Alle Hotels in Flam ansehen

Fretheim Hotel 4.0

Flam, Norwegen

Geben Sie Termine für die besten Preise ein

Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com

Zusammenfassung des Berichts

Fotos und Bewertung von den

Pro

  • Wunderschöne, entfernten Ort am Ende des Aurlandsfjords
  • Rustikal-schickes Dekor in den Gemeinschaftsräumen
  • Schöne historische Zimmer mit clawfoot Badewannen
  • Zeitgenössische amerikanische Flügel Zimmer
  • Restaurant mit dramatischen Blick auf die Berge, das aus lokaler Küche
  • Sauna und Whirlpool im Freien
  • Kaffee-Bar, sowie Weinkeller mit Weinproben
  • Charming Bibliothek
  • Gegenüber vom Hafen, wo die Fjordkreuzfahrten verlassen

Kontra

  • Standard Zimmer haben Grunddekor
  • Keine Fernseher in historischen Räumen (ein Profi für einige!)
  • Kein Fitness-Center

Fazit

Das 121-Zimmer-Fretheim Hotel ist das Hauptgebäude des Hotels in winzigen Flam, ein Dorf, das der Startpunkt für eine Reihe von Fjordkreuzfahrten ist. Das Anwesen verfügt über eine reiche Geschichte - es stammt aus dem Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts - und die gemeinsamen Räume haben Charme zu ersparen. Die Zimmer sind jedoch eine gemischte Tüte; 80 Prozent verfügen über grundlegende Mid-Range-Einrichtung, während der Rest sind High-End. (Amerikanischen Flügel Zimmer sind modern, während historischen Flügel Zimmer - wenn auch ohne TV für mehr Authentizität - schön und malerisch sind.) Das Hotel macht das Beste aus seiner einzigartigen, natürlich schöne Lage mit hochfliegenden Glasfenster in der Lobby und Restaurant, die Rahmen die steilen umgebenden Berge.

Oyster-Auszeichnungen

Flüge für diese Reise Mit Skyscanner.com

Oyster-Hotelfotos

Alle 11 Alben anzeigen

Oyster-Hotelbewertung

Scene

Eine charmante, historische Anwesen, das eine günstige Ausgangsbasis für Fjord-Kreuzfahrten und Outdoor-Aktivitäten ist

Das Fretheim Hotel ist seit langem ein Ziel für Touristen auf der Suche zu erforschen Naturwunder Norwegens. Im späten 19. Jahrhundert kam englischen Lords zu Flam und blieb auf dem Bauernhof von Christen Fretheim, während sie auf Lachs gefischt oder in der Nähe Spiel gejagt. Der Hof bald in einem Hotel entwickelt, und heute ist es begrüßt die Touristen, die sich für Fjordkreuzfahrten, Wandern Flam strömen, und im Winter, Langlaufen.

Die aktuelle Hotel enthält den ursprünglichen historischen Gebäude, und die Zimmer im historischen Flügel sind entworfen, um aussehen, als könnten sie vor mehr als hundert Jahren haben. Für wahre Authentizität, haben sie nicht einmal einen TV - nur altmodische Arbeits Radios. In der Lobby wird historischen Charme mit modernen alpinen Stil für ein rustikales-schickes Gefühl gemischt. Der große Kiefer, Ledersessel und karierte Stoffe fühlen Lodge-like, während die Möbel in den reichen Purpur und Blau Polster fügt eine modische Element. Die Gas-Kamin und benachbarten gestapelten Holz (die rein stilistische sein muss) hinzufügen, sowohl wörtlichen und übertragenen Wärme. Das bemerkenswerteste Merkmal, obwohl, könnte der Blick durch die hochfliegenden Glasfenster der steilen Berge sein. Die Fenster erstrecken sich nach oben in die zweite Etage Restaurant, das über der Lobby-Projekten.

Viele Touristen, die nur nach Flåm bleiben für die wenige Stunden nach ihrer Ankunft auf der Flam Railway kommen (die Zugfahrt hier voll und ganz verdient seinen Ruf als einer der schönsten in Europa) und vor ihrer Abreise auf eine Fjordkreuzfahrt. Als Ergebnis ist das Hotel Restaurant bekommt eine Menge Mittagsverkehr aus Nicht-Gäste. Dieses Hotel bietet vor Ort Essen von nahe gelegenen Bauernhöfen neben dramatischen bezogen auf die Berge.

Unterkunftsmöglichkeiten in Flam sind begrenzt, und die Fretheim Hotel ist die größte und bemerkenswerteste Eigenschaft, mit einer Lage direkt gegenüber vom Hafen, wo Fjordkreuzfahrten gehen. Es bietet auch weitere Eigenschaft Funktionen als andere Unterkunftsmöglichkeiten - nicht nur ein Restaurant, aber eine Sauna, Whirlpool im Freien, eine Bibliothek, Kaffee-Bar, Lobby-Bar, Weinkeller, Friseursalon (von einem unabhängigen Unternehmen ausgeführt wird), und umfangreiche Tagungs und Veranstaltungsräume. Die abgelegene Lage und mangelnden Wettbewerb macht teure Preise.

Ort

Wunderschöne, Remote-Standort auf einem Arm des Sognefjord

Das Fretheim Hotel liegt in dem kleinen Dorf Flam, in einem Tal, umgeben von steilen Bergen. Es ist das endgültige Ziel für die Flam Railway, die Besucher nehmen durch die Berge, das Dorf oft als Teil des "Norwegen en miniature" Touren erreichen. Es gilt als eine der schönsten Bahnfahrten in Europa. Viele Besucher bleiben in Flam für ein paar Stunden vor dem Abflug auf einem zweistündigen Fahrt auf den Aurlandsfjord und Naerofjord, beiden Teilen der Sognefjord, die wohl die schönsten und berühmtesten Fjord in Norwegen. Der Hafen am Ende des Aurlandsfjords, wo Boote fahren ist direkt gegenüber vom Hotel.

  • 1-stündigen Zugfahrt von Myrdal; Myrdal ist eine 2-stündige Zugfahrt von Bergen
  • 1-minütigen Spaziergang von der Fram Bahnhof und Flam Railway Museum
  • 2 Minuten zu Fuß zum Hafen auf dem Aurlandsfjord, wo Fjordkreuzfahrten

Zimmer

Die meisten Zimmer verfügen über grundlegende Mid-Range-Einrichtung, aber sowohl historische Zimmer und amerikanischen Flügel Zimmer sind luxuriös

Die meisten der Zimmer im Fretheim Hotel sind fad und mittleres Niveau, mit hellen Holzmöbeln und kettenartigen Stil. Sie tun müssen, Flachbild-TVs und Kaffeemaschinen; einige haben beeindruckende Aussicht auf den Hafen und die Berge.

Die historischen Räume und amerikanischen Flügel Zimmer sind jedoch sehr viel höher-End. Amerikanische Flügel Zimmer - entwickelt, um die Hotel wachsende Zahl von amerikanischen Gästen zu gefallen - haben anspruchsvollen zeitgenössischen Dekor. Der, den wir sahen hatte einen reichen blauen Bettdecke mit einem geometrischen Design, Kopfteil aus Leder mit silbernen Metallnieten, weißem Holz Akzent Wand und einem Kronleuchter.

Historische Zimmer sind entworfen, um aussehen, als könnten sie vor mehr als hundert Jahren, wenn die englischen Lords kam Erste, der Fisch Flam und befinden sich im historischen Teil des Hotels. Decor zwischen der historischen Zimmer variiert, aber erwarten, schöne authentische Details wie Kiefer Holzböden, antike Möbel, Porzellan Tee-Sets, Arbeits altmodischen Radios und in den Bädern, clawfoot Wannen und Toiletten-Flush zu ziehen. Aus Gründen der historischen Wahrheit, es gibt keine TVs.

Für große Gruppen, die alte Lagerhaus kann (aus dem Jahr 1928) vermietet werden. Es verfügt über fünf Schlafzimmer und kann bis zu sechs Personen. Es wird traditionelle rote auf der lackierten Außen und hat eine charmant-rustikale Gefühl auf der Innenseite.

Speisen

Das Restaurant serviert lokale Küche sowie herrlichen Blick auf die Berge

Das Hauptrestaurant serviert ein Frühstücksbuffet, Mittagessen à la carte und Abendessen sowohl à la carte und vom Buffet. Das Hotel verwendet hauptsächlich Lebensmittel aus lokaler Produktion, einschließlich Fleisch, Käse, Obst und Gemüse.

  • Kaffee-Bar mit Getränken, Gebäck und leichte Mahlzeiten
  • Tee am Nachmittag (inspiriert von der Geschichte des Hotels als Herberge für die englischen Lords) mit Scones, Marmelade, Sahne und Kuchen im historischen Teil des Hotels oder in der Bibliothek serviert

Sportliche Aktivitäten

Mehrere organisierte Touren durch das Hotel erhältlich

Das Hotel steht Ihnen gerne eine Reihe von organisierten Touren für die Gäste. Diese beinhalten:

  • Reise in die historische Gehöft der Hof Otternes
  • Besuch Undredal, einem kleinen Dorf mit dem kleinsten Stabkirche in Skandinavien und traditionelle Ziegenkäse
  • Reise in die Furberget Kocher Töpfe, geschnitzte große Löcher durch Gletscher während der letzten Eiszeit
  • Kajakfahren auf dem Sognefjord
  • Wildniscamp Erfahrungen mit Bogenschießen, Axtwerfen und andere Wettbewerbsaktivitäten
  • Eine Reihe von Spaziergängen und Wanderungen

Kunden, die sich Fretheim Hotel angesehen haben, interessierten sich auch für

Dinge, die Sie über das Fretheim Hotel wissen sollten

Adresse

on Flam Waterfront, Mailbox 63, Flam, Western Norway 5743, Norway

Telefon

(475) 763-6300

Zimmertypen

  • Accessible Room
  • America Wing Room
  • Deluxe Room
  • Family Room
  • Historic Room - Dalsbotten
  • Historic Room - Flam
  • Historic Room - Holo
  • Historic Tower Suite
  • Junior Suite
  • Standard Room
  • Standard Single Room
  • Storehouse

Vergessen Sie nicht, uns auf Facebook mit „Gefällt mir“ zu markieren! Wir lieben es, Ihnen zu gefallen.

Fretheim Hotel Rating: 4.0 Pearls
Flam, Norway

Oyster Review Summary

Photos and Review by Oyster.com Investigators

Pros

  • Gorgeous, remote location at the end of the Aurlandsfjord
  • Rustic-chic decor in the common spaces
  • Lovely Historic Rooms with clawfoot bathtubs
  • Contemporary American Wing Rooms
  • Restaurant with dramatic mountain views serving locally sourced cuisine
  • Sauna and outdoor hot tub
  • Coffee bar, plus wine cellar with tastings
  • Charming library
  • Across from the harbor where the fjord cruises leave

Cons

  • Standard Rooms have basic decor
  • No TVs in Historic Rooms (a pro for some!)
  • No fitness center

Bottom Line

The 121-room Fretheim Hotel is the main hotel in tiny Flam, a village that's the jumping off point for a number of fjord cruises. The property has a rich history -- it dates back to the late 19th century -- and the common spaces have charm to spare. Rooms, however, are a mixed bag; 80 percent have basic mid-range decor, while the rest are higher-end. (American Wing Rooms are contemporary, while Historic Wing Rooms -- though lacking TVs for added authenticity -- are lovely and quaint.) The hotel makes the most of its unique, naturally beautiful location with soaring glass windows in the lobby and restaurant that frame the steep surrounding mountains.

Oyster Awards

We investigate in person.
Like your mother-in-law.

Categories

, ,

Oyster Hotel Photos

View All 11 Albums

Oyster Hotel Review

 Scene

A charming, historic property that's a convenient home base for fjord cruises and outdoor activities

The Fretheim Hotel has long been a destination for tourists looking to explore Norway's natural wonders. In the late 19th century, English lords came to Flam and stayed at the farm of Christen Fretheim while they fished for salmon or hunted for nearby game. The farm soon developed into a hotel, and today it welcomes tourists who flock to Flam for fjord cruises, hiking, and in the winter, cross country skiing.

The current hotel incorporates the original historic building, and the rooms in the Historic Wing are designed to look as they might have over a hundred years ago. For true authenticity, they don't even have TVs -- just old-fashioned working radios. In the lobby, historic charm is blended with contemporary mountain style for a rustic-chic feel. The ample pine, leather club chairs, and plaid fabrics feel lodge-like, while the furniture upholstered in rich purples and blues adds a trendy element. The gas fireplace and adjacent stacked wood (which must be purely stylistic) add both literal and figurative warmth. The most notable feature, though, might be the view through the soaring glass windows of the steep surrounding mountains. The windows extend upward to the second-floor restaurant, which projects over the lobby.

Many tourists who come to Flam only stay for the few hours after their arrival on the Flam Railway (the train journey here fully deserves its reputation as one of the most scenic in Europe) and before their departure on a fjord cruise. As a result, the hotel restaurant gets a lot of lunch traffic from non-guests. The hotel serves locally sourced food from nearby farms alongside dramatic mountain views.

Lodging options in Flam are limited, and the Fretheim Hotel is the largest and most notable property, with a location right across from the harbor where fjord cruises depart. It also offers more property features than other lodging options -- not only a restaurant, but a sauna, outdoor hot tub, a library, coffee bar, lobby bar, wine cellar, hair salon (run by an independent company), and extensive meeting and event spaces. The remote location and lack of competition makes for expensive rates.

 Location

Gorgeous, remote location on an arm of the Sognefjord

The Fretheim Hotel is located in the tiny village of Flam, in a valley surrounded by steep mountains. It's the final destination for the Flam Railway, which visitors take through the mountains to reach the village, often as part of the "Norway in a Nutshell" tours. It is considered one of the most scenic train rides in Europe. Many visitors stay in Flam for a few hours before departing on a two-hour cruise of the Aurlandsfjord and Naerofjord, two arms of the Sognefjord, which is arguably the most beautiful and famous fjord in Norway. The harbor at the end of the Aurlandsfjord where boats depart is right across from the hotel.

  • 1-hour train ride from Myrdal; Myrdal is a 2-hour train ride from Bergen
  • 1-minute walk from the Fram Railway station and Flam Railway Museum
  • 2-minute walk to the harbor on the Aurlandsfjord where fjord cruises depart

 Rooms

Most rooms have basic mid-range decor, but both Historic Rooms and American Wing Rooms are luxurious

Most of the rooms at the Fretheim hotel are bland and mid-range, with light wood furniture and chain-like style. They do have flat-screen TVs and coffeemakers; some have impressive views of the harbor and mountains.

The Historic Rooms and American Wing Rooms, however, are much higher-end. American Wing Rooms -- designed to please the hotel's increasing number of American guests -- have sophisticated contemporary decor. The one we saw had a rich blue bedspread with a geometric design, leather headboard with silver metal studs, a white wood accent wall, and a chandelier.

Historic Rooms are designed to look as they might have over a hundred years ago when the English lords first came to Flam to fish, and are located in the historic section of the hotel. Decor between the Historic Rooms varies, but expect lovely authentic details such as pine wood floors, antique furniture, china tea sets, working old-fashioned radios, and in the bathrooms, clawfoot tubs and pull-flush toilets. For the sake of historical accuracy, there are no TVs.

For large groups, the old storehouse (dating to 1928) can be rented out. It has five bedrooms and can accommodate up to six people. It is painted traditional red on the outside, and has a charmingly rustic feel on the inside.

 Food

The restaurant serves local cuisine alongside gorgeous mountain views

The main restaurant serves a breakfast buffet, a la carte lunch, and dinner with both a la carte and buffet options. The hotel uses mostly locally sourced food, including meats, cheeses, fruits, and vegetables.

  • Coffee bar serving drinks, pastries, and light meals
  • Afternoon tea (inspired by the hotel's history as a lodging place for English lords) with scones, jam, sour cream, and cakes served in the historic part of the hotel or in the library

 Physical Activities

Several organized tours available through the hotel

The hotel can help arrange a number of organized tours for guests. These include:

  • Trip to the historic farmstead of Otternes Farm
  • Visit to Undredal, a tiny village with the smallest stave church in Scandanavia and traditional goat cheese
  • Trip to the Furberget Kettle Pots, big holes carved out by glaciers during the last ice age
  • Kayaking on the Sognefjord
  • Wilderness camp experience with archery, axe throwing, and other competitive activities
  • A number of walks and hikes

 Bottom Line

The 121-room Fretheim Hotel is the main hotel in tiny Flam, a village that's the jumping off point for a number of fjord cruises. The property has a rich history -- it dates back to the late 19th century -- and the common spaces have charm to spare. Rooms, however, are a mixed bag; 80 percent have basic mid-range decor, while the rest are higher-end. (American Wing Rooms are contemporary, while Historic Wing Rooms -- though lacking TVs for added authenticity -- are lovely and quaint.) The hotel makes the most of its unique, naturally beautiful location with soaring glass windows in the lobby and restaurant that frame the steep surrounding mountains.

Things You Should Know About Fretheim Hotel

Address

  • 5743 Flåm, Postboks 63, Norway

Room Types

  • Accessible Room
  • America Wing Room
  • Deluxe Room
  • Family Room
  • Historic Room - Dalsbotten
  • Historic Room - Flam
  • Historic Room - Holo
  • Historic Tower Suite
  • Junior Suite
  • Standard Room
  • Standard Single Room
  • Storehouse

Find the Lowest Price - Enter Dates

Check-in
Check-out
Guests
 AVG/NIGHT 
Hotels.com  
Expedia.com  
Tingo.com  
Booking.com  
Travelocity  
Otel.com  
Priceline.com  
CheapTickets.com  

All About Oyster

You Can't Return a Bad Vacation.

Our special investigators visit, photograph, review and rate each hotel. We uncover the truth, before it's "uh-oh" time.

Go undercover with an Oyster Investigator The Today Show
Go Undercover with an Oyster Investigator
See 56 Videos of Oyster on TV

Nearby Hotels to Consider

Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Radisson Blu Hotel Norge, Bergen

Hotel Features

Number of Rooms: 118
Pool: N/A
Pets Allowed: Yes
Cribs: Yes
Jacuzzi (in room): N/A
View All

Hotel Information

Location: Flam, Norway
Address: 5743 Flåm, Postboks 63, Norway
(See Map)
Loading Live Rates
Loading...