Voir tous les hôtels à La Fortuna / Arenal

Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5

La Fortuna / Arenal, Costa Rica

Entrez vos dates et obtenez les meilleurs tarifs

Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com

Sommaire de l'évaluation

Photos et avis par

Pour

  • Les motifs des 18 sources thermales sont vastes, plein d'innombrables piscines chaudes cachées et des chutes d'eau
  • Les traitements de spa se déroulent dans des bungalows ouverts à la forêt tropicale
  • Les chambres modernes donnent sur la forêt tropicale, et il n'est pas rare de voir la coati ou autre faune exotique
  • Toutes les chambres disposent d'une connexion Wi-Fi gratuite, d'une télévision par câble à écran plat et de la climatisation
  • Les suites ont des douches séparées et des baignoires à remous , et certaines possèdent des ordinateurs portables
  • Navette gratuite entre l'hôtel et les sources thermales
  • Service de voiturier gratuit
  • Le centre Internet comprend trois iMacs à grand écran

Inconvénients

  • Pas beaucoup de saveur locale en plus de la flore et la faune - vous pourriez être dans un complexe de sources chaudes n'importe où, vraiment
  • Petit-déjeuner non compris
  • Les sources thermales sont situées dans une rue principale tordue de l'hôtel; pas tout à fait sûr de marcher
  • Les invités devraient porter des bracelets en plastique pendant leur séjour
  • Toutes les chambres n'ont pas de vue sur le volcan
  • Les sources thermales peuvent être encombrées par des voyageurs de jour
  • Les aliments et les boissons coûtent cher pour la région

Ce qu'il faut retenir

Tabacon est la station de villégiature originale et la plus connue dans la région du volcan Arenal et est réputée pour ses 18 sources thermales naturelles dans la propriété spa Tabacon située dans la rue, la plus vaste de la région. Cette station thermale écologique de 102 chambres et une institution locale est un Eden sensible dans une zone relativement éloignée du côté ouest du volcan, à environ 20 minutes en voiture de La Fortuna et d'autres sites touristiques. Les chambres sont grandes, modernes et sophistiquées, avec de magnifiques vues sur la forêt tropicale (et parfois les volcans). Cependant, il n'y a pas beaucoup de caractère local, et les sources sont souvent remplies de day-trippers; ceux qui recherchent plus d'isolement et de luxe devraient considérer Nayara Hotel, Spa, & Gardens ou Nayara Springs , qui ont des tarifs comparables aux suites haut de gamme de Tabacon.

Prix Oyster

Vols pour ce voyage avec Skyscanner.com

Photos d'hôtels Oyster

Voir tous les 9 albums

Avis Hôtel Oyster

Lieu

Les amateurs de plein air de tous les âges viennent ici de partout dans le monde, et les jeunes mariés peuvent être vêtus autour des arbres de la jungle et des tables de buffet dans leurs peignoirs et leurs pantoufles.

Les invités de tous les âges du monde entier dans des chaussons et des peignoirs à la fois dans l'hôtel et dans les sources thermales , et l'atmosphère de cette station est certainement une détente engagée. L'endroit est une destination populaire pour les jeunes mariés et les couples, et beaucoup de gens se plongent dans les eaux chaudes, se promènent dans les chemins de la jungle (soigneusement entretenus) ou s'arrêtent dans la grange de la piscine (sans sortir de l'eau ) sont évidemment des paires d'esprit romantique attendant le bon moment pour glisser sous la cascade seule.

Tabacon est justement célèbre non seulement pour ses vastes sources d'eau chaude, mais pour son rôle dans le développement du tourisme de l'ensemble de la région de l'Arenal. Un architecte et développeur d'hôtel costaricien a d'abord ouvert Tabacon en tant que destination spa de jour avec cinq piscines thermales en 1993, et la propriété a considérablement augmenté depuis lors pour devenir ce qu'il est aujourd'hui - un hôtel de 102 chambres et les principales sources thermales du pays destination, avec 18 piscines naturelles. Parce que les projets ont été développés avec le temps, ils ne forment pas une propriété cohérente; plutôt, les invités de l'hôtel devront prendre la navette (gratuite) pour les sources thermales sur la route, et on s'attend à ce qu'elles portent des bracelets avec leurs numéros de pièce et un code de couleur pendant leur séjour. Certains pensent à la nature clairement touristique de l'expérience et que les sources thermales sont ouvertes au public, pas seulement les clients de l'hôtel; d'autres trouveront un petit sacrifice étant donné qu'un séjour à l'hôtel comprend l'accès aux sources thermales les plus étendues (les sorties complètes, y compris deux repas, sont par ailleurs de 105 $ à 115 - selon la saison - par jour, par adulte, à compter de 2017).

Nous nous sommes sentis obligés de mentionner que seulement quelques jours après notre visite à la fin de 2014, les eaux pluviales et le spa de Tabacon ont été volés par six hommes brandissant des armes à feu qui ont emporté les gardes et ont volé de l'argent et plusieurs articles électroniques du spa et des employés. avant de fuir. Le vol a eu lieu à 3 heures du matin, sans présence d'invités, et au moins deux des auteurs ont été capturés plus tard. Bien que les médias locaux l'ont baptisé le dernier incident d'une vague de crime dans le canton, les propriétaires locaux disent qu'une augmentation des vols et des crimes similaires augmentent chaque saison touristique comme dans d'autres destinations populaires, mais que la zone reste généralement sûre.

Endroit

Situé sur le côté ouest du volcan, l'hôtel est une destination à lui-même, et ceux qui y vont probablement ne se soucient pas du fait qu'ils ne pourront pas sortir rapidement en ville.

L'hôtel se trouve à la périphérie de l'Arenal à l'ouest du volcan et à 20 minutes en voiture de La Fortuna ou de la plupart des autres sites évidents, principalement sur une route venteuse de La Fortuna au barrage d'Arenal. Ce n'est probablement pas un problème pour la plupart des invités, mais la grande majorité vient ici pour se faire dorloter aux sources thermales de toute façon. Le parc national Arenal, cependant, n'est pas loin du sud. L'hôtel et le spa se trouvent dans la forêt tropicale, et il n'est pas rare de voir des coati ou d'autres animaux sauvages à proximité, même si c'est toujours à distance sécurisée. (Le personnel nous a assuré qu'il y a une "équipe verte" formée pour gérer les incursions animales dangereuses dans le spa.)

Chambres

Chambres contemporaines avec de belles vues sur la forêt tropicale

Les chambres sont impeccablement entretenues et spacieuses, avec des baies vitrées donnant sur la forêt tropicale, ce qui leur permet de sentir qu'ils sont pleins de lumière même le jour de pluie. Le décor est contemporain et comprend des meubles en bois faits à la main à mes artisans locaux. Le style entre les catégories varie, mais la plupart des chambres ont des sols en tuiles, des couettes blanches de qualité et beaucoup d'accents en bois; Le look général est poli et haut de gamme. Malgré les affichages subtils de l'artisanat costaricain, les chambres sont un générique tactile. La plupart des clients sont impressionnés par leur espace (en particulier ceux qui réservent des suites), bien que certaines unités soient plus anciennes que d'autres alors que la station a été agrandie pendant de nombreuses années, et quelques invités se sont plaints de moitiés et d'unités AC inadéquates. Il est également intéressant de noter que, bien que les vues de la forêt tropicale soient charmantes, et que de nombreux invités aperçurent la vie sauvage sur leurs fenêtres, toutes les chambres n'ont pas de vue sur le volcan. Pourtant, c'est l'une des quelques stations de luxe de la région, et les équipements dans toutes les chambres incluent la télévision par câble avec des DVD, des coffres-forts, des minibar et des cafetières . Les salles de bains élégantes ont de grandes douches de douche avec des pommes de douche à effet pluie et de nombreuses suites disposent également de grandes baignoires à jets en deux personnes. La connexion Wi-Fi est gratuite et certaines suites disposent d'ordinateurs portables dans la chambre.

Attractions

Les sources thermales, les sources thermales, les sources thermales - Tabacon est tout au sujet de la station thermale de son fonctionnement, et avec une bonne raison.

Tabacon a été la première destination des sources thermales dans la région, et est peut-être la seule avec des sources thermales complètement naturelles . De nombreuses autres stations thermales dans la région dépendent des pompes et de la chaleur ou réchauffent l'eau par des moyens mécaniques, mais les 18 sources ici s'écoulent dans les bassins par gravité, et les températures varient naturellement de 25 à 50 degrés Celsius (77 à 122 degrés Fahrenheit. Les piscines plus élevées sont plus chaudes parce qu'elles sont plus proches de la source, d'ailleurs. Bien sûr, vous devez porter un bracelet idiot qui vous fait sentir comme si vous allez à nouveau dans votre premier concert, mais pour les gens qui se chouchèrent, c'est un petit prix pour les innombrables chutes d' eau , les piscines chaudes et les chemins de forêt labyrinthine (et parfaitement entretenus) qui vous conduisent à des chutes d'eau encore plus cachées et des piscines chaudes dans les quatre hectares de jardins tropicaux Edenic. Il faudra prendre la navette gratuite de l'hôtel en descendant vers les sources (la marche le long de la route est possible mais pas complètement sécurisée en raison de la circulation).

Comme il s'agit d'une station balnéaire, il y a bien sûr un spa formidable avec un bain à remous et des zones de détente. Les traitements ont lieu dans les bungalows en plein air par les sources thermales.

La nourriture à la station offre des commentaires mitigés, certains clients ne trouvant pas mieux que la moyenne. Les prix pour tout, de la nourriture aux excursions, sont raides. D'autres stations offrent plus de valeur dans ces domaines, et la plupart dans la région - contrairement à Tabacon - offrent un petit-déjeuner gratuit.

Les clients qui ont regardé Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort ont aussi regardé

Ce que vous devez savoir à propos de cet Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Adresse

13 Km Northwest, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Province of Alajuela, Costa Rica

Ne manquez pas nos secrets de voyage. Aimez-nous sur Facebook !

Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Rating: 4.5 Pearls
La Fortuna/Arenal, Costa Rica

Oyster Review Summary

Photos and Review by Oyster.com Investigators

Pros

  • Grounds of the 18 hot springs are expansive, full of countless hidden hot pools and waterfalls
  • Spa treatments take place in bungalows open to the rainforest
  • Modern rooms look onto rainforest, and it's not uncommon to see coati or other exotic fauna
  • All rooms come with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen cable TVs, and air-conditioning 
  • Suites have separate showers and whirlpool tubs, and some have loaner laptops
  • Free shuttle between the hotel and the hot springs
  • Free valet parking
  • Internet center consists of three big-screen iMacs

Cons

  • Not much local flavor besides the flora and fauna -- you could be at a hot-springs resort anywhere, really
  • Breakfast not included
  • Hot springs located down a twisty main road from the hotel; not entirely safe to walk
  • Guests expected to wear plastic wristbands during their stay
  • Not all rooms have volcano views
  • Hot springs can get crowded with day-trippers
  • Food and drink are expensive for the area

Bottom Line

Tabacon is the original and best-known resort in the Arenal Volcano area, and is deservedly famous for its 18 natural hot springs at the Tabacon spa property up the street, which are the most extensive in the region. This 102-room, eco-friendly spa resort and local institution is a sensuous Eden in a relatively remote area on the west side of the volcano, about a 20-minute drive from La Fortuna and other sights. Rooms are large, modern, and sophisticated, with beautiful rainforest (and sometimes volcano) views. There's not much local character here, though, and the springs are often crowded with day-trippers; those looking for more seclusion and luxury should consider Nayara Hotel, Spa, & Gardens or Nayara Springs, which have comparable rates to Tabacon's higher-end suites.

Categories

,

Oyster Hotel Photos

View All 8 Albums

Oyster Hotel Review

 Scene

Hot spring enthusiasts of all ages come here from all over the globe, and honeymooners can be spotted lounging around among the jungle trees and buffet tables in their bathrobes and slippers.

Guests of all ages from all over the world lounge in slippers and bathrobes in both the hotel and the hot springs, and the atmosphere at this resort is definitely one of committed relaxation. The place is a popular destination for honeymooners and couples, and many of the folks immersing themselves in the hot waters, taking a nighttime stroll through the (carefully manicured) jungle paths, or sidling up to the pool barn (without getting out of the water) are obviously romantically minded pairs waiting for the right moment to slip under the waterfall alone. 

Tabacon is deservedly famous not just for its extensive hot springs, but for its role in spearheading the tourism development of the entire Arenal region. Costa Rican architect and hotel developer first opened Tabacon as a day spa destination with five hot springs pools in 1993, and the property has grown dramatically since then to become what it is today -- a 102-room hotel and the country's leading hot springs destination, with 18 natural pools. Because the projects developed over time, they don't form one cohesive property; rather, hotel guests will need to take the (free) shuttle to the hot springs down the road, and will be expected to wear wristbands with their room numbers and a color code on them during their stay. Some may mind the clearly touristy nature of the experience and that the hot springs are open to the public, not just hotel guests; others will find it a small sacrifice given that a stay at the hotel includes access to the most extensive hot springs around (day passes are otherwise $60 per day, per person as of 2015). 

We feel obligated to mention that only a couple days after our visit, the Tabacon hot springs and spa area was robbed by six men wielding guns who pistol-whipped the guards and stole cash and several of the spa's and employees' electronic items before fleeing. The robbery took place at 3 a.m., with no guests present, and at least two of the perpetrators were later caught. Though local media dubbed it the latest incident of a crime wave in the canton, local proprietors say an increase in robberies and similar crimes rise each tourist season as they do in other popular destinations, but that the area remains generally safe.

 Location

Located on the west side of the volcano, the hotel is a destination unto itself, and those who go here probably don't mind that they're not going to be able to quickly pop into town.

The hotel lies on its own part of the Arenal area west of the volcano, and requires a 20-minute or so drive from La Fortuna or most other obvious locations, mostly on a windy road from La Fortuna to the Arenal Dam. That's probably not much an issue for most guests, however, as the vast majority come here to pamper themselves at the hot springs anyway. Arenal National Park, however, is not far to the south. Both hotel and spa lie in the rainforest, and it's not unusual to see coati or other wildlife nearby, though it's always from a safe distance. (Staff assured us there's a trained "Green Team" to handle dangerous animal incursions into the spa.) 

 Rooms

Contemporary rooms with beautiful rainforest views 

The rooms are immaculately maintained and spacious, with floor-to-ceiling windows facing the rainforest that allows them to feel like they're full of light even on a rainy day. Decor is contemporary and includes wood furniture handmade my local artisans. The style between categories varies, but most rooms have tile floors, quality white duvets, and plenty of wood accents; the overall look is polished and upscale. Despite the subtle displays of Costa Rican handicrafts, the rooms are a touch generic. Most guests are impressed by their spaciousness (especially those who book suites), though some units are older than others as the resort was expanded over many years, and a few guests have complained of mustiness and inadequate AC units. It's also worth noting that while the views of the rainforest are lovely, and many guests spot wildlife right out their windows, not all rooms have volcano views. Still, this is one of only a few luxury resorts in the area, and amenities in all rooms include cable TVs with DVDs, safes, minibars, and coffeemakers. Sleek bathrooms have big walk-in showers with rainfall showerheads, and many suites also have big two-person jetted tubs. Wi-Fi is free, and some suites have in-room laptops. 

 Features

Hot springs, hot springs, hot springs -- Tabacon is all about the thermal resort side of its operation, and with good reason. 

Tabacon was the first hot springs destination in the area, and is perhaps the only one with completely natural hot springs. Many other hot springs resorts in the area depend on pumps and heat or re-heat the water through mechanical means, but the 18 springs here flow into the pools by gravity, and temperatures naturally range from 25 to 50 degrees Celsius (77 to 122 degrees Farenheit. The higher pools are hotter because they're closer to the source, by the way. Sure, you have to wear a silly wristband that makes you feel like you're about to go to your first concert all over again, but for people who pamper themselves, it's a small price for the countless waterfalls, hot pools, and labyrinthine (and perfectly manicured) rainforest paths that lead you to yet more hidden waterfalls and hot pools in the four acres of Edenic tropical gardens. Just note that you'll need to take the free hotel shuttle down the road to the springs (walking along the road is possible but not completely safe because of traffic).

Since this is a spa resort, there is of course also a terrific spa with coed hot tub and relaxation areas. Treatments take place in open-air bungalows by the hot springs. 

Food at the resort gets mixed reviews, with some guests finding it no better than average. Prices for everything, from the food to the excursions, are steep. Other resorts offer more value in these areas, and most in the region -- unlike Tabacon -- offer free breakfast. 

 Bottom Line

Tabacon is the original and best-known resort in the Arenal Volcano area, and is deservedly famous for its 18 natural hot springs at the Tabacon spa property up the street, which are the most extensive in the region. This 102-room, eco-friendly spa resort and local institution is a sensuous Eden in a relatively remote area on the west side of the volcano, about a 20-minute drive from La Fortuna and other sights. Rooms are large, modern, and sophisticated, with beautiful rainforest (and sometimes volcano) views. There's not much local character here, though, and the springs are often crowded with day-trippers; those looking for more seclusion and luxury should consider Nayara Hotel, Spa, & Gardens or Nayara Springs, which have comparable rates to Tabacon's higher-end suites.

Things You Should Know About Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address

  • Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica

Enter dates for best prices

Check-in
Check-out
Guests
 AVG/NIGHT 
Hotels.com  
Expedia.com  
Tingo.com  
Booking.com  
Travelocity  
Otel.com  
Priceline.com  
CheapTickets.com  

All About Oyster

You Can't Return a Bad Vacation.

Our special investigators visit, photograph, review and rate each hotel. We uncover the truth, before it's "uh-oh" time.

Go undercover with an Oyster Investigator The Today Show
Go Undercover with an Oyster Investigator
See 56 Videos of Oyster on TV

Nearby Hotels to Consider

Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
La Fortuna/Arenal, Costa Rica
Rating: 35 Pearls

Distance: 1.8 mi
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
La Fortuna/Arenal, Costa Rica
Rating: 30 Pearls

Distance: 1.8 mi
Arenal Kioro Suites and Spa
Arenal Kioro Suites and Spa
La Fortuna/Arenal, Costa Rica
Rating: 40 Pearls

Distance: 2.0 mi
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
La Fortuna/Arenal, Costa Rica
Rating: 35 Pearls

Distance: 3.4 mi

Hotel Features

Number of Rooms: 102
Pool: Yes
Fitness Center: Yes
Spa: Yes
Internet: Yes
Jacuzzi: Yes
View All

Hotel Information

Location: La Fortuna/Arenal, Costa Rica
Address: Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
(See Map)
Loading Live Rates
Loading...