Alle Hotels in Downtown ansehen

The Driskill Hotel 4.0

Downtown, Austin, Texas

Geben Sie Termine für die besten Preise ein

Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Dieses Hotel wurde seit unserem Besuch einer umfangreichen Renovierung unterzogen.
Wir werden unsere Fotos und die Bewertung so schnell wie möglich aktualisieren.

Zusammenfassung des Berichts

Fotos und Bewertung von den

Pro

Kontra

  • Kleine Standard- Zimmer , viele mit langweiligen Blick
  • Kein Schwimmbad
  • Teuer Parken über Nacht
  • Langsame Aufzüge

Fazit

Das 189-Zimmer-Driskill Hotel setzt einen neuen Standard für historische Hotels. Das Hotel wurde 1886 erbaut und wunderschön restauriert, und die glänzenden Marmorböden , hohen Säulen und Glas Decken evozieren eine vergangene Ära. Geschmackvolle, elegante Zimmer folgen mit Designer- Möbeln , hohen Decken mit Zierleisten , Brokat Teppichboden und hübsche Badezimmer mit schwarzen Marmorböden und Zähler (aber Dusche / Badewanne-Kombinationen ). Sie sind ein bisschen klein, wenn auch - aber das ist in einem historischen Innenstadt-Hotel erwarten. Es gibt keinen Pool oder andere Annehmlichkeiten vor Ort neben einem schönen Fitness-Center und kleine Massageraum , aber die Lage im Herzen von Austin berühmten Sixth Street Unterhaltungsviertel ist eine Primzahl.

Oyster-Auszeichnungen

Flüge für diese Reise Mit Skyscanner.com

Oyster-Hotelfotos

Oyster-Hotelbewertung

Scene

In einem schönen, gut erhaltenen historischen Gebäude voller Charme und Raffinesse untergebracht

Gibt es keinen Zweifel The Driskill, wenn Sie zuerst von der Straße aus sehen. Diese Austin Wahrzeichen hebt sich von seinen moderner Umgebung mit ihren stattlichen Spät Architektur des 19. Jahrhunderts, das wundervoll in der Nacht beleuchtet wird. Der Innenraum nur weiter beeindruckt - die schwach beleuchteten Lobby ist ein Schritt zurück in der Zeit mit hoch aufragenden Säulen, Marmorböden und Buntglas Decke . Bequemen Polster Ohrensesseln und Palmenpflanzen fügen Wärme in die Atmosphäre.

Die schöne Mezzanine Ebene beherbergt mehrere Lounge-Bereiche in der gleichen Art, die neben dem Hotel zahlreichen Tagungsräumen . Ein geräumiges grand Balkon mit Blick auf Sixth Street, dem Zentrum der Austin Live-Musik-Szene und erinnert Gäste, die sie in der heutigen Austin sind. Eine andere moderne Erinnerung kann in der gefunden werden Fitness-Center , die diskret in einer Ecke des Zwischengeschoss versteckt ist, mit viel up-to-date Ausrüstung, sowie Stadtblick.

Eine Treppe führt von der Lobby bis The Driskill Bar , wo gibt es jede Menge stimmungsvolle Beleuchtung und Texan-inspirierte Dekor - wie Rindsleder Polsterung und einer Wand Bock Kopf - sowie lebhafte Barkeeper, die auf der malerischen, alten hinzufügen -saloon Gefühl.

Ort

In Austin, Sixth Street Bezirk mit Live-Musik, Kultur und Geschichte vor der Haustür

The Driskill Hotel befindet sich im Herzen des Geschehens in der Innenstadt von Austin auf einer der berühmtesten Straßen der Stadt. Lively Sixth Street bildet den Kern von Austin Live-Musik-Szene und zieht Vergleiche zu New Orleans Bourbon Street oft. Zahlreiche hallo Haus Bürogebäude teilen sich die Straßen mit Bars, Museen und Geschäfte in diesem lebendigen Teil der Stadt. Von hier aus ist es nur ein paar Blocks von der Austin Warehouse District und dem State Capitol.

  • 20-minütige Fahrt nach Austin Bergstrom International Airport
  • 1 Minuten zu Fuß zur Sixth Street Unterhaltungsviertel
  • 5 Gehminuten zu Austin Museum of Art
  • 9-minütigen Spaziergang zum Congress Avenue Bridge, die Heimat der größten städtischen Fledermauspopulation in Nordamerika
  • 11-Minuten zu Fuß zur Texas State Capitol
  • 11-minütigen Spaziergang zum 2nd Street Unterhaltungsviertel
  • 11 Minuten zu Fuß zu Austin City Limits bei The Moody Theater
  • 5 Autominuten bis Frank Erwin Center
  • 6-minütige Fahrt zum Blanton Museum of Art
  • 7 Fahrminuten von Mike A. Myers Stadium
  • 7-minütige Fahrt zum LBJ Presidential Library

Zimmer

Komfortabel und schön eingerichtet, wenn auch etwas klein

Die schönen Zimmer verfügen über hohe Decken mit einem Deckenventilator , ein willkommenes Feature während der heißen Sommer Austin. Die Zimmereinrichtung ist klassisch und modern zugleich, mit Einrichtung und Dekoration, die sich gut mit der Geschichte des Gebäudes passen, ohne das Gefühl datierte oder eintönig. Standard Zimmer sind winzig, ab 250 Quadratmetern, aufgrund Ursprünge des Gebäudes aus dem späten 19. Jahrhundert. Eine weitere Option, Curio Zimmer, einst als Personalunterkunft dienen, sind sogar noch kleiner, und beginnen bei 220 Quadratmetern. Sie sind preisgünstiger und verfügen architektonische Nuancen aus den späten 1800er Jahren.

Die Badezimmer sind entsprechend klein in den meisten Zimmerkategorien, aber schön dekorativen Elementen gehören brasilianischen schwarzem Marmor -Arbeitsplatten und Dusche Fliesen , kunstvollen Wäsche Becken und eleganten Armaturen. Einige der Standard Zimmer liegen uninteressant Blick Nebengebäude. Ein runder Tisch mit gepolsterten Seitenstuhl befindet sich in einer Ecke des Raumes, und verfügt über genügend Steckdosen für einstecken elektrischen Geräten. Die Betten sind sehr komfortabel und luxuriös mit bequemen Matratzen und Kissen .

  • Flachbild-TV
  • Kostenloses W-LAN
  • Gut sortierte Minibar
  • iPod-Dockingstation
  • Keine Kaffeemaschine im Zimmer
  • Wasser in Flaschen gegen Aufpreis
  • Stadtansicht Zimmer haben eine bessere Aussicht auf die Stadt und sind in einem etwas moderner Bau aus dem Jahr 1920 untergebracht
  • Victorian Suites in Originalgebäude sind exquisit eingerichtet und reichen von 340 bis 440 Quadratmetern

Angebote

Es gibt jede Menge Veranstaltungsfläche im Zwischengeschoss und ein gut ausgestattetes Fitness-Center, aber kein Schwimmbad

Das Gehäuse des Hotel in einem alten historischen Gebäude ist nicht ohne Nachteile, und das Fehlen von einem Swimmingpool ist sicher einer von ihnen.

Speisen

Gourmet Abendessen, eine coole Straßencafé und ein Salon-like bar

  • Hoch gelobten Driskill Grill bietet feines Essen; zum Abendessen geöffnet
  • Driskill Bar verfügt über eine hoch entwickelte Salon-Atmosphäre; serviert leichte Kost
  • 1886 Cafe & Bakery Für Frühstück, Mittagessen und Abendessen; Innen- oder Außenterrasse Sitz
  • Zimmerservice bis spät

Kunden, die sich The Driskill Hotel angesehen haben, interessierten sich auch für

Dinge, die Sie über das The Driskill Hotel wissen sollten

Adresse

604 Brazos St, Austin, Texas 78701-3212, United States

Telefon

(512) 474-5911

Zimmertypen

  • Bridal Suite
  • Cityscape King or Queen Room
  • Cityscape Two Queens Room
  • Curio
  • Executive Suite
  • Historic Balcony King Suite
  • Presidential Suite
  • Senate
  • Signature
  • Victorian Junior Suite
  • Vintage King or Queen Room
  • Vintage Two Queens Room

The Driskill Hotel Rating: 4.0 Pearls
Downtown, Austin, Texas

Oyster Review Summary

Photos and Review by Oyster.com Investigators

Pros

Cons

  • Small standard rooms, many with uninspiring views
  • No swimming pool
  • Pricey overnight parking
  • Slow elevators

Bottom Line

The 189-room Driskill Hotel sets a new standard for historic hotels. The hotel was built in 1886 and beautifully restored, and the gleaming marble floors, towering columns, and stained-glass ceilings evoke a bygone era. Tasteful, elegant rooms follow suit with designer furnishings, towering ceilings with crown moldings, brocade carpeting, and pretty bathrooms with black marble floors and counters (but shower/tub combos). They're a bit small, though -- but that's to be expected in a historic downtown hotel. There's no pool or other on-site amenities besides a nice fitness center and small massage room, but the location in the heart of Austin's famous Sixth Street entertainment district is prime.

Oyster Awards

We investigate in person.
Like your mother-in-law.

Categories

, ,

Oyster Hotel Photos

Oyster Hotel Review

 Scene

Housed in a beautiful, well-preserved historical building full of charm and sophistication

There's no mistaking The Driskill when you first see it from the street. This Austin landmark stands out from its more modern surroundings with its stately late 19th-century architecture, which is wonderfully lit up at night. The interior only further impresses -- the dimly lit lobby is a step back in time with towering columns, marble floors, and stained-glass ceiling. Comfortable upholstered wingback chairs and palm-tree plants add warmth to the atmosphere.

The beautiful mezzanine level houses more lounge areas in the same style, in addition to the hotel's numerous meeting spaces. A spacious grand balcony overlooks Sixth Street, the hub of Austin's live music scene, reminding guests that they're in modern-day Austin. Another modern-day reminder can be found in the fitness center, which is discreetly tucked away in a corner of the mezzanine level, featuring plenty of up-to-date equipment, as well as city views.

A set of stairs leads from the lobby to The Driskill Bar, where there's plenty of moody lighting and Texan-inspired decor -- like cowhide upholstery and a wall-mounted longhorn head -- as well as lively bartenders that add to the quaint, old-saloon feel.

 Location

In Austin's Sixth Street district with live music, culture, and history at its doorstep

The Driskill Hotel is located in the heart of the action in downtown Austin on one of the city's most famous streets. Lively Sixth Street lies at the core of Austin's live music scene, and often draws comparisons to New Orleans’ Bourbon Street. Numerous hi-rise office buildings share the streets with bars, museums, and shops in this lively part of town. From here, it's just a couple of blocks to the Austin Warehouse District and the State Capitol.

  • 20-minute drive to Austin Bergstrom International Airport
  • 1-minute walk to Sixth Street entertainment district
  • 5-minute walk to Austin Museum of Art
  • 9-minute walk to Congress Avenue Bridge, home to the largest urban bat population in North America
  • 11-minute walk to the Texas State Capitol
  • 11-minute walk to 2nd Street entertainment district
  • 11-minute walk to Austin City Limits at The Moody Theater
  • 5-minute drive to Frank Erwin Center
  • 6-minute drive to Blanton Museum of Art
  • 7-minute drive to Mike A. Myers Stadium
  • 7-minute drive to LBJ Presidential Library

 Rooms

Comfortable and beautifully decorated, though on the small side

The beautiful rooms feature high ceilings with a ceiling fan, a welcome feature during hot Austin summers. The room decor is classic and contemporary at the same time, featuring furnishings and finishes that fit nicely with the building's history without feeling dated or drab. Standard rooms are tiny, starting at 250 square feet, owing to the building’s late-19th-century origins. Another option, Curio Rooms, once serving as staff quarters, are even smaller, and start at 220 square feet. They are priced lower and feature architectural nuances from the late 1800s.

The bathrooms are correspondingly small across most room categories, though nice decorative touches include Brazilian black marble countertops and shower tiles, ornate wash basins, and elegant fixtures. Some of the standard rooms face uninteresting views of neighboring buildings. A round desk with upholstered side chair occupies a corner of the room, and features plenty of outlets for plugging in electrical equipment. The beds are extremely comfortable and luxurious with pillowtop mattresses and throw pillows.

  • Flat-screen TVs
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Well-stocked mini bar
  • iPod dock
  • No in-room coffeemaker
  • Bottled water at additional cost
  • Cityscape rooms have better city views and are housed in a slightly more modern construction dating to 1920
  • Victorian Suites in original building are exquisitely decorated and range from 340-440 square feet

 Features

There's plenty of meeting space on the mezzanine floor and a well-equipped fitness center, but no swimming pool

The housing of the hotel in an old historical building isn't without some drawbacks, and the lack of a swimming pool is certainly one of them.

 Food

Fine dining, a cool street-side cafe, and a saloon-like bar

  • Highly acclaimed Driskill Grill features fine dining; open for dinner
  • Driskill Bar features a sophisticated saloon-like atmosphere; serves light fare
  • 1886 Cafe & Bakery open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner; indoor or outside patio seating
  • Room service until late

 Bottom Line

The 189-room Driskill Hotel sets a new standard for historic hotels. The hotel was built in 1886 and beautifully restored, and the gleaming marble floors, towering columns, and stained-glass ceilings evoke a bygone era. Tasteful, elegant rooms follow suit with designer furnishings, towering ceilings with crown moldings, brocade carpeting, and pretty bathrooms with black marble floors and counters (but shower/tub combos). They're a bit small, though -- but that's to be expected in a historic downtown hotel. There's no pool or other on-site amenities besides a nice fitness center and small massage room, but the location in the heart of Austin's famous Sixth Street entertainment district is prime.

Things You Should Know About The Driskill Hotel

Address

  • 604 Brazos St. Austin, TX 78701

Room Types

  • Bridal Suite
  • Cityscape King or Queen Room
  • Cityscape Two Queens Room
  • Curio
  • Executive Suite
  • Historic Balcony King Suite
  • Presidential Suite
  • Senate
  • Signature
  • Victorian Junior Suite
  • Vintage King or Queen Room
  • Vintage Two Queens Room

Find the Lowest Price - Enter Dates

Check-in
Check-out
Guests
Compare rates on dozens of sites
 AVG/NIGHT 
Hotels.com  
Expedia.com  
Tingo.com  
Booking.com  
Travelocity  
Otel.com  
Priceline.com  
CheapTickets.com  

All About Oyster

You Can't Return a Bad Vacation.

Our special investigators visit, photograph, review and rate each hotel. We uncover the truth, before it's "uh-oh" time.

Go undercover with an Oyster Investigator The Today Show
Go Undercover with an Oyster Investigator
See 70 Videos of Oyster on TV

Nearby Hotels to Consider

InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
W Austin
  • W Austin
  • Downtown, Austin
  • Rating: 40 Pearls
  • Distance: 0.4 mi
Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Hotel Features

Number of Rooms: 189
Fitness Center: Yes
Internet Access: Yes
Cribs: Yes
Jacuzzi (in room): Some
View All

Hotel Information

Location: Downtown, Austin
Address: 604 Brazos St. Austin, TX 78701
(See Map)
Loading Live Rates
Loading...