Pour

  • Des activités qui conviennent aux enfants toute la journée, tous les jours
  • Les chambres sont dotées d’un téléviseur à écran plat, d’un micro-ondes et d’un mini-réfrigérateur.
  • Les suites disposent d’un espace de vie séparé et certaines ont un balcon
  • Un accès direct sur une grande plage propre, disposant de nombreuses activités
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon avec une grande variété de soins
  • Centre de remise en forme bien équipée
  • De nombreuses (bien que médiocres) possibilités de restauration sur place
  • Machines à laver (avec un supplément)
  • Les animaux de compagnie de moins de 13 kg sont admis (avec supplément)
Voir plus Pour

Inconvénients

  • À 30 minutes et 30 $ de taxi de South Beach
  • Atmosphère bruyante, centrée sur les enfants.
  • Taxe de séjour quotidienne (habituelle à Miami) 
  • Restauration limitée dans le voisinage immédiat
  • Pas de vie nocturne dans le quartier
Voir plus Inconvénients

Ce qu'il faut retenir

Des chambres spacieuses, un énorme choix d'activités centrées sur les enfants, et un emplacement en bord de mer dans la banlieue sécurisée de Sunny Isles -- le Newport est un choix sûr pour des vacances en famille. Ce n'est peut être pas aussi chic que l'Acqualina ou le Trump International qui se trouvent à proximité, ni autant que le Loews à South Beach, mais c'est souvent un meilleur rapport qualité-prix. Notez qu’il y a un supplément quotidien qui inclut le Wi-Fi, des chaises longues et un accès à la piscine et à la salle de sport. 

Voir plus Ce qu'il faut retenir

Ce que vous devez savoir sur Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Également appelé

  • Newport Hotel Miami
  • Newport Hotel Miami Beach
  • Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
  • Newport Beachside
  • Newport Miami Beach
  • Newport Beachside Hotel

Types de chambre

  • 1 Bedroom City View Suite
  • 1 Bedroom Pool View Suite
  • 1 Bedroom Suite
  • 2 Bedroom Oceanfront
  • 2 Bedroom Suite City View
  • 2 Bedroom Suite Partial Ocean View
  • 2 Bedroom Suite Pool View
  • Standard Room

Adresse

16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, Florida 33160-4201, United States

Site Internet

Avis Hôtel Oyster

Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Autre

Quand les enfants s'amusent les parents sont (normalement) dépassés. Le Newport, c'est un peu comme une croisière sur terre — des activités toute la journée, du divertissement toute la nuit et de nombreux restaurants.

Il y a des années, le Newport attirait une foule constante d'artistes tels que Sammie Davis Jr., Tina Turner, les Platters, et Jimi Hendrix, entre autres (selon le site web de la station tout du moins). Cependant, beaucoup de choses peuvent changer en 40 ans. Demandez donc à Tina Turner. (Vous ne pouvez pas demander aux autres — ils sont morts) Depuis que le milieu de la fête s'est déplacé il a plusieurs décennies 20 miles plus bas sur la côte à South Beach, le Newport s'est transformé en une station familiale de moyenne échelle. 

Tant que cela ne vous ennuie pas d'encaisser de bonne heure, vous (ou vos enfants tout du moins) ne serez jamais à court de choses à faire au Newport. Lorsque je suis arrivé dans ma chambre, la première chose que j'ai entendu c'était le microphone qui criait « B13 » 11 étages en dessous. Apparemment, le Bingo Fun de la piscine avait déjà commencé. Et le jour suivant, c’était la Course de chevaux.

Bien que le Newport offre des forfaits romantiques, si vous êtes à la recherche de restauration gastronomique et de soins, ou bien simplement d'un peu de paix et de calme au bord de la piscine, ce n'est pas un endroit pour vous. Cependant, le couple dans la chambre d'à côté semblait beaucoup s'amuser. (Oh, mais ce n'est pas de cela que je veux parler. Je pouvais sentir l'herbe qu'ils fumaient sur mon balcon chaque après-midi.)

Voir plus Autre

Autre

Directement sur la plage. À deux minutes de la restauration au centre commercial linéaire. Oubliez le milieu de la nuit : South Beach se trouve à 30 minutes et 30 $ de taxi.

Le Newport se trouve à Sunny Isles, une banlieue aisée de Miami au bord de la plage qui se considère comme la « Florida's Riviera ». C'est un peu exagéré, surtout si South Beach (à 30 minutes de route) est supposée être l' « America's Riviera ». Bien qu'il y ait certaines similarités avec l'originale : Les hôtels gratte-ciels abondent, certains avec de grands noms (comme Trump), et la plage est longue, grande, et douce.

L'hôtel se trouve à 35 minutes et 50 $ de taxi de l'aéroport international de Fort Lauderdale et à 45 minutes et 60 $ de taxi de l'aéroport international de Miami. Un voiturier et un parking sont disponibles avec un supplément.

Dans la rue, cependant, on trouve principalement des enseignes de fast-food et des franchises telles que Walgreen's, CVS, Denny's, McDonald's, et GNC. Hormis le fast-food, il y a peu de choix de restauration. Le centre commercial linéaire, de l'autre côté de Collins Avenue, offre quelques possibilités.

Voir plus Autre

Autre

Large et propre, avec des gens de toutes les formes et de tous les âges et beaucoup de choses à faire : des bains de soleil, une baignade à l'ombre, du volley-ball, du skimboard, la construction de châteaux de sable, et plus.

Le Newport donne directement sur la plage. Passez devant la piscine, descendez quelques marches, et vous y êtes. Le soleil et le sable, pas de soucis.

Sur la plage, les enfants semblaient s'amuser, tandis que les adultes profitaient pleinement des super chaises de plage matelassées, dont l'utilisation est incluse dans le prix de l’hôtel. Cependant, les parasols et les paillotes de style Pacifique Sud privées coûteront un supplément.

La jetée sur la 167th Street, juste à côté de la station, vaut aussi le coup d'y jeter un œil. Vous ne pouvez pas tout remonter, mais la partie au-dessus de la plage accueille le Pelican on the Pier, un endroit amusant où boire une bière ou déguster une assiette de fruits de mer.

Si vous avez envie d'un peu de solitude, marchez simplement un peu vers le nord, loin de la jetée (bien que cela éliminera toutes vos chances de trouver de l'ombre).

Voir plus Autre

Autre

Des chambres spacieuses avec des micro-ondes, des télévisions à écrans plats et des mini-réfrigérateurs.

Les chambres du Newport Beachside Hotel comprennent 22 chambres Standard avec deux grands lits, 280 suites avec un lit, 29 suites avec deux lits et 8 suites exécutives. Même si les meubles sont modernes, ils sont tous décorés dans des tons terreux de vert, orange et marron, ce qui donne à l’ensemble une ambiance démodée. Mais les grands téléviseurs à écran plat et les stations d’accueil iHome permettent de les amener au XXIe siècle. Toutes les chambres disposent également d’un micro-ondes, d’un mini-réfrigérateur, d’un coffre électronique et de matériel de repassage. Les salles de bains beiges possèdent un ensemble douche/baignoire avec une baignoire à jet (excepté pour les suites exécutives) et des produits de toilettes de la marque de l’hôtel. Les chambres Standard et les Suites avec un lit font 31 m².

Les suites ont un espace de vie séparé avec un canapé-lit ou un lit Murphy. La vue donne soit sur la ville, soit sur la piscine/une partie de l’océan, soit sur le front de mer. Certaines des suites disposent de balcons meublés. Les Suites exécutives, de 43 m², disposent d’un grand espace cuisine avec un grand réfrigérateur, une douche à l’italienne en verre et deux balcons.

Les animaux de moins de 13 kilos sont autorisés avec un supplément payé en une seule fois.

Voir plus Autre

Autre

Des activités en abondance, des ateliers au bord de la piscine aux chasses au trésor et au bingo en passant par les jeux de société. On trouve aussi l'habituel : une grande piscine, un spa, et un centre de remise en forme.

Cela nécessite peu d'effort, surtout pour les enfants, de trouver quelque chose à faire au Newport, quelle que soit l'heure. Que ce soit au bord de la piscine (chasse au trésor, ateliers, jeu de fléchettes) ou sur la plage (construction de châteaux de sable, volley-ball, Jet-Ski), le Newport organise des activités toute la journée et tous les jours. À la fois pour les adultes et les enfants, la piscine principale est l’épicentre de l’activité au Newport et est entourée de chaises longues. À proximité de la piscine principale se trouve une piscine pour enfants et un Jacuzzi. 

Les adultes seront peut-être plus heureux en allant au Seven Seas Spa & Salon, grâce à une grande variété de soins. Il y a également un centre de remise en forme bien équipé avec des appareils de cardio et de musculation, des poids libres et des tapis de yoga.

il y a aussi une salle d’arcade, une buanderie et une boutique de cadeaux sur place.

Voir plus Autre

Autre

Un choix de restaurant pour chaque repas, ainsi qu'un café dans le hall. Il y a peu de choix a l'extérieur — principalement du fast-food.

L'Ocean Reef Café sert un buffet traditionnel pour le petit-déjeuner. La nourriture est médiocre, et l'atmosphère, tout du moins lorsque j'y étais, pourrait être décrite comme un « chaos organisé » , avec des cris d'enfants et des serveurs stressés courant de table en table. Un matin, j'ai été témoin d'une bagarre à poings nus qui a failli dépasser dans la file d'attente pour le buffet. Cela dit, vous feriez peut-être mieux d'acheter du lait et des céréales au CVS de l'autre côté de la rue et laisser vos enfants se battre pour les céréales dans votre chambre.

Le déjeuner est servi par le Coconut's, le bar et grill au bord de la piscine. Des burgers, des frites, du poulet grillé, et cetera. Divertissement nocturne médiocre mais raisonnable. Il y a également le Beach Bar pour les cocktails et la nourriture, de 11 h à 2 h environ. Vous pourrez y trouver des plats tels que des cheeseburgers et des côtes de porc, ou une large gamme de sushi. 

Le restaurant principal — et la seule option sur place pour le dîner — est leKitchen 305, un mélange déroutant de Chuck E. Cheese's, Saturday Night Fever, et d'un restaurant lounge chic façon Soho. Seules la boule à facettes et les lumières stroboscopiques maintiennent la pièce suffisamment éclairée pour lire le menu. Il y a un bar près de l'entrée, mais attendez vous à des parents faisant sauter leurs enfants sur les genoux, pas à une ambiance de folie.

Dans le hall se trouve Cappuccino’s, un endroit où vous pourrez trouver du café, des pâtisseries ou des glaces, du matin au soir.

Voir plus Autre

Les meilleurs tarifs

Commodités

  • Activités supérvisées pour enfants

  • Animaux domestiques permis

  • Balcony / Terrace / Patio

  • Bar de la piscine

  • Beauty / Hair Salon

  • Cable

  • Centre d'affaires

  • Centre de conditionnement physique

  • Chambre séparée / espace salon

  • Climatisation

  • Concierge

  • Court de tennis

  • Enfants permis

  • Internet

  • Jacuzzi

  • Laverie

  • Lits de bébés

  • Meeting / Conference Rooms

  • Nettoyage à sec

  • Piscine

  • Piscine pour enfants

  • Plage

  • Salle de jeux

  • Service boissons au bord de la piscine

  • Service de chambre

  • Spa

  • Télévision de base

Avertissement: Ce contenu était exact au moment de la révision de l'hôtel. Veuillez vérifier sur nos sites partenaires lors de la réservation que les détails sont toujours corrects.

Photos and Review by

Summary


Pros

  • Kid-friendly activities all day, every day
  • Rooms have flat-screen TVs, microwaves, and mini-fridges
  • Suites have a separate living area and some have balconies
  • Direct access to a large, clean, activity-filled beach
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon with a variety of treatments
  • Well-equipped fitness center
  • Plentiful (if mediocre) on-site dining options
  • Laundry machines (for a fee)
  • Pets under 25 pounds allowed (for a fee)

Cons

  • 30-minute, $30 taxi to South Beach
  • Noisy, kid-centered atmosphere
  • Daily resort fee (common in Miami) 
  • Limited dining in the immediate vicinity
  • No nightlife in the area

Bottom Line

Spacious rooms, a huge assortment of kid-centered activities, and a beachside location in safe, suburban Sunny Isles -- the Newport is a solid option for a family vacation. It might not be as swanky as the nearby Acqualina or Trump International, or even the Loews in South Beach, but it's a good value. Note that there's a daily resort fee that includes Wi-Fi, beach chairs, and access to the pool and gym

Oyster Awards

See All Panoramas

Oyster Hotel Panoramas

See All Albums

Oyster Hotel Photos

Oyster Hotel Review

Scene

Kids gone wild, with parents (usually) in tow. The Newport is a lot like a cruise on land -- activities all day long, entertainment at night, and multiple restaurants.

The lobby is full of families at this beachfront resort, which provides an extensive range of activities and entertainment for children

Years ago the Newport attracted a steady crowd of famous entertainers such as Sammie Davis Jr., Tina Turner, the Platters, and Jimi Hendrix, among others (or so says the resort's website). A lot, however, can change in 40 years. Just ask Tina Turner. (You can't ask the others -- they're dead.) In the decades since the party scene moved down the coast 20 miles to South Beach, the Newport has transformed itself into a middle-scale family-friendly resort. 

As long as you don't mind cashing in early, you (or at least your kids) will never lack for things to do at the Newport. Upon checking into my room, the first thing I heard was the microphone blaring "B13" from 11 stories below. Apparently poolside Bingo Fun was underway, and the next day, it was poolside Horse Racing.

Although the Newport does offer special romance packages, if you're looking for fine dining and pampering, or even just peace and quiet by the pool, this isn't your place. Then again, the couple next door to me seemed to be having plenty of adult fun. (Oh, get your mind out of the gutter. I just smelled their pot smoke on my balcony every afternoon.)

Location

Right on the beach. Two minutes to strip-mall dining. Forget the night scene: South Beach is a 30-minute, $30 cab ride away.

Map of Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

The Newport is in Sunny Isles, an affluent beachside suburb of Miami that refers to itself as Florida's Riviera. That's going bit overboard, especially if South Beach (a 30-minute drive away) is supposed to be America's Riviera. Though there are certainly some similarities to the original: High-rise hotels abound, some with big names attached (think Trump), and the beach is long, wide, and soft.

The hotel is a 35-minute, $50 taxi ride from Fort Lauderdale International Airport and a 45-minute, $60 taxi ride from Miami International Airport. Valet and self parking are available for a fee.

Down the street, though, it's mostly fast food and franchises like Walgreen's, CVS, Denny's, McDonald's, and GNC. Outside of fast food, the dining options aren't plentiful. The strip mall across the street, on the other side of Collins Avenue, does offer some possibilities though.

View the Full Sunny Isles Area Guide

Nearby Hotels

Beach

Broad and clean, with people of all shapes and ages and plenty going on: sunbathing, shade-bathing, volleyball, skimboarding, sandcastle-building, and more.

The Beach provides a nice amount of padded loungers and umbrellas as well as South Pacific-style huts (for a fee), as well as plenty for kids to do

The Newport is right on the beach. Just head past the pool, walk down a few steps, and there you are. Sun and sand, no fuss.

On the beach, the kids seemed to be having fun, while the adults took full advantage of the nice padded beach chairs, which are included in the resort fee. However, umbrellas or private South Pacific-style huts will cost extra.

The pier just off 167th Street, right next to the resort, is also worth a look. You can't go all the way out there, but the part above the beach plays host to the Pelican on the Pier, a fun place to grab a beer or a plate of seafood.

For some solitude, just walk north a bit, away from the pier (though that will eliminate any opportunities for shade).

Rooms

Spacious rooms with microwaves, flat-screen TVs, and mini-fridges.

The spacious Standard Rooms incorporate somewhat dated décor, but provide a good range of amenities, including a microwave and mini-fridge

Rooms at the Newport Beachside Hotel include 22 Standard Rooms with two full beds, 280 One-Bedroom Suites, 29 Two-Bedroom Suites, and 8 Executive Suites. While furnishings are modern, they're all decorated in earth tones of green, orange, and brown that give an overall dated vibe. But large flat-screen TVs and iHome docking stations help bring them into the 21st century. All rooms also have a microwave, mini-fridge, electronic safe, and ironing equipment. Beige bathrooms have shower/tub combos with jetted tubs (except for the Executive Suites) and hotel-brand toiletries. The Standard Rooms and One-Bedroom Suites are 336 square feet.

Suites have a separate living room area with either a pullout sofa or Murphy bed. Views are either city, pool/partial ocean, or ocean front, and some of the suites have furnished balconies. The Executive Suites, at 468 square feet, have a larger kitchen area with a full-size refrigerator, walk-in glass shower, and two balconies.

Pets under 25 pounds are allowed for a one-time fee.

Rooms and Rates

Features

Activities galore, from poolside arts and crafts to treasure hunts to bingo and board games. There's also the usual: a large pool, a spa, and a fitness center.

The large pool, which has an accompanying kiddy pool/hot tub, is surrounded by loungers and overlooks the beach

It takes little effort, especially for kids, to find something going on at any given hour at the Newport. Whether by the pool (treasure hunts, arts and crafts, darts) or on the beach (sandcastle-building, volleyball, Jet-Skiing), the Newport runs organized activities all day, every day. For both kids and adults, the main pool is the epicenter of activity at the Newport and surrounded by loungers. Adjacent to the main pool is a kiddy pool and hot tub. 

Adults may be happier making use of the Seven Seas Spa & Salon, with a variety of treatment options. There's also a well-equipped fitness center with cardio and strength-training machines, free weights, and yoga mats.

There's also an arcade room, laundry room, and gift shop on site.

Food

A restaurant option for each meal, plus a coffee shop in the lobby. Off-site, there are scant options -- mostly fast food.

Kitchen 305, the main restaurant, incorporates puzzling décor elements like strobe lights and a disco ball, considering it is a family restaurant

For breakfast, the Ocean Reef Café serves a traditional buffet. The food is mediocre, and the atmosphere, at least when I was there, could best be described as "organized chaos," with screaming children and stressed-out waiters dashing from table to table. One morning, I saw a fist fight nearly break out in the buffet line. All told, you might do best just buying some milk and cereal at the CVS across the street and letting your kids fight it out over the Count Chocula in your room.

Lunch is served by Coconut's, the poolside bar and grill. Burgers, fries, grilled chicken, et cetera. Mediocre but reasonable and nightly entertainment. There's also the Beach Bar for cocktails and food from around 11 a.m. to 2 a.m. There you can get dishes like cheeseburgers and ribs, or a range of sushi. 

The main restaurant -- and the only on-site option for dinner -- is Kitchen 305, an unsettling amalgam of Chuck E. Cheese's, Saturday Night Fever, and a chic, Soho-style lounge. Only the disco ball and strobe lights keep the room bright enough to read the menu. There's a bar near the entrance, but expect parents bouncing toddlers on their knees, not a wild party scene.

In the lobby is Cappuccino’s, where you can get coffee, pastries, or ice cream from morning until night.

Amenities

Key Features
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Internet
Pets Allowed
Cribs
Jacuzzi
Hotel Services
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry
Room Service
Pets Allowed
Family Services
Cribs
Kids Allowed
Supervised Kids Activities
Things to Do
Beauty Salon
Business Center
Fitness Center
Gameroom / Arcade
Located on the Beach
Pool
Spa
Room Features
Air Conditioner
Balcony
Television
Separate Bedroom / Living Room Space
Internet
Address
16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, Florida 33160, United States
Also Known As
  • Newport Beachside
  • Newport Beachside Hotel
  • Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
  • Newport Hotel Miami
  • Newport Hotel Miami Beach
  • Newport Miami Beach
Room Types
  • 1 Bedroom City View Suite
  • 1 Bedroom Pool View Suite
  • 1 Bedroom Suite
  • 2 Bedroom Oceanfront
  • 2 Bedroom Suite City View
  • 2 Bedroom Suite Partial Ocean View
  • 2 Bedroom Suite Pool View
  • Standard Room

As Seen In: