedroom units. Most can comfortably sleep at least four guests, and the largest unit, the Antherium bungalow, can sleep as many as eight. The beachfront Lilikoi bungalow is also a good family pick; it has a queen bed in each of its two bedrooms, and a twin bed in the living room.
  • Cribs available at no extra cost.
  • Bungalows do not have daily maid service: They're cleaned only prior to arrival, unless you pay an additional fee.

 Cleanliness

Clean enough but not spotless and a little shabby. Beach accessories are scattered around the property. Neat freaks would probably be happier elsewhere.

Bungalows are cleaned prior to arrival -- but after that, guests are on their own. Those staying over a week can pay extra to have their place cleaned during their stay. For the most part, my bungalow appeared thoroughly clean, though there was a leftover plastic fork in the refrigerator and crumbly remnants of a former guest's pizza in the oven. Sheets and towels were bright and clean. The general vibe is beachy and laid back, and that extends to the upkeep: Even with ongoing renovations, the bungalows feel slightly shabby.

  • Beach accessories scattered around the grounds: a stack of boogie boards here, a pair of flippers there; none of it bothered me -- but it would no doubt bother others.
  • The woman who had cleaned my room had also spilt some water on the carpet, something I was warned of at check-in.

 Food

No restaurants on-site, but all bungalows have full kitchens and Weber grills.

Weber barbecue at Ke Iki Beach Bungalows
Weber barbecue at Ke Iki Beach Bungalows

Bungalow kitchens come well equipped with everything from plates and glasses to toasters, coffeemakers, rice cookers, microwaves, and blenders. Kitchens are not supplied with any "getting started items" (like coffee and tea) save for paper towels and a fresh sponge. My kitchen, however, had some leftover coffee filters in one of the cabinets, and the management says they will typically leave clean, useful things like coffee filters or condiments for future guests.

  • Each bungalow has its own Weber barbecue, but guests must supply their own charcoal and lighter fluid.
  • For stocking the kitchen, there's a Foodland grocery store a couple blocks away, and for bulk needs, Sam's Club and Costco are 30 to 45 minutes away.
  • The town of Haleiwa, a five- to 10-minute drive, has several tasty, local restaurants, like the Kua Aina Sandwich Shop and Haleiwa Joe's, and some of their menus are supplied in the bungalow information books. Make sure to save room for some shave ice.
  • The island's best known shave-ice joint, Matsumoto Shave Ice, is located in Haleiwa (though I think its lesser-known competitor next door, Aoki's, is better).
  • The famous Ted's Bakery in Sunset Beach is just a three-minute drive. Don't miss their legendary chocolate haupia pie.
  • Bungalow information books also have info for North Shore Delivery, a service that provides delivery from multiple area restaurants.

 Bottom Line

Location trumps luxury at these 11 beachfront bungalows sitting just above the sand on the picturesque North Shore. Sure, the bungalows are modest, amenities are zero, and service is minimal. But a beautiful beach is just outside the door, as are hammocks and grills. And Oahu's most famous surfing spots and a charming surfer town, Haleiwa, are just down the street.

Things You Should Know About Ke Iki Beach Bungalows

Address

  • 59 579 Ke Iki Road, Sunset Beach, Hawaii 96712

Room Types

  • Antherium
  • Bird of Paradise
  • Gardenia
  • Heliconia
  • Hibiscus
  • Lilikoi
  • Orchid
  • Pikake
  • Plumeria
  • Protea
  • White Ginger

Enter dates for best prices

Check-in
Check-out
Guests
 AVG/NIGHT 
Hotels.com  
Expedia.com  
Tingo.com  
Booking.com  
Travelocity  
Otel.com  
Priceline.com  
CheapTickets.com  

All About Oyster

You Can't Return a Bad Vacation.

Our special investigators visit, photograph, review and rate each hotel. We uncover the truth, before it's "uh-oh" time.

Go undercover with an Oyster Investigator The Today Show
Go Undercover with an Oyster Investigator
See 56 Videos of Oyster on TV

Nearby Hotels to Consider

Kalani Hawaii
Kalani Hawaii
Haleiwa, Oahu
Rating: 20 Pearls

Distance: 1.4 mi
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
North Shore, Oahu
Rating: 40 Pearls

Distance: 5.5 mi
Hawaiian Princess Resort
Hawaiian Princess Resort
Waianae, Oahu
Rating: 30 Pearls

Distance: 16.5 mi
JW Marriott Ihilani Resort And Spa At Ko Olina
JW Marriott Ihilani Resort And Spa At Ko Olina
Ko Olina, Oahu
Rating: 40 Pearls

Distance: 22.1 mi

Hotel Features

Number of Rooms: 11
Internet: Yes
Cribs: Yes
View All

Hotel Information

Location: North Shore, Oahu
Address: 59 579 Ke Iki Road, Sunset Beach, Hawaii 96712
(See Map)
Loading Live Rates
Loading...