Pro

  • Neben der Grand Central Station und einen leichten Spaziergang zum Bryant Park und Times Square
  • Moderne Zimmer und Suiten mit Mini-Kühlschrank, Flachbild-TV und bequemen Betten
  • Club-Level-Zimmer haben Zugang zu einer privaten Lounge mit gehobenen Snacks und Getränken
  • New York Central Restaurant, Lounge und Bar mit Blick auf die 42. Straße; 24 Stunden Zimmerservice
  • Der 24-Stunden-Gourmet-Markt bietet alle Arten von Snacks, Mahlzeiten zum Mitnehmen und Starbucks-Kaffee
  • Gut ausgestattetes Fitnesscenter mit Precor-Geräten
  • Business Center mit Sekretariatsservice
  • Lobby und Flure mit Skulpturen und Gemälden renommierter Künstler
  • Zu den familienfreundlichen Annehmlichkeiten gehören eine Kinderkarte und Baby-Pflegeprodukte
  • Kostenloses WLAN im gesamten Gebäude
  • Spa-Service im Zimmer verfügbar
  • Fünf Ballsäle und 45 Veranstaltungsräume
Mehr anzeigen Pro

Kontra

  • Die Lage ist zentral, aber sehr chaotisch
  • Einige Abnutzungserscheinungen in den Zimmern
  • Kleine Badezimmer und Beschwerden von schwachem Wasserdruck
  • Zimmer fehlen Minibar und Kaffeemaschine
Mehr anzeigen Kontra

Fazit

Das gehobene Mittelklassehotel Grand Hyatt New York befindet sich in erstklassiger Lage im Geschäfts- und Touristenzentrum von New York. Der Höhepunkt hier ist die Lage - es ist neben der Grand Central Station und nur 15 Gehminuten vom Times Square, Bryant Park und Rockefeller Center, obwohl die Midtown Adresse für einige Gäste zu chaotisch sein kann. Die 1.306 modernen Zimmer sind in einer Vielzahl von Kategorien verfügbar und verfügen alle über einen Mini-Kühlschrank und Fenster, die sich öffnen lassen (selten für NYC). Das New York Central Restaurant, die Lounge und die Bar servieren gehobene westeuropäische Küche mit Blick auf die 42nd Street. Es gibt auch einen 24-Stunden-Markt in der Lobby, ein modernes Fitnesscenter und ein Business Center mit Sekretariatsservice. Reisende, die ein Kettenhotel in einer etwas ruhigeren Umgebung suchen, sollten die Preise im The Westin New York Grand Central überprüfen.

Mehr anzeigen Fazit

Dinge, die Sie über Grand Hyatt New York wissen sollten

Auch bekannt als

  • Hotel Hyatt New York
  • New York Hyatt
  • Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
  • Hyatt Hotel New York
  • Grand Hyatt New York City
  • Hyatt Hotel New York City
  • Hyatt New York City
  • New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
  • Grand Hotel Hyatt New York

Zimmertypen

  • Business Plan Room
  • Deluxe King Room
  • Executive Room
  • Grand Club Room
  • Hypo-Allergenic Room
  • Junior Suite
  • Lexington Suite
  • One King Bed Room
  • One Queen Room
  • Standard Room
  • Two Double Bed Room
  • VIP Suite

Adresse

109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, New York 10017-8500, United States

Telefon

(212) 883-1234

Webseite

Oyster-Hotelbewertung

Grand Hyatt New York

Scene

Stilvolles Kettenhotel mit skulpturalen Akzenten

Ursprünglich das Commodore Hotel nach "Commodore" Cornelius Vanderbilt genannt, öffnete das Anwesen im Jahr 1919 und bot Unterkünfte für $ 2,50 pro Nacht mit dem Motto: "Ein Zimmer und ein Bad für zweieinhalb." Heute ist das Grand Hyatt ein ständig belebtes und riesiges Kettenhotel und die Preise sind deutlich gestiegen. Das Grand Hyatt liegt an der geschäftigen 42nd Street und neben dem denkmalgeschützten und gleichermaßen belebten Grand Central Terminal. Es eignet sich für kleine und große Partys sowohl für Arbeit als auch für Urlaub. Eine massive Renovierung im Wert von 130 Millionen US-Dollar im Jahr 2011 erfand das Hotel neu, mit neuen Kunstinstallationen und einem kühnen neuen Look für das gesamte Anwesen. Das Hotel engagierte ein paar verschiedene Künstler für die Renovierung, darunter Jaume Plensa, der für seine riesigen öffentlichen Kunststücke bekannt ist, wie der Crown Fountain im Millennium Park in Chicago und Per Frontth, dessen Fotografien im gesamten Gebäude hängen.

Die elegante Lobby ist ein riesiger, stimmungsvoller Raum mit hohen Decken und zwei gigantischen mosaikartigen Skulpturen aus der Osterinsel, die von Plensa stammen - einer befindet sich in einem "Wasserwand" -Fontänenbrunnen am üppigen Eingang und der andere auf einem weißen Onyxsockel mit Blick auf die Rezeption. Ledersofas und Sitzbereiche in der Lobby bieten den Gästen viele Möglichkeiten zum Verweilen.

Mehr anzeigen Scene

Ort

Eine belebte und super günstige Lage neben dem Grand Central in der geschäftigen Midtown Gegend

Zu sagen, dass 42nd Street zwischen Park und Lexington Avenue beschäftigt ist, wäre eine grobe Untertreibung. Direkt neben dem Grand Central Terminal - und seinen fünf U-Bahn-Linien (4, 5, 6, 7, S) - befindet sich das Grand Hyatt mitten in einem der bequemsten und verkehrsreichsten Knotenpunkte der Stadt. Das heißt, eine Reihe von Highlights der Stadt befinden sich in unmittelbarer Nähe des Grand Hyatt. Zu den begehbaren Highlights gehören das Chrysler Building (eine Minute), die New York Public Library (sieben Minuten), der Bryant Park (sieben Minuten), der Times Square (13 Minuten), das Empire State Building (15 Minuten), die St. Patrick's Cathedral (12 Minuten) ), Rockefeller Center (14 Minuten), und 5th Ave belebten Einkaufsmöglichkeiten (12 Minuten). Mehrere große Einzelhandelsketten (wie Banana Republic) sind mit der Grand Central Station verbunden, und die Station beherbergt auch eine große Auswahl an Geschäften und gastronomischen Einrichtungen. Es ist etwas weiter weg zum Central Park (28 Minuten zu Fuß) und Chinatown (eine Stunde zu Fuß oder 20 Minuten mit dem Zug).

New York City hat drei Flughäfen in der Nähe: JFK, LaGuardia und Newark (in New Jersey), und die Reisezeiten von jedem sind stark abhängig von der Tageszeit und den Verkehrsbedingungen. Im Allgemeinen dauert es etwa eine Stunde bis JFK, 30 Minuten von LaGuardia und etwa 90 Minuten von Newark.

Mehr anzeigen Ort

Zimmer

Eine Reihe von modernen Zimmern und Suiten, obwohl viele Show-Kleidung

Die Zimmer und Suiten sind modern mit Stoffen in Champagner- und Pflaumentönen gestaltet, mit eleganten Holzoberflächen und großen abstrakten Leinwänden hinter den Betten. Verfügbar mit Bettkonfigurationen von Einzelkönig, Einzelkönigin oder zwei Doppelbetten, die Zimmer haben eine gute Größe für NYC. Standard-Zimmer beginnen bei 280 bis 300 Quadratfuß, während Suiten von 400 bis 1400 Quadratfuß reichen. Die Suiten (Premier, Grand Executive, Grand City View und Presidential ) sind ideal für Familien oder längere Aufenthalte, mit Ess- und Sitzbereichen und Zugang zur Club Lounge. Tech-Funktionen gehören Flachbild-TVs, iPod-Dockingstationen und Touch-Panel-Beleuchtung, die temperamentvoll sein kann. Die Zimmer bieten Mini-Kühlschrank, aber keine Minibar oder Kaffeemaschine. Die Badezimmer sind mit Granit-Waschtischen, importierten Steinböden, Marmorduschen, Toilettenartikeln und Haartrocknern ausgestattet - obwohl einige Gäste sich beschweren, dass die Badezimmer zu eng sind und die Abwesenheit von Bademänteln viele frustriert. Zu den weiteren Annehmlichkeiten auf den Zimmern gehören Safes, Bügeleisen und Bügelbretter. Die Fenster sind schallisoliert, aber im Gegensatz zu vielen der Midtown Tower Hotels können die Gäste das Fenster öffnen und sich in aller Ruhe entspannen. Etwa die Hälfte der Zimmer hat einen Blick auf die 42. Straße. Ehemalige Gäste haben sich über Abnutzung beschwert.

Mehr anzeigen Zimmer

Angebote

New York Central Restaurant und Bar, modernes Fitness-Center, Gourmet-Markt, ein Qualitäts-Business-Center und kostenloses Wi-Fi

Features im Grand Hyatt richten sich gleichermaßen an Touristen und Geschäftsreisende. Das Highlight ist das New York Central Restaurant mit dazugehöriger Lounge und Bar. Es serviert gehobene westeuropäische Küche mit Blick auf die 42nd Street. Der Zimmerservice ist rund um die Uhr verfügbar. Market, ein Gourmet-Treffpunkt in der Lobby, ist rund um die Uhr geöffnet und bietet eine Auswahl an Snacks, Sandwiches, warmen Speisen, Salaten und Starbucks-Kaffee zum Mitnehmen. Die Grand Club Lounge auf der 16. Etage bietet Speisen und Getränke für die Gäste der Club-Zimmer. Freuen Sie sich auf stilvolle Sitzgelegenheiten im Innenbereich und auf der Terrasse mit vielen kostenlosen Snacks, Getränken, Kaffee und täglichem Frühstück.

Es gibt ein gut ausgestattetes Fitness-Center auf der Penthouse-Ebene, mit vielen Precor Laufbändern, Cardio-Bikes, Treppensteigern, verschiedenen Krafttrainingsgeräten und Hanteln. Das Business-Center ist darauf ausgerichtet, die hohe Anzahl an Arbeitsbienen im Hotel zu bewältigen. Der Raum bietet mehrere PCs, Drucker und Faxgeräte, und für alles andere steht ein Mitarbeiter zur Verfügung. Kostenloses WLAN ist im gesamten Hotel verfügbar. Für Veranstaltungen stehen fünf Ballsäle und 45 schicke Tagungsräume mit flexiblem Raum zur Verfügung. Catering ist verfügbar.

Mehr anzeigen Angebote

Beste Preise

Ausstattung

  • Babysitter-Service

  • Business-Center

  • Cable

  • Concierge

  • Fitnessstudio

  • Flughafen-Shuttle

  • Getränkeservice am Pool

  • Getrennter Schlafzimmer-/ Wohnzimmerbereich

  • Internet

  • Kinder erlaubt

  • Kinderbetten

  • Klimaanlage

  • Meeting / Conference Rooms

  • Minibar (mit Alkohol)

  • Raucherzimmer verfügbar

  • Swim-up-Bar

  • Textilreinigung

  • Wäscherei

  • Zimmerservice

Haftungsausschluss: Dieser Inhalt war zum Zeitpunkt der Hotelbewertung korrekt. Bitte überprüfen Sie bei der Buchung auf unseren Partnerseiten, ob die Angaben noch korrekt sind.

View All Hotels in Midtown East

Grand Hyatt New York 3.5

Midtown East, New York City, New York

Enter Dates for Best Prices

Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com

Review Summary

Photos and Review by

Pros

  • Next door to Grand Central Station and an easy walk to Bryant Park and Times Square
  • Contemporary rooms and suites with mini-fridges, flat-screen TVs, and comfy beds
  • Club Level rooms have access to a private lounge with upscale snacks and drinks
  • New York Central Restaurant, lounge, and bar overlooking 42nd Street; 24-hour room service
  • 24-hour gourmet market sells all manner of snacks, meals-to-go, and Starbucks coffee
  • Well-equipped fitness center with Precor equipment
  • Business center with secretarial services
  • Lobby and hallways decorated with sculptures and paintings by renowned artists
  • Family-friendly amenities include kids’ menu and baby toiletries
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
  • In-room spa services available
  • Five ballrooms and 45 event spaces 

Cons

  • The location is central, but very chaotic
  • Some wear and tear in the rooms
  • Small bathrooms and complaints of weak water pressure
  • Rooms lack minibars and coffeemakers

Bottom Line

The upper-middle-range Grand Hyatt New York has a prime location in New York's corporate and tourist center. The highlight here is the location -- it's next door to Grand Central Station and within a 15-minute walk of Times Square, Bryant Park, and Rockefeller Center, although the Midtown address can be too chaotic for some guests. The 1,306 modern rooms come in a wide range of categories, and all include a mini-fridge and windows that open (rare for NYC). New York Central restaurant, lounge, and bar serves upscale western European-inspired fare with views right over 42nd Street. There's also a 24-hour to-go market in the lobby, modern fitness center, and business center with secretarial services. Travelers seeking a chain hotel in a slightly quieter setting, should check rates at The Westin New York Grand Central

Oyster Awards

Flights for this trip with Skyscanner.com

Oyster Hotel Photos

View All 8 Albums

Oyster Hotel Review

Scene

Stylish chain hotel with sculptural touches 

Originally named the Commodore Hotel after "Commodore" Cornelius Vanderbilt, the property first opened in 1919 and offered accommodations for $2.50 a night with the slogan: "A room and a bath for two and half." Today, the Grand Hyatt is a constantly bustling and enormous chain hotel and prices have risen significantly. Located on busy 42nd Street, and next to the landmarked and equally busy Grand Central Terminal, the Grand Hyatt suits small and large parties for both work and vacation. A massive, $130 million renovation in 2011 reinvented the hotel, with new art installations and a bold new look for the entire property. The hotel enlisted a few different artists for the renovation, including Jaume Plensa, who is known for his giant public art pieces like Crown Fountain in Chicago’s Millennium Park, and Per Fronth, whose photography hangs throughout the building. 

The sleek lobby is a vast moody-lit space with soaring ceilings and two giant Easter Island-looking Macael marble sculptures from Plensa -- one resides in a "water-wall" fountain at the lavish entrance, and the other on a white onyx pedestal overlooking the reception area. Leather couches and seating areas scattered throughout the lobby give guests plenty of spots to linger. 

Location

A busy and super convenient location next to Grand Central in the bustling Midtown area

To say that 42nd Street between Park and Lexington avenues is busy would be a gross understatement. Sitting directly next to Grand Central Terminal -- and its five subway lines (4, 5, 6, 7, S) -- means the Grand Hyatt is smack in the middle of one of the most convenient and congested transient hubs of the city. That said, a number of city highlights are located within excellent proximity to the Grand Hyatt. Walkable highlights include the Chrysler Building (one minute), the New York Public Library (seven minutes), Bryant Park (seven minutes), Times Square (13 minutes), the Empire State Building (15 minutes), St Patrick’s Cathedral (12 minutes), Rockefeller Center (14 minutes), and 5th Ave’s bustling shopping (12 minutes). Several big-chain retailers (such as Banana Republic) are connected to Grand Central Station, and the Station also houses a wide range of shops and food outlets. It's a bit further afield to Central Park (28 minutes on foot) and Chinatown (an hour on foot or 20 minutes by train).

New York City has three nearby airports: JFK, LaGuardia, and Newark (in New Jersey), and travel times from each are heavily dependent on the time of day and traffic conditions. Generally speaking, it should take around an hour to JFK, 30 minutes from LaGuardia, and about 90 minutes to Newark.

Rooms

A range of contemporary rooms and suites, though many show wear 

Guest rooms and suites feature contemporary decor with fabrics in shades of Champagne and plum, with sleek wood finishes, and big abstract canvases behind the beds. Available with bed configurations of single king, single queen, or two double beds, rooms are a good size for NYC. Standard Rooms start at 280 to 300 square feet, while suites range from 400 to 1400 square feet. Suites (Premier, Grand Executive, Grand City View, and Presidential) are ideal for families or longer stays, with dining and sitting areas, and access to the Club Lounge. Tech features include flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations, and touch-screen panel lighting which can be temperamental. Rooms provide mini-fridges, but no minibars or coffeemakers. Bathrooms have granite vanities, imported stone floors, marble showers, toiletries, and hairdryers -- although some guests complain bathrooms are too cramped and the absence of robes frustrates many. Other in-room features include safes, irons, and ironing boards. Windows are soundproofed, but unlike many of the Midtown tower hotels, guests can open the window and let in a breeze. About half of the rooms have a view of 42nd Street. Past guests have complained of wear and tear. 

Features

New York Central restaurant and bar, modern fitness center, gourmet food market, a quality business center, and free Wi-Fi 

Features at Grand Hyatt are aimed equally at tourists and business travelers. The highlight is New York Central restaurant, with it's accompanying lounge and bar. It serves upscale western European-inspired fare with views right over 42nd Street. Room service is available 24 hours. Market, a gourmet to-go venue in the lobby, is open 24 hours a day and offers an array of snacks, sandwiches, hot meals, salads, and Starbucks coffee to-go. The Grand Club lounge on the 16th floor offers food and drink service for guests staying in Club rooms. It features stylish indoor and terrace seating, with plenty of free snacks, drinks, coffee, and breakfast served daily. 

There is a well-equipped fitness center on the penthouse level, with plenty of Precor treadmills, cardio bikes, stairclimbers, assorted weight-training equipment, and free weights. The business center is armed to handle the high volume of worker bees staying at the hotel. The space offers several personal computers, printers, and fax machines, and there's a staff member on hand for anything else. Free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the hotel. For events, there are five ballrooms and 45 chic meeting rooms with flexible space. Catering is available.  

Customers Who Viewed Grand Hyatt New York Also Viewed

Things You Should Know About Grand Hyatt New York

Address

109 East 42nd Street , Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, New York 10017-8500, United States

Phone

(212) 883-1234

Also Known As

  • Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
  • Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
  • Grand Hyatt New York City
  • Hotel Hyatt New York
  • Hyatt Hotel New York
  • Hyatt Hotel New York City
  • Hyatt New York City
  • New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
  • New York Hyatt

Room Types

  • Business Plan Room
  • Deluxe King Room
  • Executive Room
  • Grand Club Room
  • Hypo-Allergenic Room
  • Junior Suite
  • Lexington Suite
  • One King Bed Room
  • One Queen Room
  • Standard Room
  • Two Double Bed Room
  • VIP Suite

Like Us on Facebook! We Make Your Day Better with Gorgeous Pics