Voir tous les hôtels à Montego Bay

Secrets St. James Montego Bay 4.5

Montego Bay, Jamaïque

Entrez vos dates et obtenez les meilleurs tarifs

Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com

Sommaire de l'évaluation

Photos et avis par

Pour

  • Sept restaurants et sept bars (bien que certains soient partagés avec le Secrets Wild Orchid)
  • Un magnifique emplacement en bord de mer sur une péninsule isolée
  • La formule tout-inclus comprend tous les repas et les boissons, y compris spiritueux.
  • Les chambres sont spacieuses et disposent de balcons ou terrasses privés, de minibars gratuits, de stations-docks MP3 ainsi que de télévisions à écran plat.
  • Les fêtes hebdomadaires sur la plage incluant un dîner en bord de mer et des animations en direct
  • Le vaste spa qui inclut des bassins chauds et froids, un salon et un bar à jus
  • Des tonnes d'activités gratuites dont des sports nautiques, du tennis, des classes de fitness, des excursions en vélo et une salle de jeux
  • D'excellentes formules de mariage à un prix abordable
  • Interdit aux enfants (un inconvénient pour certains)

Inconvénients

  • Une piscine plus agréable ainsi que d'autres avantages tels que le Wi-Fi gratuit sont réservés aux clients du Preferred Club
  • Rien d'accessible à pied depuis l'hôtel
  • Les restaurants et les bars ont de longs temps d'attente
  • La plupart des installations sont partagées avec l'hôtel voisin, le Secrets Wild Orchid
  • Interdit aux enfants (un avantage pour certains)

Ce qu'il faut retenir

Ce complexe hôtelier tout-inclus situé en bord de mer sur une péninsule isolée est une des options réservées aux adultes les plus luxueuses de Montego Bay, et il possède une longue liste d'installations parmi lesquels sept restaurants, sept bars, un vaste spa, pas loin de 800 mètres de plage et une tonne d'activités: un théâtre, un centre de plongée, un centre commercial, un casino ainsi qu'une salle de jeux. Le Secrets St. James partage la plupart de ses installations avec son établissement jumeau et voisin, mais les tarifs sont souvent légèrement plus abordables ici.

Prix Oyster

Vols pour ce voyage avec Skyscanner.com

Photos d'hôtels Oyster

Voir tous les 8 albums

Avis Hôtel Oyster

Lieu

Un megaresort pour adultes seulement sur une péninsule calme qui fait appel à deux jeunes mariés et les fêtards

Secret St. James est pas trop romantique, comme les couples les stations de la Jamaïque, ni carrément rauque, comme l'Iberostar Rose Hall Beach dur-fête. Secrets St. James est quelque part au milieu, ce qui lui permet d'avoir un grand attrait. Romance est certainement possible ici; il ya des baignoires ou des baignoires jacuzzi dans toutes les chambres et le spa propose une chaude piscines froides et un jardin zen. Mais les couples actifs peuvent tenir occupé, aussi, avec les sportifs gratuits nautiques, tennis, basket-ball, croquet, cours de fitness, salle de jeux, cage des frappeurs, et un petit casino. Partiers peuvent obtenir gratuitement haut-plateau liqueur à l'un des sept barres (même si elles peuvent avoir à lutter contre la foule).

La station a été achevée en 2010, et il semble un peu plus frais que les anciens (et même gamme de prix) tout compris tels que Breeze Trelawny Resort and Spa et Riu Montego Bay. Les taux ici sont aussi un peu moins que dans les Secrets voisins Wild Orchid, mais les clients ne reçoivent pratiquement tous les mêmes avantages: Les stations se partagent la quasi-totalité de leurs équipements, sauf pour leurs piscines, lobbies, et quelques restaurants ou bars ici et là . (La plupart des restaurants et des bars sont partagés, et se fait entassés dans les soirées en conséquence.)

Pour compliquer les choses est le fait que Secrets St. James est composé de deux hôtels distincts: l'hôtel «régulier» et le VIP "Preferred Club" hôtel. Chaque hôtel possède sa propre entrée, le hall et la construction, ainsi que son propre accès à la piscine et de la plage. Ces personnes séjournant dans la section Club privilégiées reçoivent beaucoup d'avantages supplémentaires comme une piscine séparée et un jacuzzi, un hall d'accueil avec un Club Lounge avec rond-le-horloge buffet et un bar à cocktails et des chambres qui offrent une connexion Wi-Fi gratuite et de meilleurs minibar. Pendant ce temps, les clients séjournant dans l'hôtel régulière peuvent se sentir de seconde classe - des signes à la piscine du Club préféré rappeler aux clients qu'ils doivent prouver leur statut Preferred Club par le clignotement de leur carte-clé colombophile.

Endroit

Situé sur une petite péninsule loin des autres stations Montego Bay

De nombreux invités à les Secrets St. James ne quittent jamais la station, et avec sept restaurants, sept bars, un casino, des boutiques, un théâtre et un spa, il ya peu de raisons de. La station est assez proche de l'aéroport que vous pourrez éviter les taxis chers, mais ceux qui veulent explorer la Jamaïque en dehors des secrets de bulles tout compris de Wild Orchid pourrait être déçu, car très peu est à proximité.

  • 10 minutes en voiture de l'aéroport de Montego Bay
  • 5 minutes à pied de Montego Bay Yacht Club
  • 22 minutes en voiture de Tryall Golf Club

Chambres

D'inspiration coloniale, lits de style, à baldaquin et balcon - mais ils sont moins luxueux que les chambres de Secrets Wild Orchid

Alors que les chambres à Secrets St. James ont mises identiques aux chambres de Secrets Wild Orchid, le décor est un peu plus simple et plus traditionnelle. Extras comprennent des lits à baldaquin, une pomme de douche, baignoires, balcons privés, un radio-réveil compatible MP3, une télévision à écran plat et un lecteur DVD / CD. Même les chambres d'entrée de gamme sont spacieux et bien conçu. Et un gros bonus: les salles de bains peek-a-boo ont des volets qui peuvent être fermés de la vie privée.

Ces personnes séjournant dans la section Preferred Club de l'hôtel obtenir quelques cadeaux supplémentaires: gratuits codes Wi-Fi, plus de goodies dans les minibars, et l'accès à tous les espaces VIP tels que le Club Lounge et la piscine Premiere, qui est plus silencieux et plus belle que la piscine principale.

Les couples peuvent apprécier la «boîte Secrets" dans chaque chambre, qui est essentiellement un monte-charge non-mobile qui permet aux clients de commander un service de chambre sans avoir à ouvrir la porte pour la livraison. Au contraire, le repas est placé dans la boîte et à gauche pour les clients pour accéder via un deuxième porte dans leur chambre.

  • Une télévision à écran plat de 37 pouces avec un lecteur de CD / DVD
  • Minibar approvisionné quotidiennement avec des boissons gazeuses, eau embouteillée, et la bière premium
  • Les balcons privés meublés
  • Wi-Fi (pour un coût dans les chambres régulières; gratuit dans la chambre Preferred Club)
  • Peignoirs et pantoufles en peluche
  • Dans les salles de bains: douches séparées et baignoires, Gilchrest & Soames articles de toilette, et miroirs de maquillage grossissant
  • Service de chambre 24 heures
  • La climatisation et les ventilateurs de plafond
  • Réveils avec station d'accueil MP3
  • Service de nuit
  • Ne pas déranger système d'éclairage
  • Secrets Box pour la prestation de services de salle de incognito
  • Junior Suites sont les chambres d'entrée de gamme; le salon et la chambre sont séparés par des cloisons murales.
  • Master Suites disposent de chambres séparées et salles de séjour, baignoires jacuzzi pour deux personnes, une pomme de douche, et de grands balcons avec jacuzzis extérieurs.

Plage

Isolé à partir d'autres stations sur une péninsule

Contrairement à certaines bandes populaires le long de la rive nord de Montego Bay et Seven Mile Beach à Negril, la plage de Secrets ne partage pas son point de vue ou des frontières avec d'autres propriétés. Au lieu de cela, la tache de la péninsule de la station est isolée et sereine, et les clients ont la course de la rive.

La plage est de sable fin blanc et eau chaude et claire, et de nombreux salon en osier chaises sont proposés, ainsi que des palapas pour l'ombre. Activités sur la plage incluent beach-volley, le badminton et de fer à cheval. Certaines sections de la plage sont très étroites.

Si une partie de la plage est exclusive au Club Preferred, personne n'a été en application la séparation.

Piscine

Une piscine principale, une piscine Preferred Club, et une piscine au Secrets Wild Orchid voisins - le tout avec vue sur la plage

La grande piscine principale au Secrets St. James a un débordement, un bar-piscine palapa, et une vue imprenable sur l'océan. Il est entouré par des chaises longues matelassées qualité tissé. Foules, cependant, peut être un problème. Pendant mon séjour, le bar de la piscine avait l'air comme il a été attaqué par une foule folle, avec des invités du surplace pour se rendre à l'avant de la barre comme leurs vies en dépendaient. Sans doute ajoutant à l'atmosphère tapageuse est une deuxième barre, qui est situé à quelques pas de la piscine.

Le chic piscine Preferred Club juste à côté de la porte de la piscine principale (également avec vue sur la plage) peut inspirer l'envie dans les hôtels réguliers invités. Il est plus serein, et une grande pancarte prévient les clients que seul invité avec des cartes clés Preferred Club doit entrer dans la zone - ce qui peut rendre les clients se sentent réguliers de seconde classe. Le plus grand avantage de cette piscine est le service de boissons bord de la piscine; Invités préférés peuvent être servis sur leurs lits de jour pépères tandis que les invités réguliers doivent se frayer un chemin à l'avant d'un bar.

Les clients de Secrets St. James peuvent Mosey sur plus de secrets piscine pour Wild Orchid (au moins, personne n'a été invités empêche de se déplacer entre les deux), qui a également son propre bar et un café swim-up.

Spa

Vaste spa avec une vaste carte de soins et des tonnes d'extras

Le spa dispose de plus de 20 salles de soins et palapas, ainsi que d'un menu de spécialités qui varie de soins du visage et bains de boue à l'hydrothérapie et massages traditionnels. Perks comprennent un bar à jus, une salle de détente avec des piscines chaudes et froides, un jardin de yoga, un salon de coiffure et une boutique. Vestiaires comprennent également des saunas, des hammams, douches à pression, et des douches suisses.

Nourriture

Sept restaurants - et encore une politique de non-réservation signifie extra-longues attentes pour une table

Il pourrait être difficile d'imaginer que une station bénéficiant d'un total de sept restaurants aurait un problème avec la foule, mais je témoins invités attendant avidement l'extérieur de chaque restaurant sur la promenade du restaurant. Les restaurants sont partagés avec la station voisine, qui sert efficacement le nombre de personnes qui tentent d'obtenir une table. Les restaurants ne pas accepter des réservations, afin que les clients qui souhaitent éviter une attente pourraient vouloir manger tôt; Je l'ai vu un couple puce tiré à quatre épingles et se dirigeant vers le dîner à six heures.

La nourriture elle-même, cependant, est impressionnant pour un forfait tout compris. Il ya mexicaine, italienne, jamaïcaine, fusion asiatique et restaurants français à la carte, ainsi que le restaurant buffet obligatoire. Contrairement à beaucoup d'autres hôtels tout compris, l'atmosphère ne se sent pas strip mall-esque; chaque restaurant est logé dans sa propre structure autoportante et possède une décoration distincte.

Boissons

Même les haut-plateau boissons sont gratuites, mais les barres obtenir emballés

Secrets St. James a sept bars, dont swim-up bar de la piscine principale, un piano-bar, un salon de musique, et un bar du hall. Les boissons sont couverts dans les tarifs tout compris, et cela vaut pour le haut-plateau des choses ainsi que le punch pas cher et rayures rouges. Les foules se bousculaient pour attirer l'attention des barmen commencent à se former dans l'après-midi, et il ne fait qu'empirer tant que la soirée porte sur. Les Secrets St. James part avec ses bars voisins Secrets Wild Orchid, et les clients prennent souvent de commander deux (ou trois) boissons à la fois pour assurer qu'ils ne soient pas trop bas en attendant leur prochaine possibilité de commander un autre tour.

  • Haut-plateau d'alcool inclus dans les tarifs tout compris
  • Cocktail de bienvenue et serviette fraîche à l'arrivée
  • Partis gestion de cocktails hebdomadaires

Services

Des services et des cadeaux à gogo Standout

  • café Internet (payant pour l'accès Internet)
  • Un centre commercial avec plusieurs boutiques de souvenirs, une boutique de planification de mariage, un café et un magasin de bijoux
  • Les installations médicales
  • Films sur la plage
  • Partis gestion de cocktails hebdomadaires
  • Des soirées à thème
  • Un théâtre et des spectacles en soirée
  • Cocktail de bienvenue et serviette fraîche à l'arrivée
  • Une petite salle de jeux et casino

Activités physiques

Un centre de remise en forme et beaucoup d'eau et les sports terrestres

Secrets St. James partage son centre de remise en forme et des courts de tennis avec Secrets Wild Orchid. Alors que le centre de remise en forme - qui comprend l'équipement cardio, des haltères, poids libres, et les câbles - ne semble certainement pas être assez grande pour les deux clubs de vacances, qui ont un combiné de 700 chambres, il était en fait assez vide à chaque fois que je visitais.

D'autres activités sont abondantes, notamment pour le tennis libre non motorisés sports nautiques, cours de danse, échecs, jeux de fléchettes, jeux de société, billard, croquet, yoga, cours d'aérobic, cours de cuisine, de ping-pong, et des pistes de jogging. Il ya aussi des activités qui viennent à un coût supplémentaire, telles que la plongée (première leçon de la piscine est gratuite), équitation, excursions de pêche en haute mer et le golf à un parcours de championnat à proximité.

  • Gratuit sports nautiques non motorisés et les sports motorisés pour une taxe
  • Croquet, fléchettes, billard et jeux de société
  • Classes et des cours de cuisine aérobie
  • Leçons de tennis privées

Réunions d'affaires

Plus de 17.000 pieds carrés de réunion, un événement, et l'espace de salon

Secrets St. James offre aux planificateurs sur place qui peuvent coordonner des événements et des réunions à la fois grandes et petites. Il ya près d'une douzaine différents espaces qui peuvent être utilisés pour des cocktails, banquets, des spectacles, des retraites d'entreprise, ou des classes. Des forfaits sont disponibles, et les clients peuvent également créer des événements personnalisés.

Mariages

Plusieurs pavillons sur place et une foule d'espaces intérieurs pour les noces de l'île.

Mariages sont les grandes entreprises en Jamaïque, et Secrets St. James est certainement dans le jeu, fournissant une liste exhaustive de services allant de coordonnateurs de mariage sur place pour pressage et cuisson à la vapeur de la mariée et la robe et smoking du marié. Trois forfaits sont offerts, et les mariages faits sur commande peuvent également être organisées. Les prix des forfaits commencent autour de 1000 $ pour un maximum de 10 personnes, et tous les forfaits incluent un gâteau de mariage, vin mousseux, un bouquet et boutonnière, un officiant, et des nuits gratuites qui vont vers un futur séjour d'anniversaire.

Alors que les cérémonies se déroulent généralement dans un des plusieurs pavillons de mariage le long de la plage, une vaste gamme de chambres et de salles de bal de réunion sont disponibles pour les heures de cocktails, réceptions et dîners de répétition.

Le site Web de Secrets dispose également d'une option de registre dans lequel les couples de se marier peuvent demander des cadeaux seront donnés sous la forme de crédits vers une lune de miel à l'hôtel.

Les clients qui ont regardé Secrets St. James Montego Bay ont aussi regardé

Ce que vous devez savoir à propos de cet Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Adresse

Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Caribbean

Téléphone

1 (876) 953-6600

Types de chambre

  • Junior Suite Ocean View Double
  • Junior Suite Ocean View King
  • Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View Double
  • Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View King
  • Preferred Club Master Suite Ocean Front
  • Preferred Club Presidential Suite

Vous nous aimez déjà ? Nous aimons être aimés

Secrets St. James Montego Bay Rating: 4.5 Pearls
Montego Bay, Jamaica

Oyster Review Summary

Photos and Review by Oyster.com Investigators

Pros

  • 7 restaurants and 7 bars (though some are shared with neighboring Secrets Wild Orchid resort)
  • Beautiful beachfront location on an isolated peninsula
  • All-inclusive rates cover all meals and drinks, including top-shelf liquor
  • Rooms are spacious and feature private balconies or terraces, free minibars, MP3 docks, and flat-screen TVs.
  • Weekly beach parties featuring dinner by the sea and live entertainment
  • Expansive spa with hot and cold pools, salon, and juice bar
  • Tons of free activities including water sports, tennis, fitness classes, bicycle tours, and a game room
  • Excellent and affordable wedding packages
  • No children allowed (a con for some)

Cons

  • Nicer pool and perks such as free Wi-Fi are reserved for Preferred Club guests only
  • Nothing within walking distance
  • Busy restaurants are bars require long waits
  • Most amenities are shared with neighboring resort Secrets Wild Orchid
  • No children allowed (a pro for some)

Bottom Line

This all-inclusive beachfront resort on a remote peninsula is one of the more luxurious adult-only options in Montego Bay, and has a laundry list of property features, including seven restaurants, seven bars, an expansive spa, nearly half a mile of beach, and tons of activities: a theater, dive center, shopping plaza, casino, and game room. Secrets St. James shares most of its amenities with its sister property next door, but rates here are often a bit cheaper.

Categories

, , ,

Oyster Hotel Photos

View All 7 Albums

Oyster Hotel Review

 Scene

A adult-only megaresort on a quiet peninsula that appeals to both honeymooners and partiers

Secret St. James is not overly romantic, like Jamaica’s Couples resorts, nor is it downright raucous, like the hard-partying Iberostar Rose Hall Beach. Secrets St. James is somewhere in the middle, which allows it to have broad appeal. Romance is certainly possible here; there are soaking tubs or Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms, and the spa features hot an cold pools and a Zen garden. But active couples can keep busy, too, with the free water sports, tennis, basketball, croquet, fitness classes, game room, batting cage, and a small casino. Partiers can get free top-shelf liquor at one of the seven bars (though they may have to fight the crowds).

The resort was completed in 2010, and it looks a bit fresher than older (and similarly priced) all-inclusives such as Breeze Trelawny Resort and Spa and Riu Montego Bay. Rates here are also a bit less than at the neighboring Secrets Wild Orchid, though guests receive virtually all of the same benefits: The resorts share nearly all of their amenities, save for their pools, lobbies, and a few restaurants or bars here and there. (Most restaurants and bars are shared, and get quite crowded in the evenings as a result.)

Further complicating matters is the fact that Secrets St. James is made up of two separate hotels: the “regular” hotel and the VIP “Preferred Club” hotel. Each hotel has its own entrance, lobby, and building, as well as its own pool and beach access. Those guests staying in the Preferred Club section receive plenty of extra perks such as a separate pool and Jacuzzi, a lobby featuring a Club Lounge with round-the-clock buffet and cocktail bar, and rooms that provide free Wi-Fi and better minibars. Meanwhile, those guests staying in the regular hotel may feel second-class -- signs at the Preferred Club pool remind guests that they must prove their Preferred Club status by flashing their fancier key card.

 Location

Situated on a small peninsula away from other Montego Bay resorts

Many guests at the Secrets St. James never leave the resort, and with seven restaurants, seven bars, a casino, shops, a theater, and a spa, there's little reason to. The resort is close enough to the airport that guests can avoid expensive taxis, but those who want to explore Jamaica outside of Secrets Wild Orchid’s all-inclusive bubble might be disappointed, as very little is nearby.

  • 10-minute drive from Montego Bay’s airport
  • 5-minute walk to Montego Bay Yacht Club
  • 22-minute drive to Tryall Golf Club

 Rooms

Colonial-inspired style, four-poster beds, and balconies -- but they're less luxurious than the rooms at Secrets Wild Orchid

While the rooms at Secrets St. James have identical layouts to the rooms at Secrets Wild Orchid, the decor is a bit simpler and more traditional. Extras include four-poster beds, rainfall showerheads, soaking tubs, private balconies, MP3-enabled clock radios, flat-screen TVs, and DVD/CD players. Even the entry-level rooms are spacious and well designed. And a big bonus: the peek-a-boo bathrooms have shutters that can be closed for privacy.

Those guests staying in the Preferred Club section of the hotel get some additional freebies: free Wi-Fi access codes, more goodies in the minibars, and access to all of the VIP areas such as the Club Lounge and the Premiere pool, which is quieter and nicer than the main pool.

Couples may appreciate the “Secrets box" in each room, which is essentially a non-moving dumbwaiter that allows guests to order room service without actually having to open the door for delivery. Rather, the meal is placed in the box and left for guests to access via a second door in their room.

  • 37-inch flat-screen TVs with CD/DVD players
  • Minibars refreshed daily with soft drinks, bottled water, and premium beer
  • Private furnished balconies
  • Wi-Fi (for a cost in regular rooms; free in Preferred Club room)
  • Plush bathrobes and slippers
  • In the bathrooms: separate showers and soaking tubs, Gilchrest & Soames toiletries, and magnifying make-up mirrors
  • 24-hour room service
  • Air conditioning and ceiling fans
  • Alarm clocks with MP3 docking station
  • Nightly turndown service
  • Do Not Disturb light system
  • Secrets box for incognito room service delivery
  • Junior Suites are the entry-level rooms; the sitting area and bedroom are separated by wall dividers.
  • Master Suites have separate bedrooms and living rooms, two-person Jacuzzi tubs, rainfall showerheads, and big balconies with outdoor Jacuzzis.

 Beach

Isolated from other resorts on a peninsula

Unlike certain popular strips along the northern shore of Montego Bay and Seven Mile Beach in Negril, Secrets' beach doesn’t share its views or borders with any other properties. Instead, the resort’s peninsular spot is secluded and serene, and guests have the run of the shore.

The beach has fine white sand and clear, warm water, and numerous wicker lounge chairs are on offer, as well as palapas for shade. Activities on the beach include beach volleyball, badminton, and horse shoe. Certain sections of the beach are quite narrow.

Though part of the beach is exclusive to the Preferred Club, no one was enforcing the separation.

 Pool

A main pool, a Preferred Club pool, and a pool at neighboring Secrets Wild Orchid -- all with beach views

The large main pool at Secrets St. James has an infinity edge, a palapa swim-up bar, and breathtaking views of the ocean. It is surrounded by quality woven, padded lounge chairs. Crowds, however, can be a problem. During my stay, the pool bar looked like it was being attacked by a crazy mob, with guests treading water to get to the front of the bar like their lives depended on it. No doubt adding to the rowdy atmosphere is a second bar, which is located just steps from the pool.

The posh Preferred Club pool just next door to the main pool (also with beach views) may inspire envy in the regular hotel guests. It's more serene, and a large placard warns guests that only guest with Preferred Club key cards should enter the area -- which may make regular guests feel second-class. The biggest perk of this pool is the poolside drink service; Preferred guests can get served on their cushy day beds while the regular guests have to push their way to the front of a bar.

Guests at Secrets St. James can mosey on over to Secrets Wild Orchid’s pool (at least, no one was stopping guests from moving between the two), which also has its own swim-up bar and café.

 Spa

Expansive spa with extensive treatment menu and tons of extras

The spa features more than 20 treatment rooms and palapas, as well as a menu of specialties that ranges from facials and mud baths to hydrotherapies and traditional massages. Perks include a juice bar, a relaxation room with hot and cold pools, a yoga garden, a hair salon, and a boutique. Locker rooms also include saunas, steam rooms, pressure showers, and Swiss showers.

 Food

Seven restaurants -- and yet a no-reservation policy means extra-long waits for a table

It might be hard to imagine that a resort boasting a total of seven restaurants would have a problem with crowds, but I witnessed guests hungrily waiting outside of every eatery on the restaurant promenade. The restaurants are shared with the neighboring resort, which effectively doubles the number of guests trying to get a table. The restaurants do not accept reservations, so guests wishing to avoid a wait might want to eat early; I saw one smart couple dressed to the nines and heading to dinner at six o’clock.

The food itself, however, is impressive for an all-inclusive. There are Mexican, Italian, Jamaican, Asian-fusion, and French a la carte restaurants, as well as the obligatory buffet restaurant. Unlike a lot of other all-inclusive resorts, the atmosphere doesn’t feel strip mall-esque; each restaurant is housed in its own freestanding structure and has distinct decor.

 Drinks

Even top-shelf drinks are free, but the bars get packed

Secrets St. James has seven bars, including the main pool’s swim-up bar, a piano bar, a music lounge, and a lobby bar. Drinks are covered in the all-inclusive rates, and that goes for the top-shelf stuff as well as the cheap rum punch and Red Stripes. Crowds jockeying for the bartenders' attention start to form in the late afternoon, and it only gets worse as the evening wears on. The Secrets St. James shares its bars with neighboring Secrets Wild Orchid, and guests often take to ordering two (or three) drinks at a time to ensure they don’t get too low while waiting for their next opportunity to order another round.

  • Top-shelf liquor included in the all-inclusive rates
  • Welcome cocktail and cool towel at check-in
  • Weekly management cocktail parties

 Services

Standout services and freebies galore

  • Internet cafe (fee required for Internet access)
  • A shopping plaza featuring several souvenir shops, a wedding planning shop, a coffee shop, and a jewelry store
  • On-site medical facilities
  • Movies on the beach
  • Weekly management cocktail parties
  • Theme nights
  • A theater, and live nightly entertainment
  • Welcome cocktail and cool towel at check-in
  • A small game room and casino

 Physical Activities

A fitness center and plenty of water- and land-based sports

Secrets St. James shares its fitness center and tennis courts with Secrets Wild Orchid. While the fitness center -- which includes cardio equipment, dumbbells, free weights, and cables -- certainly doesn’t seem to be large enough for both resorts, which have a combined 700 rooms, it was actually quite empty both times I visited.

Other activities are abundant, including free tennis non-motorized water sports, dance classes, chess, darts, board games, croquet, billiards, yoga, aerobics classes, cooking classes, ping-pong, and jogging trails. There are also activities that come at an additional cost, such as scuba diving (first pool lesson is free), horseback riding, deep sea fishing excursions, and golfing at a nearby championship course.

  • Free non-motorized water sports, and motorized sports for a fee
  • Croquet, darts, billiards, and board games
  • Aerobic classes and cooking classes
  • Private tennis lessons

 Business and Conventions

More than 17,000 square feet of meeting, event, and ballroom space

Secrets St. James provides on-site planners that can coordinate events and meetings both large and small. There are nearly a dozen different spaces that can be used for cocktail receptions, banquets, performances, business retreats, or classes. Packages are available, and guests can also create custom events.

 Weddings

Several on-site pavilions and a host of indoor venues for island nuptials.

Weddings are big business in Jamaica, and Secrets St. James is definitely in on the game, providing an exhaustive list of services ranging from on-site wedding coordinators to pressing and steaming the bride and groom’s gown and tux. Three packages are offered, and made-to-order weddings can also be arranged. Prices for packages start around $1,000 for up to 10 guests, and all packages include a wedding cake, sparking wine, a bouquet and boutonnière, an officiant, and free nights that go toward a future anniversary stay.

While ceremonies generally take place in one of several wedding pavilions along the beach, a vast array of meeting rooms and ballrooms are available for cocktail hours, receptions, and rehearsal dinners.

Secrets’ website also features a registry option in which marrying couples can request gifts be given in the form of credits toward a honeymoon at the resort.

 Bottom Line

This all-inclusive beachfront resort on a remote peninsula is one of the more luxurious adult-only options in Montego Bay, and has a laundry list of property features, including seven restaurants, seven bars, an expansive spa, nearly half a mile of beach, and tons of activities: a theater, dive center, shopping plaza, casino, and game room. Secrets St. James shares most of its amenities with its sister property next door, but rates here are often a bit cheaper.

Things You Should Know About Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Address

  • Lot 59A Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica

Room Types

  • Junior Suite Ocean View Double
  • Junior Suite Ocean View King
  • Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View Double
  • Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View King
  • Preferred Club Master Suite Ocean Front
  • Preferred Club Presidential Suite

Enter dates for best prices

Check-in
Check-out
Guests
 AVG/NIGHT 
Hotels.com  
Expedia.com  
Tingo.com  
Booking.com  
Travelocity  
Otel.com  
Priceline.com  
CheapTickets.com  

All About Oyster

You Can't Return a Bad Vacation.

Our special investigators visit, photograph, review and rate each hotel. We uncover the truth, before it's "uh-oh" time.

Go undercover with an Oyster Investigator The Today Show
Go Undercover with an Oyster Investigator
See 56 Videos of Oyster on TV

Nearby Hotels to Consider

Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Rating: 45 Pearls

Distance: 0.1 mi
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Rating: 30 Pearls

Distance: 0.3 mi
Coyaba Beach Resort
Coyaba Beach Resort
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Rating: 35 Pearls

Distance: 1.8 mi
Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive
Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Rating: 35 Pearls

Distance: 1.9 mi

Hotel Features

Number of Rooms: 350
Pool: Yes
Fitness Center: Yes
Spa: Yes
Internet: Yes
Cribs: Yes
Jacuzzi: Yes
Casino: Yes
View All

Hotel Information

Location: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Address: Lot 59A Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
(See Map)
Loading Live Rates
Loading...