Pour

  • Les chambres sont confortables avec de la technologie moderne.
  • Sur la plage
  • Deux piscines extérieures et desjacuzzis
  • Le programme pour enfants Planet Kids est gratuit
  • Superbe service, accommodant et sincère, jamais prétentieux
  • Restaurant sur place et un service de chambre 24/24.
  • Wi-Fi (compris dans la taxe de séjour)
Voir plus Pour

Inconvénients

  • Peu de vie nocturne dans le quartier
  • Taxe de séjour (typique des hôtels de Miami)
Voir plus Inconvénients

Ce qu'il faut retenir

Un hôtel plein d’équipements sur la plage de Sunny Isles, le Trump International Beach Resort est plus décontracté que les autres propriétés Trump. Des options limitées en matière de vie nocturne, plus deux piscines et un club pour enfants gratuit, le rend plus convenable pour les familles et les voyageurs d’affaires que pour les personnes sophistiquées à la recherche d’endroits branchés.

Voir plus Ce qu'il faut retenir

Ce que vous devez savoir sur Trump International Beach Resort

Également appelé

  • Trump International Sonesta Beach Resort
  • Sonesta Miami
  • Hotel Trump International Beach
  • Trump Sonesta
  • Trump International Beach Hotel
  • Trump Sonesta Beach Resort

Types de chambre

  • Deluxe Room, Bay View
  • Deluxe Room, Ocean Front
  • Deluxe Room, Ocean View
  • Deluxe Studio, Bay View
  • Deluxe Studio, Ocean View
  • Junior Suite, Bay View
  • Junior Suite, Ocean View
  • One Bedroom Suite, Bay View
  • One Bedroom Suite, Ocean Front
  • One Bedroom Suite, Ocean View
  • Two Bedroom Suite, Bay View
  • Two Bedroom Suite, Ocean Front
  • Two Bedroom Suite, Ocean View

Adresse

18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, Florida 33160-2722, United States

Téléphone

(305) 692-5600

Avis Hôtel Oyster

Trump International Beach Resort

Autre

Le Trump offre un accueil chaleureux aux hommes d'affaires tout comme aux familles, et il possède un magnifique emplacement en bord de plage, de nombreux équipements et un service infailliblement efficace. Ce n'est pas le luxe absolu, mais l'hôtel possède un bon rapport qualité-prix.

Le Trump International Beach Resort avec ses 390 chambres propose ses services aux familles et accueille les conférences d'affaires. Lorsque je me suis rendu sur place, des dizaines d'enfants jouaient dans les piscines de l'hôtel, pendant que 200 et quelques consultants restaient enfermés toute la journée dans les salles de conférence. L'ambiance pour les familles et les professionnels est décontractée et accommodante. Il y a même une mascotte du complexe hôtelier nommée Globie qui se promène autour de la piscine pour divertir les enfants.

L'hôtel atteint un équilibre entre le luxe et la désinvolture. Le restaurant de l'hôtel, Neomi's, a un style chic et haut de gamme, mais c'est aussi le genre d'endroit où les parents se sentent à l'aise de venir pour le petit-déjeuner en poussant le chariot de leurs jumeaux. Le service à la plage et autour de la piscine est infailliblement chaleureux et efficace, mais plus sobre que les hôtels de Miami haut de gamme. Les employés fournissent des serviettes de bain aux clients, mais à la piscine, ils ne leur préparent pas les chaises longues.

Les clients avec lesquels j'ai discuté (jeunes familles, hommes d'affaires et une femme qui était venue avec sa fille qui allait bientôt se marier) avaient l'air très contents de leur séjour en général et ont particulièrement apprécié le service. Selon la plupart des clients qui décrivent leurs mauvaises expériences sur TripAdvisor , l'hôtel n'est pas du niveau d'un véritable cinq étoiles, mais c'est plutôt « un bel hôtel quatre étoiles en bord de mer. » Très bien : C'est précisément ce que c'est en plus d'être abordable.

Peut-être que la source de la confusion est le site Web de l'hôtel , qui mentionne « un service cinq étoiles . » Mais lorsque j'ai discuté avec la direction de l'hôtel, il était clair que l'hôtel aspire à un bon quatre étoiles avec la fioriture occasionnelle du service cinq étoiles, telle que la note manuscrite du service à la clientèle et le carpaccio de bœuf que j'ai trouvés dans ma chambre le premier soir. Ceux qui connaissent les autres hôtels Trump pourraient avoir des attentes plus élevées. Mais lorsqu'évalué de façon indépendante, l'hôtel s'avère être une valeur sûre avec un excellent service et de nombreux équipements.

Voir plus Autre

Autre

Par un service quatre étoiles vraiment chaleureux et agréablement décontracté, les employés du Trump s'assurent que tout le monde -- pas seulement les belles personnes et ceux qui laissent des pourboires généreux -- se sente bien accueilli.

Dans certains hôtels de Miami, il serait excusable de penser que les employés satisfont seulement les besoins des clients hautes mises et des clients réguliers. Ce n'est clairement pas le cas au Trump, où les employés semblent vraiment heureux de vous aider sans attendre un gros pourboire en retour.

Le service est excellent tout en restant décontracté. Le bagagiste qui a monté mes valises dans ma chambre m'a fait faire le tour des lieux en lançant malicieusement qu'une boisson du minibar ne me coûterait pas plus que mon premier enfant. Voici un départ du Trump International Hotel à New York, où le service est assez formel (« Oui, Monsieur » et « Bonjour, M. untel, que puis-je faire pour vous ? » Le Trump à Sunny Isles adopte une approche plus influencée par le mode de vie à la plage, mais les employés ne sont pas moins serviables pour autant. Lorsque j'ai eu des problèmes avec la télé dans ma chambre, un technicien était à ma porte en trois minutes. Le service de couverture allait au-delà des chocolats sur l'oreiller, bien qu'il y en ait eu aussi. Le premier soir, j'ai trouvé dans ma chambre un délicieux carpaccio de bœuf recouvert de microverdures et une bonne cuillerée de pudding aux asperges, ainsi qu'une note manuscrite me souhaitant la bienvenue dans l'hôtel.

Le service au restaurant Neomi's a un bel équilibre. Il propose de la cuisine raffinée -- quelqu’un voudrait des amuse-bouches ? -- mais aussi des tasses à bec verseur en plastique décorées de personnages pour les enfants. Les serveurs recommandent avec le plus grand sérieux leurs plats préférés, pas seulement les plus chers, et les verres d'eau ne sont jamais vides.

Certains pourraient penser que le service est trop décontracté. Comme on pouvait s'y attendre, la réception a laissé sonner quatre fois avant de répondre au téléphone et la réceptionniste ne m'a pas appelé par mon nom lorsqu'elle a répondu. Les employés ne déferlent pas sur les clients qui se rendent à la plage dès que leur pieds touchent le sable. Pourtant, dès que les clients demandent de l'aide, les employés sont infailliblement chaleureux et serviables.

Voir plus Autre

Autre

Dans un Sunny Isles paisible et pittoresque, un côté de l'hôtel donne sur une belle plage calme, et l'autre côté, sur une artère de banlieue à six voies très fréquentée.

Le Trump International Beach Resort est situé à Sunny Isles , à environ une demi-heure de route de South Beach , et directement sur la plage. Ne confondez pas les portions de l'avenue Collins de Sunny Isles avec la portion piétonnière, très différente, à South Beach. Ici, c'est une route à six voies très fréquentée qui ne peut être traversée qu'à un feu de circulation à la fin du long pâté de maisons.

À part la plage, il n'y a pas grand chose à explorer à pied autour de l'hôtel. Un grand centre commercial, plein de fast-foods et de restaurants décontractés, se trouve de l'autre côté de la rue. Il y a aussi un supermarché Publix de l'autre côté de la rue pour approvisionner la kitchenette.

Pour les consommateurs, l'hôtel fournit des navettes gratuites qui les amènent au centre commercial de Bal Harbour, situé à 10 ou 15 minutes, et au centre commercial Aventura , situé à cinq ou dix minutes. Il y a aussi une navette gratuite qui se rend à South Beach en 30 minutes. Son dernier départ est à 20 h. Puisque l'hôtel met l'accent sur les jeunes familles ou les personnes plus âgées, il n'y presque aucune vie nocturne à Sunny Isles.

L'hôtel se trouve à environ 30 minutes en taxi de l'aéroport international de Miami et à 20 minutes de l'aéroport international de Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood. . La course de taxi à partir de n'importe quel aéroport coûte environ 50 $.

Voir plus Autre

Autre

Le manque de style des chambres est compensé par les télévisions haute définition, les balcons et les kitchenettes .

Les chambres du Trump ne sont pas comparables aux chambres modernes, hautement stylisées de l'Acqualina , l'hôtel voisin plus cher, mais elles ont eu droit à une remise à neuf de la décoration à la fin 2011 qui a ajouté des indispensables couleurs à l’espace.

Ma suite se composait entre autres d'un grand lit avec des draps doux en coton égyptien et un édredon parfaitement léger. Le matelas à plateau coussin permet de passer une bonne nuit de sommeil. La superbe et grande télévision haute définition Philips de 42 pouces dans la chambre diffuse de nombreuses chaînes en haute définition.  Les chambres disposent aussi de stations d’accueil pour iHome, machines à café Keurig, et coffre-forts dans la chambre.

Dans les grandes salles de bain on trouve des peignoirs gaufrés et desproduits de toilettes Antica Farmacista. Les chambres standard comportent des douches indépendantes avec des portes vitrées et les suites junior ont une baignoire en plus. Tout comme le reste de la chambre, la salle de bain est vaste et confortable, mais elle manque d'équipements de haute qualité. Toutes les chambres possèdent des kitchenettes et les suites ont des cuisines complètes mais approvisionnées au minimum. Les suites junior et supérieures sont aussi équipées de lave-linges/sèche-linges GE.

Voir plus Autre

Autre

L'une des plages de Miami les plus propres, calmes pour les nageurs tout comme pour les adeptes du bronzage

Les eaux de la plage de Sunny Isles sont calmes et l'atmosphère l'est tout autant. C'est une plage publique, mais l'hôtel en réclame une portion pour y mettre des chaises longues, des serviettes de bain, avec un service de boissons et de nourriture, le tout réservé aux clients. La plage n'a pas les foules et l'énergie frénétique de Miami Beach, mais la parcelle de sable de l'hôtel donne l'agréable impression d'être sur une plage privée.

Les clients accèdent facilement à la plage par des escaliers dans le coin piscine. Le bar de la piscine, Gili's Pool Bar and Grill, a aussi un avant-poste sur la mer. Les employés installent les chaises longues, les parasols, les serviettes de plage, et apportent des boissons et des sandwichs.

Un maître nageur de la ville est en poste à côté de la portion de plage de l'hôtel. Le maître nageur avec qui j'ai discuté m'a dit que l'eau était calme d'habitude et sans danger pour les enfants, avec un léger contre-courant à l'occasion.

Voir plus Autre

Autre

Les deux piscines, les deux courts de tennis, le spa, le salon et la salle de gym de l'hôtel sont bien, particulièrement pour le prix, mais restent en deçà de la mention excellente.

La salle de gym de l'hôtel est équipée d'une dizaine de machines cardio, d'un dédale d'appareils de musculation et d'une grande aire de poids libres . C'est un bon endroit, sans superflu pour faire un peu d'exercice, mais qui donne sur l'avenue Collins et le centre commercial de l'autre côté de la rue -- pas de vue sur la plage pour les gym-queens. Après s'être entraînés, les clients peuvent utiliser la douche, le sauna et les bains de vapeur dans l' Aquanox Spa à côté, qui offre une grande variété de traitements : des soins du visage au caviar aux enveloppements de boue de tourbe.

L'hôtel possède aussi deux courts de tennis artificiels en bonne condition, mais pas en parfait état.

Comme tout établissement Trump, il y a un centre d’affaires et un espace dédié aux réunions et aux événements de 6 705 m².

Voir plus Autre

Autre

L'aire piscine est très axée sur la famille, mais ce n'est pas une garderie inondée pour autant : Les adultes peuvent quand même siroter un cocktail autour de la piscine et admirer l'océan en paix.

La plus grande et meilleure caractéristique de l'hôtel est l'immense piscine inspirée des grottes, arquée de façon spectaculaire sur la terrasse supérieure donnant sur la plage. Elle comporte aussi un abord style plage conçu tout spécialement pour les familles. Les employés n'installent pas chaque client sur une chaise longue comme dans les hôtels haut de gamme, mais ils offrent un service méticuleux de nourriture et de boissons au Gili's Pool Bar and Grill.

La piscine pour longueurs sur la terrasse inférieure offre aussi des vues sur l'océan et comporte une aire herbeuse adjacente où les enfants aiment jouer.

Voir plus Autre

Autre

Avec un club des enfants gratuit, une piscine avec un abord style plage et une ambiance chaleureuse, sans prétention, le Trump est l'endroit idéal pour les familles avec des enfants.

Tandis que l'Acqualina plus raffiné demande 55 $ par jour pour son programme enfant, le club des enfants au Trump est gratuit. Avec de grandes chambres équipées de kitchenettes et des suites avec lave-linges - sèche-linges, l'hébergement est lui-aussi adapté aux familles. La grande piscine de l'hôtel inspirée des grottes possède un abord style plage avec une zone peu profonde très adaptée aux petits enfants qui ont des flotteurs.

Le restaurant principal, Neomi's, est raffiné, mais aussi adapté aux familles. Un matin, j'ai vu des parents entrer en poussant leurs jumeaux dans un chariot. Pendant le dîner, les serveurs amènent des hors-d'œuvres aux adultes et des tasses à bec verseur aux enfants avec le même panache. Le menu du service de chambre comporte aussi des choix pour les enfants comme les bâtonnets de pain doré, le lait au chocolat et le sandwich au fromage grillé.

L'hôtel a aussi une mascotte appelée Globie, en hommage à la sculpture du globe terrestre qui décore l'entrée de l'hôtel. Je n'ai pas rencontré Globie pendant ma visite, mais on m'a dit qu'il errait souvent autour de la zone de la piscine pour divertir les enfants.

Voir plus Autre

Autre

Le restaurant principal adapté aux familles, le bar vivant et le déjeuner à la piscine et à la plage vous permettent de vous rassasier sans quitter l'hôtel. 

Le restaurant principal de l’hôtel, Neomi’s, est un endroit chic mais accueillant, convenable à toute la famille. Et quand j'y étais, il y avait un menu à trois plats au prix fixe de 36 $ accompagné de plusieurs bouteilles de vin dans les 30 $. Tout ce que j'ai essayé était magnifiquement présenté et très savoureux, et pourrait peut-être même changer votre vie.

Certains critiques sur TripAdvisor se sont plaints des choix alimentaires -- ou plutôt du manque de choix. Neomi's accueille les familles à bras ouverts, mais beaucoup trouveront le restaurant trop formel et trop cher pour des repas quotidiens, particulièrement avec des enfants.

Le service à l'étage est disponible 24 heures sur 24. Les prix ont l'air à peu près raisonnables jusqu'à ce que vous ajoutiez le 20 pour cent de frais de service, le 9 pour cent de taxe de vente et les 3 $ pour les frais de livraison.

Pendant la journée, autour de la piscine et sur la plage, le Gili's Pool Bar and Grill sert des sandwichs et des wraps à un prix abordable, mais comme ils ferment au coucher du soleil, les clients doivent aller dîner ailleurs.

Voir plus Autre

Les meilleurs tarifs

Commodités

  • Activités supérvisées pour enfants

  • Balcony / Terrace / Patio

  • Bar de la piscine

  • Beauty / Hair Salon

  • Cabanas

  • Cable

  • Centre d'affaires

  • Centre de conditionnement physique

  • Chambre séparée / espace salon

  • Chambres fumeurs disponibles

  • Climatisation

  • Club des enfants

  • Concierge

  • Court de tennis

  • Cuisine complète

  • Enfants permis

  • Internet

  • Jacuzzi

  • Laverie

  • Lits de bébés

  • Meeting / Conference Rooms

  • Mini-bar (avec spiritueux)

  • Nettoyage à sec

  • Piscine

  • Plage

  • Salle de jeux

  • Service boissons au bord de la piscine

  • Service de chambre

  • Service de location de voitures sur place

  • Spa

  • Télévision de base

  • Transports à l'aeroport

Avertissement: Ce contenu était exact au moment de la révision de l'hôtel. Veuillez vérifier sur nos sites partenaires lors de la réservation que les détails sont toujours corrects.

Trump International Beach Resort Rating: 4.5 Pearls
Sunny Isles, Miami, Florida

Oyster Review Summary

Photos and Review by Oyster.com Investigators

Pros

  • Planet Kids children's program is free
  • On the beach
  • Pool has beach-entry area for kids
  • Great service that is accommodating and genuine, never snooty
  • Good value
  • Rooms have HDTVs and HD broadcast

Cons

  • Limited dining options both inside and outside of hotel
  • Little or no nightlife in area
  • Popular with guests who enjoy smoking on the beach

Bottom Line

A well-priced, amenities-packed hotel right on the beach in Sunny Isles, the Trump International Beach Resort offers service that's extremely friendly and professional, but more casual than at other Trump properties. Limited dining and nightlife options, plus kid-friendly features, make it a better fit for families and business travelers than scene-hunting sophisticates.

Oyster Awards

We investigate in person.
Like your mother-in-law.

Categories

, , ,

Oyster Hotel Photos

View All 9 Albums

Customers Who Viewed Trump International Beach Resort Also Viewed

Dream South Beach
13% viewed
Dream South Beach
South Beach, Miami
Eden Roc Miami Beach
13% viewed
Eden Roc Miami Beach
Miami Beach, Miami
W South Beach
13% viewed
W South Beach
South Beach, Miami
Sagamore Hotel
10% viewed
Sagamore Hotel
South Beach, Miami

Oyster Hotel Review

 Scene

Equal parts business and family-friendly, the Trump has a beautiful beachfront location, amenties aplenty, and unfailingly helpful service. It's not utter luxury, but it's quite nice for the price.

The Trump International Beach Resort
The Trump International Beach Resort

The 390-room Trump International Beach Resort caters to both families and business conferences. When I visited, dozens of kids were frolicking in the hotel's pools, while 200-some consultants were locked inside conference rooms all day. The vibe for both families and professionals is casual and accommodating. There's a resort mascot named Globie who wanders around the pool entertaining kids, and the hotel brought in a pretty local singer and a comely Cruzan Rum girl to entertain the business boys one evening when I was there.

The hotel strikes a balance between luxury and casualness throughout. Sure, the hotel restaurant, Neomi's, has white tablecloths but it's also the sort of place that parents feel comfortable wheeling in their twin toddlers on a wagon for breakfast. Service at the beach and around the pool is unfailingly friendly and helpful, but more low key than higher-end Miami hotels. Attendants give guests towels, but at the pool they don't make up chaise longues for them.

Guests I talked to, from young families to businessmen to a woman who'd brought her soon-to-be married daughter, seemed very happy with the hotel generally and the service in particular. Most of the guests who report unhappy experiences on TripAdvisor seemed to feel that it doesn't rise to the level of a genuine five-star property but is rather "a solid four-star oceanfront resort." Fair enough: That's precisely what it is, and an affordable one at that.

Perhaps the source of the confusion is the hotel Web site, which mentions "five-star service." But when I spoke with hotel management, it became clear that the resort aspires to a solid four stars with the occasional five-star service flourish, like the handwritten note from guest services and the beef carpaccio appetizer that was left in my room on the first night. Those who know other Trump properties might have higher expectations. But when evaluated independently, the resort proves to be a solid value with wonderful service and ample amenities.

 Service

With four-star service that is truly friendly and refreshingly casual, the staff at the Trump makes everyone -- not just beautiful people and big tippers -- feel welcome.

Beachside towel service
Beachside towel service

At some Miami hotels, you could be forgiven for feeling that the staff caters only to high rollers and regulars. That's distinctly not the case at the Trump, where the staff seems truly happy to help and isn't always looking for a big tip.

Service is top-notch but casual. The porter who brought my bags to my room showed me around, quipping that consuming something from the minibar would cost me only my first born child. This is a departure from the Trump International Hotel in New York, where service is quite formal ("Yes, sir" and "Hello, Mr. So and So, what can I do for you?"). The Trump in Sunny Isles takes a more beach-inflected approach -- but the staff is no less helpful. When I had problems with my room's TV, a technician was at my door to fix it in just three minutes. Turndown service went beyond the chocolates on the pillow, though those were there too. On my first night, I found in my room a tasty beef carpaccio appetizer topped with microgreens and a dollop of asparagus pudding, and a handwritten note welcoming me to the hotel.

Service at Neomi's restaurant strikes a fine balance. It offers white-tablecloth fine dining -- amuse-bouche, anyone? -- but also plastic, character-festooned sippy cups for the kids. Waiters earnestly recommend their favorite dishes, not just the most expensive ones, and water glasses never go empty.

Some may feel the service is a bit too casual. It typically took about four rings for the front desk to answer the phone, and the receptionist didn't address me by name when she picked up. Nor does the staff descend on beach-goers as soon as their feet touch the sand. Still, as soon as help is requested, it is unfailing friendly and helpful.

 Location

In sleepy, scenic Sunny Isles, the resort has one side on a calm, beautiful beach and one side on a busy, six-lane suburban thoroughfare.

The Trump International Beach Resort is located in Sunny Isles, about a half-hour drive from South Beach, and right on the beach. Don't confuse the Sunny Isles stretch of Collins Avenue with the far different pedestrian portion in South Beach. Here, it's a busy six-lane road that can only be crossed at a stop light at the end of the long block.

Aside from the beach, there's little to explore on foot around the hotel. A large, unappealing strip mall full of fast-food and casual restaurants sits across the street. There's also a Publix supermarket across the street for stocking the kitchenette.

For shoppers, the hotel provides free shuttles to Bal Harbour mall, 10 or 15 minutes away, and to Aventura mall, five or 10 minutes away. There's a also a free, 30-minute shuttle to South Beach that makes its last run at 8 p.m. With a focus on young families and older people, there's next to no nightlife in Sunny Isles.

The hotel is approximately 30 minutes by taxi from the Miami International airport and 20 minutes from the Fort Lauderdale International airport. Taxis from either one cost approximately $50.

 Beach

One of Miami's cleaner, calmer beaches for swimmers and sunbathers alike

The beach
The beach

Sunny Isles Beach features calm waters and an equally mellow vibe. It's a public beach, but the hotel claims a stretch of it with chaise longues, towels, and food-and-drink service just for guests. The beach lacks the crowds and frenetic energy of Miami Beach, but the hotel's plot of sand feels pleasantly private.

Guests easily access the beach down a set of stairs from the pool area. The pool bar, Gili's Pool Bar and Grill also has an outpost on the beach. Attendants set up chaise longues, umbrellas, and towels, and bring drinks and sandwiches.

A city lifeguard is stationed next to the hotel's stretch of beach. The lifeguard I spoke with said the water was usually calm and safe for kids, with a slight undertow on occasion.

The only negative, especially for families, is the prevalence of smokers, something TripAdvisor reviewers have noted. The reason, I suspect, is the resort's popularity with Europeans and South Americans.

 Rooms

What the rooms lack in style they make up for with HDTVs, balconies, and kitchenettes.

The Deluxe Room
The Deluxe Room

Rooms at the Trump don't compare to the modern, highly stylized rooms of the more expensive Acqualina next door, but they did undergo a decor renovation in late 2011 that added some much needed color to the space.

My suite featured a king-size bed dressed with soft Egyptian cotton sheets, and a perfectly light down comforter. The pillow-top mattress added to a dreamy night of sleep.

The room's 42-inch Philips HDTV is big and beautiful, and broadcasts a number of channels in high-def, something I didn't see at the Acqualina next door. A few bugs were still being worked out with the HD. Channel changes can be slow, and my TV went on the fritz a few times during my short stay. Rooms also feature Timex alarm clocks with MP3 player connections.

Large bathrooms feature waffle robes and Ecru toiletries. Standard guest rooms feature standalone showers with glass doors, and junior suites have a tub as well. Like the rest of the room, the bathroom is expansive and comfortable but lacking in high-design features.

All rooms feature kitchenettes, and suites have full but minimally stocked kitchens.

Junior suites and above feature new GE washer-dryers.

 Features

The hotel's two pools, two tennis courts, spa, salon, and fitness center are nice, especially for the price, but fall short of top notch.

Tennis courts
Tennis courts

The hotel's biggest and best feature is the huge, dramatically arched grotto-style pool that overlooks the beach. It also has a family-friendly beach-entry area. Attendants don't set up each guest on a chaise longue as they might at a higher end resort, but attentive food-and-beverage service available from Gili's pool bar and grill.

The lap pool also features ocean views, as well as an adjacent grassy area where kids like to play.

The hotel gym has nearly a dozen cardio machines, a maze of weight machines, and a large free weight setup. It's a fine, no-frills place to get a workout, but looks out onto Collins Avenue and the strip mall across the street -- no beach views for gym bunnies here. After working out, guests can use the shower, sauna, and steam room in the Aquanox Spa next door, which provides a full range of treatments, from a caviar facial to a moor mud wrap. The locker rooms show their age in the tiled floor and worn metal doors.

The resort also has two artificial tennis courts in good, but not pristine, condition.

As befits a Trump property, the business center stands out: Not just a windowless room with a few computers but a dramatic circular room with a 360-degree view of the lobby.

 Pool

The pool scene is family-focused but hardly a water-soaked nursery: Adults can still enjoy a cocktail around the pool and look out at the ocean in peace.

The Grotto Style Pool
The Grotto Style Pool

The hotel's biggest and best feature is the huge, dramatically arched grotto style-pool that overlooks the beach. It also has a family-friendly beach-entry area. Attendants don't set up each guest on a chaise longue as they might at a higher end resort, but attentive food-and-beverage service available from Gili's pool bar and grill.

The Lap Pool also features ocean views, as well as an adjacent grassy area where kids like to play.

 Family

With a free kids' club, beach-entry pool, and warm, unpretentious vibe, the Trump is an ideal place for families with children.

Kids club staffer
Kids club staffer

While the fancier Acqualina next door charges $55 per day for its kids' programming, the kids' club at the Trump is free. With large rooms, kitchenettes in every one of them, and washer-dryers in many suites, rooms are also family-friendly. The resort's large grotto-style pool has a beach-entrance shallow area that's great for little ones in water wings.

The main restaurant Neomi's, is fancy but also family-friendly. I saw parents wheeling their twins in on a wagon one morning. During dinner, waiters bring amuse-bouches to adults and sippy cups to kids with equal panache. The room-service menu also features options for the kids like French toast sticks ($7), chocolaty milk ($4), and a grilled cheesy sandwich ($8).

The hotel also has a mascot named Globie, after the globe sculpture that decorates the hotel's entrance. I didn't catch Globie on my visit, but I'm told he often roams around the pool area entertaining kids.

 Cleanliness

Clean but not spotless, the Trump International Beach Resort shows some wear and tear, and the occassional bit of dust.

The lobby
The lobby

As one would expect at a four-star resort, the Trump International Beach Resort is quite clean. But it's also showing a little age. Hallway carpets have the occasional stain, furniture the occasional scuff. A very minor offense.

A bigger slip was the severely battered and crumb-laden room-service tray on which my otherwise beautiful breakfast arrived one morning. Gross.

 Food

The family-friendly white-tablecloth restaurant, lively bar, and lunch at the pool and beach let you satisfy your hunger without leaving the hotel. That's good, as nearby alternatives are limited.

Neomi's Grill
Neomi's Grill

The hotel's main restaurant, Neomi's is a white tablecloth sort of place with nary a dinner entrée under $32. Still, it's also the sort of place where you can take the whole family. And when I visited, there was a $36, three-course prix fixe available with many bottles of wine in the low $30s. Everything I tried was beautifully presented and tasty, if not life-altering.

Some TripAdvisor reviewers have complained about the food options -- or lack thereof. Neomi's happily accommodates families, but many will find it too formal and expensive for routine meals, especially with kids.

Outside of the hotel, nearby dining options are limited. I tried the sushi place in the strip mall across the street one night and had some predictably mediocre fare.

Room service is available 24 hours per day. Prices look somewhat reasonable until you add the 20 percent service charge, 9 percent sales tax, and $3 delivery fee.

Around the pool and at the beach during the day, Gili's pool bar and grill, serves moderately priced sandwiches and wraps, but it closes as the sun sets, leaving guests to find dinner elsewhere.

 Bottom Line

A well-priced, amenities-packed hotel right on the beach in Sunny Isles, the Trump International Beach Resort offers service that's extremely friendly and professional, but more casual than at other Trump properties. Limited dining and nightlife options, plus kid-friendly features, make it a better fit for families and business travelers than scene-hunting sophisticates.

Things You Should Know About Trump International Beach Resort

Address

  • 18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160

Hotel Is Also Known As...

  • Hotel Trump International Beach
  • Sonesta Miami
  • Trump International Beach Hotel
  • Trump International Sonesta Beach Resort
  • Trump Sonesta
  • Trump Sonesta Beach Resort

Room Types

  • Deluxe Room, Bay View
  • Deluxe Room, Ocean Front
  • Deluxe Room, Ocean View
  • Deluxe Studio, Bay View
  • Deluxe Studio, Ocean View
  • Junior Suite, Bay View
  • Junior Suite, Ocean View
  • One Bedroom Suite, Bay View
  • One Bedroom Suite, Ocean Front
  • One Bedroom Suite, Ocean View
  • Two Bedroom Suite, Bay View
  • Two Bedroom Suite, Ocean Front
  • Two Bedroom Suite, Ocean View

Enter dates for best prices

Check-in
Check-out
Guests
 AVG/NIGHT 
Hotels.com  
Expedia.com  
Tingo.com  
Booking.com  
Travelocity  
Otel.com  
Priceline.com  
CheapTickets.com  

All About Oyster

You Can't Return a Bad Vacation.

Our special investigators visit, photograph, review and rate each hotel. We uncover the truth, before it's "uh-oh" time.

Go undercover with an Oyster Investigator The Today Show
Go Undercover with an Oyster Investigator
See 56 Videos of Oyster on TV

Nearby Hotels to Consider

Acqualina Resort & Spa
Acqualina Resort & Spa
Sunny Isles, Miami
Rating: 45 Pearls

Distance: 0.1 mi
Marenas Resort
Marenas Resort
Sunny Isles, Miami
Rating: 40 Pearls

Distance: 0.4 mi
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort & Spa - Miami Beach North
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort & Spa - Miami Beach North
Sunny Isles, Miami
Rating: 35 Pearls

Distance: 0.4 mi
Churchill Suites Intracoastal Yacht Club
Churchill Suites Intracoastal Yacht Club
Sunny Isles, Miami
Rating: 35 Pearls

Distance: 0.7 mi

Hotel Features

Number of Rooms: 390
Pool: Yes
Fitness Center: Yes
Spa: Yes
Internet: Yes
Cribs: Yes
Kids Club: Yes
Jacuzzi: Yes
View All

Hotel Information

Location: Sunny Isles, Miami
Address: 18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
(See Map)
Loading Live Rates
Loading...